We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent, despite the management change”
Review of Copperpot

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Copperpot
Ranked #8 of 45 Restaurants in Umina Beach
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: dine in and take away
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Still excellent, despite the management change”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about returning to this favourite award-winning Indian restaurant after the departure of Davinder & Emily, the original management team, who had run the place so well (thank you, both). We need not have worried. Nelson (?), the new manager, sought us out as regulars and was at pains to advise that the menu and kitchen remained the same, and that all the staff were keen to impress. Our group was delighted with all the food presented - as usual, beautifully cooked and very tasty. I tried one of the specials, chicken dahl, which was quite outstanding and well worthy of a permanent place on the menu. The restaurant is low-key in style and sparely furnished, but the food and welcome are well worth the effort. The quality of the Indian food is unusually fine, and would impress anywhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EHinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, average atmostphere, friendy service.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We Really enjoyed the meal and were happy they cooked early b/c we have young kids. Friendly stafF but lacks the Indian restaurant feel though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinkeAndSelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Generic bland Indian takeaway”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Take away of selection veg dishes very unmemorable and all tasted similar. Wouldn't be inclined to try again.

    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eire-ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good :)”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've eaten here 3 or 4 times. Once I was not happy with the food, but I mentioned it to the servers and they fixed the dish in question without causing a fuss. I was impressed by the smoothness that they fixed things.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookieEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“service, taste and value”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

davinda. vicky (chef) and staff are friendly and helpful. the copperpot is a small restaurant that offers a le carte as well as a ten dollar lunch offer. combine this with B.Y.O.and your meal cost is more than reasonable. lately there has been an explosion of indian restaurants in this area but although the copperpot remains one of the smaller ones the food and service is still yhe best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenpatSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copperpot also viewed

Umina Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 
Umina Beach, New South Wales
Umina Beach, New South Wales
 
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 

Been to Copperpot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing