We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream long week-end at castello proceno, toscana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello di Proceno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent a long week-end at the Castello Proceno which was like a dream. The location is exceptional and the rooms very cosy with the complete equipement for a relaxing break. The landlord and lady are just as exceptional as the Castel itself: beside been excellent hosts, they are also wonderful persons to talk, chat or laugh together. They know the region very well, what is very useful if you wish to make day trip in the Toscana.

Room Tip: all the rooms are unique (we saw 5 of them) but all very well equiped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank von Overbeck J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 109 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have just returned from our month away from home and already answer when asked about our hi - lites, that Castello di Procena would be the outstanding one. It ticked all the boxes of our wants while travelling. I think the special one was, we were probably 2 of only 10 visitors in the town, population of 300. It was so lovely living like the locals, buying daily from the little butchery, bakery and alimentari all containing everything we needed. Coming "home" each day from a busy day on local Italian roads, having a swim, glass or two of the local wine, dinner on our large covered patio, a stroll through the little streets after dark to the top of the town to have a gelato or another glass of wine in the piazza or park with the locals, really was heaven.
Our spacious apartment, La Loggia with mezzanine bedroom, was ideal. My favourite thing was to sit in the window 3 levels above the street and watch village life.
We had 2 very memorable nights eating at the restaurant, not to be missed. Our hostess Pucci was very attentive in every respect.
Also a must, is to do a tour of the castle which is not open to the public, a very special place. Pucci is so passionate about her family property and heritage and happy to share this with guests, even showing us through their own private living spaces full of pieces normally only seen in museums. Such treasures.
We loved all the little hilltop villages within driving distance,and our favourites were Civita di Bagnoregia (no cars here, entrance by foot on a viaduct), Pienza, Sorano, Pitigliano, Sovana. We never tired of strolling through the little lanes and streets of these, all a bit different and so special. Coming from a young country it is hard to comprehend the age.
In all, this is an amazing and unique place away from the busier tourist trails (thank heavens the average tourists go to the more known tourist spots). Long may it stay like this without souvenir shops every few doors.
Thankyou Pucci and Giovanni for providing us with the ability to have so many wonderful memories of Castello di Procena.
Robyn and Ian Cumberpatch, Christchurch, New Zealand. 18 - 25 August 2012.

Room Tip: In this location I don't think there would be a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The welcome, the kindness and help was outstanding. The apartment was comfortable, with beautiful additions in the way of antiques. The restaurant - well, we ate there nearly every night, it did not seem worth going elsewhere. Thank you Pucci for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proceno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Castello is a fantastic place to get away from it all. It has a peace and tranquility that is so difficult to find. The host, Cecilia, does everything possible to make one's stay memorable. She can advise on travel, history, cultural sights etc. Attached to the Castello is a restaurant where Cecilia serves up beautiful local produce, taking time to explain every item on the menu. The area has lots to explore, with Orvieto a short drive away for those who wish to take a train to Rome or Florence for a day. Otherwise, the area around Proceno is beautiful with an abundance of wildlife and a slow pace of life. When you come to Proceno, switch off your Blackberry, Mobile Phone and pager and just relax - you'll be in good hands.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at the Castello for a week in February. We had an apartment with a loft bedroom, kitchen (stove, sink, small fridge), a huge fireplace, and a giant patio, though it was too cold most days to be outside. It's impossible to describe what it's like to stay in a place that was built nine or ten centuries ago.

If you need them, the owners and staff are always there for you, their family has lived there for over 300 years, so if you need a recommendation for anything in the area, they know it off the top of their head.

Proceno is a tiny community and perfect to get away from it all. It's very quiet, there's a wonderful bakery two doors down, a butcher shop a few doors up the street, and a small grocery type store across the street. There is a wonderful and very reasonably priced Michelin rated restaurant on site too. It's very quiet in town, occasionally the sound of footsteps as somebody walks through one of the streets in town, but other than that, it's mostly silent.

We've stayed at thousands of hotels, inns, b&b's, home rentals, etc over the years, and I'm betting for a very long time if somebody asks us the best place we have ever stayed, this will be the first thing that comes to mind.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_in_Conn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

If you want to experience REAL Italy and something truly unique ... visit Proceno It is located approximately 25 minutes from Orvieto, 40 minutes to the heart of Tuscany and a short drive to a number of amazing small towns. The locals are exceedingly welcoming and hospitable. I would highly recommend Castello di Proceno ... and having dinner at their restaurant which is listed in the Michelin 2009 Restaurant Guide. The food is wonderful. I would also recommend taking the very reasonably priced cooking class by owner Cecilia. For us, it was an experience we will never forget. Should you go to Castello di Proceno say hi to Roberto for us ... the local grocer who is virtually 30 seconds from the castle. We already miss his smile and Italian lessons.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bloggevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Staying in a real medieval castle was the coolest thing we could have done with our 2 children (7 and 5 years old). What made this stay even more special was the great atmosphere, nice hosts and beautiful surroundings of Proceno.

Tha castle dates back to 997 AD and houses several small and big apartments to rent. We stayded in one of the smaller ones (with still 2 bedrooms) backing the maim street of Proceno. This made it noisier as we visited while Proceno had its yearly festival.
To get to and from the pool we had to go through a tunnel under the castle which made it al even more real to the kids. They felt like real knights!

The kitchen of the restaurant attached to the castle is fabulous so don't forget to book in advance.

All in all we had a great time and would recomment this treasure to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Proceno
12.5 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
316 reviews
0 mi away
Poggio Porsenna
Poggio Porsenna
#5 of 6 in Proceno
2 reviews
2 mi away
Agriturismo Le Spighe
Agriturismo Le Spighe
#3 of 6 in Proceno
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Casina Centeno
Casina Centeno
#1 of 2 in Proceno
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Proceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Proceno

Address: Corso Regina Margherita 153 - 155, 01020 Proceno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Proceno
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Proceno
Price Range: $131 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello di Proceno 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castello di Proceno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing