We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with reduced security over Christmas & Jan 2013-14”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Umina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed with reduced security over Christmas & Jan 2013-14”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our family of 6 (2 adults, 4 young children) spent our third Christmas and New Year camping at Ocean Beach just over six weeks ago. Whilst we still enjoyed the location and amenities, including the new Splash Park, we were severely disappointed with the lack of security and complete lack of enforcement of the park's 'no noise after 10pm' policy.

This was in stark contrast to our previous two years experiences where 2 security men would patrol in a golf-cart from 10pm advising of the 'no noise and restriction of large social gatherings after 10pm' policy and ensuring that it was met. I was advised by a staff member this year that new management had taken over the park and had reduced security staff numbers. I was also told that the remaining security staff (appeared to be 1-2 only) had been asked not to ask people to stop making noise. Essentially, during our three weeks stay, we felt that we saw/heard security staff on 3 occasions only. Each time, they just advised us to put our bikes away at night-time.

I spoke to a member of the new management team who told me that security would increase from 27 Dec. We did not see that occur apart from on New Year's Eve - which was actually one of the quietest nights due to the increased security available!

The excess noise from certain closely-packed tent sites really spoilt our stay and we have decided not to visit the park this Christmas. If you are in a cabin or a caravan site, it would probably be much quieter. However, you can be really affected if you are a single family camping in the packed powered tent-site areas and are surrounded by large groups (e.g. multiple groups of up to 6-8 tents per group) at busy, peak periods.

I am going to put my complaint in writing to both Ocean Beach directly and to the NRMA. It is supposed to be a family friendly park but excessive noise up to 1am on multiple nights is not acceptable. Also, this last experience was in complete contrast with our previous 2 experiences at the same park where we were delighted with the experience overall. In fact, one of the park's previous big drawcards was its attention to security from 10pm so that everyone could get a good night's sleep. I feel we were paying too much money ($800/week) for the experience we've just had.

We are NRMA members and have visited many of their parks, and others, over the past 8 years.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethC732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for you taking the time to leave us this review; all feedback and comments are utilized in our continued efforts to improve all of our services.

Security is certainly an issue that we take very seriously, with an extensive network of CCTV cameras in place and uniformed guards during all peak periods, including weekends. This provides guests with added peace of mind that many parks do not offer.

While we did vary our security arrangements this year, we did allocate additional hours to the provision of this service when compared to previous years. In addition to both our managers and assistant managers being onsite and on-call at all times, we had a minimum of two guards on nightly, and on many occasions this cover went through until 5am.

If you are unable to locate a security officer in the evenings, there is an after-hours number available at reception for you to directly contact staff who can assist you.

As you have identified, peak times are quite busy with almost 100% occupancy over the Christmas/New Year period. As such, for those looking for a more sedate experience, many guests opt to visit our park in the less busy low and mid seasons, where you will find the prices also differ from peak season.

We thank you again for your feedback, and hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    229
    65
    24
    28
See reviews for
671
84
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

On the weekend my husband, I and the children came in our new caravan on our first trip away in the van at the park

What a beautiful park it is. Completely 5 star, The activities for the kids were out of the world and being right on the beach is a huge added bonus. Not only was i completely impressed with the pool, water park, parks, touring around on the buggies and our site location but the staff all had huge friendly smiles on their faces and were generally willing to spend time talking and offering assistance in anyway. They were natural and generally lovely people. Its been a very long time since i have stayed in accommodation where i could tick all the boxes.. its hard to find staff like the ones you have there.. most of the time you can tell they dont want to be working but your staff all were so happy to be there, I have stayed in the years in 5 star hotels and id rather come back in my caravan and stay here then pay all that money in a hotel.

I will 100% be looking to book this as a regular holiday and we may even come back in two weeks time. I almost cried leaving today and wish we didnt have to work so we could stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hvbd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for leaving this great review!

We are very proud to have been the first destination you and your family chose to visit in your new caravan, and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The biggest drawcard for this property would have to be its waterfront position and adventure like swimming pool. This is a huge ‘Big 4.‘ So big in fact, I lost my way getting back to our villa, more than once - as well as our children on a couple of occasions! There were lots of hidden corners, turns and thick scrub, particularly on one side of the park, which was good for privacy, but you did need to be vigilant in watching the little ones. I must say - and l’m not sure if this is due to the size of the park - but we did find the staff (particularly at reception) to be a little less personable than some of the smaller parks we have stayed at. There was one particular incident, where, after discovering my mobile phone had died, l asked one of the ladies on reception if l could borrow the phone to call my husband, (of which l offered to pay for) to which she told me, curtly, that their phones were not available for public use. It wasn’t until l made a point of telling her that my husband was waiting to meet me, and would be concerned, that she allowed me, must l say, under great duress. I wasn’t impressed. However, we did come across some nice staff too. The gentleman who took the trailer ride (a free service for kids) at the park, was very friendly and also gave a short commentary, which came in handy for getting back to our Palm Tree house which we chose for our 6 night stay. Our villa was positioned up the back of the park - which meant it was a little walk to the pool and playground - but it was quiet and private, with a nice grassy area for the kids to play on out the front. The Tree house was basically a cabin on stilts, (not high) with a canvas lining inside - giving it a safari like feel. It had a large covered balcony and built in BBQ for cooking, and inside had one open living and sleeping room combined. If you don’t mind bunking it in with the kids, this was great experience for the children, and really added a sense of adventure to the trip! The walk to the township of Umina - which has a reasonably sized shopping village (with a supermarket) - takes about 10 minutes, and can also be achieved by walking along the beach. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay at Umina Beach, this is a huge, well maintained park, with lots of things to keep the children entertained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Officer at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for this review, we are pleased to see that overall, your stay with us was a positive one.

We would like to apologise that you had an interaction with a staff member that was less than satisfactory; the inferior level of customer service you reported is certainly not the standard for which our staff members strive. We have spoken to the park manager who in-turn has raised the issue with the staff member in question as there is no question that you should have been able to access the phone to make your call. We strive to provide our guests with an exceptional experience and are disappointed that this has marred what would seem to be an otherwise thoroughly enjoyable stay.

We hope that you choose to return to Ocean Beach in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked here sometime ago, as we thought it would be good to get away and we had heard good things about this park. We were slightly nervous on arrival given some of the previous reviews, however we found our concerns unfounded. The park was absolutely packed on the weekend with almost no spare sites, and whilst it was busy it was not out of control. We had a powered site almost right on the beach, which was large enough for our 7m long tent + dining awning + car + trailer. This was a good location, however the disadvantage of a site so close to the beach is you may need more pegs and poles due to the high winds. The site had a mat large enough for our tent, however the ground was slightly sandy and so we needed longer pegs. The amenities closest to our tent had recently been refurbished and were cleaned regularly. Sure, they weren't perfect but after all the park was packed. There was also a new camp kitchen which was well fitted out with many sinks, bbq's and fridges. The old amenities were also kept clean although are showing their age. Plenty of things to keep the kids busy - a great beach within 5 mins walk, jumping pillows, a large pool with waterslide, a brand new water play park, various things to hire and lots of other activities. Everything was very busy, with kids riding bikes everywhere. No complaints about noise - it's a caravan park after all, not a 5 star hotel. Visible security presence at night who told us to lock up our bikes, but no issues and we had loads of stuff unsecured with no problems. We did notice that some of the caravan sites appeared to be fairly crammed in as you moved towards the old centre of the park where there were still a few permanent looking holiday vans.
We will probably book again for next year and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Beach side (Sunny side) is great but can be windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 38NHLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRMAHP, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
It is always great to read how much our guests enjoyed their stay with us so thank you for leaving this review!
I hope you and the family join us again next holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was the first time we have been at the NRMA Holiday Park, stayed for 5 nights January 2014, wasn't long enough so we will be back to stay longer next time!
Jumping Pillow, Water Park, Beach close, pool with slide and activities for the family/ children all day! The grandchildren loved it and so did the grandparents!
Accomodation (Plantation Cottage) was clean, comfortable had everything to make our holiday a great one! Staff was very helpful and friendly, Cafe had the best yummy food out!
I would recommend to anyone whether with children or without to come and have a great stay at this accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review; it is wonderful to see how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have been there during the peak season - Jan 2014 in a powered tent site. The camping was packed with people - but amenities, activities, service - was second to none. on top - beautiful Umina beach is at your footsteps. So if planning to visit the central coast - strongly recommend this camping.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank our_family_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRMAHP, Director of Sales at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hello and thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us at Ocean Beach Holiday Park. It is great to hear that your time with us was a positive experience. We would also like to recommend possibly trying to book in the low season so you would still be able to enjoy our great service, activities and amenities without the busyness usually experienced in the high season. Regardless we would be happy to have you back at any time you wish to visit. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We are not long home from staying 5 nights with 2 other families on a powered campsite. It is a big park and busy given it was school holidays, but the campsites comfortably accommodated our tents and communal eating area. Great access to the beach which is perfect for learning to surf or little ones (very safe). We had to call after hours number for a noisy group near us and security were straight onto them and shut it down. They follow up next day too which was very good. All staff we dealt with were friendly and professional. Amenities are basic but clean, jumping pillow and water park a hit with the kids.

Room Tip: We hired a fridge from fridgeforhire man and that worked out really well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRMAHP, Director of Sales at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umina Beach
11.9 mi away
NRMA Sydney Lakeside Holiday Park
9.5 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
#2 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park

Property: NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park
Address: Sydney Ave, Umina Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly NRMA Ocean Beach Resort and Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Umina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Umina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a stunning beachfront location on the NSW Central Coast, NRMA Ocean Beach Resort & Holiday Park offers you the perfect place to relax and enjoy an amazing family holiday. Our award winning holiday park offers modern self-contained 2 and 3 bedroom cabins, ranging from our Seabreeze Spa Villas with 3 bedrooms, to our unique Safari Palm Treehouses which provide the fun experience of camping but with added luxuries - Glamour camping or "Glamping" at its best! We also have a large range of manicured caravan, RV and camping sites with some overlooking the beach! Want to stay for longer? Then check out our long term casual sites. There are a range of fantastic activities and facilities for the whole family to enjoy including our new Splashaway Bay water park. Kids will be happily entertained by the giant jumping pillows, Go-Karts, adventure playground, games room or making new friends at the Kidz Korner activities program. While the kids are busy having fun, why not relax with a swim in the heated resort pool complex with spa and waterslide, take a stroll on the beach or simply kick back at our cafe Bluebottles by the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Resort And Holiday Park Hotel Umina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing