We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall A Pleasant Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Umina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overall A Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in a Palm Cottage which was clean and comfortable which for just two people was a little pricey. Our daughters family and friends stayed nearby Safari Palm Tents (which they loved) so we were able to enjoy a relatively secluded area. The children enjoyed the pool area and the freedom to play. The beach was fine and although surprised that dogs were there (although there is a sign nearby prohibiting dogs), they didn't spoil the experience. The cafe only serves serves fast takeaway type food which was OK for one time, so be prepared to cook for yourselves. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We will go back.

Room Tip: make sure to study the layout of the park if you want a relatively quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiepom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    231
    65
    24
    28
See reviews for
674
84
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

we stayed end of April/beginning of may. The resort was quiet and we loved that.

The accommodation (palm cottage) was spacious, clean, and quiet. The kids loved the playground and two bouncy pillows.

The pool was fantastic with a river, slide, shallow ledges and spa. The pool was clean, and only just warm enough if the day temp was warm. The kiddies pool is not heated which is disappointing. Lucky we brought swim vests so they could be in the big pool safely.

but...(and this is no fault of the resort) the beach is terrible. Lots of rubbish and glass. Also it is a dogs off leash beach (our kids are scared of dogs). The water is brown and full of flotsam. I even saw a dog poo bag (full) drift by while paddle surfing.

Overall we enjoyed our stay otherwise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinkeAndSelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have been visiting this park annually for the past seven years and were so disappointed this year, that I doubt we will return. The location is fantastic, however the park owners MUST prioritise the upgrade of the amenities blocks. They are are now so out dated and unhygienic, that I would consider them almost a health hazard. Soap and paper dispensers empty first thing in the mornings, mouldy scum so thick on some tiles I could scrape it off, bins filled to overflowing, and the barbecues/washing up areas being cleaned at 7.45am on the Anzac Day weekend right in the middle of the breakfast rush. Not sure why as NRMA members we could not access the discount on both our sites? We were told that as it was only one booking , that we could only get one site discount....that doesn't make sense. Anyway thank you for great past experiences, but we are moving on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fifilamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanBeachHP, Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Your comments about the current amenities are valid; some blocks are ageing and as you said out dated, and you will be pleased to know that an upgrade for these facilities in addition to that of the swimming pools has been factored into the capital works program for the coming financial year. As part of our rolling upgrade program, a brand new camp kitchen has recently been positioned on site and will be fully functional shortly, this will provide guests with new barbeques, hot plates and ovens, boiling water, toasters and refrigerators for their convenience.

The proposed improvements are in response to guest feedback and the ongoing surveys and research that the NRMA group complete. As an NRMA member, your status entitles you to a discount on the cabin or site that you as the member occupies, unfortunately it does not extend to accommodation that you may book on behalf of others.

Should other members of the group be NRMA members, then they too would be afforded the generous discounts and benefits available to our NRMA members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This park might be great for families but if you are a couple beware...we were there for a reunion and having booked over a year before, and asking to be placed close to other attending the reunion, we couldn't of been placed further apart from each other. There was a surf carnival being held at the end of our stay, the ammenities were dirty and smelly most of the time after the park got busy, which wasn't like that earlier in our stay. It is expensive for a powered site, being one price for weekdays and another for weekends (the price almost doubled on the weekend). Rubbish bins were far away, and there was no TV reception. I did complete 2 customer surveys about our stay, and i have still not heard anything back from them. I would not recommend this park to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanBeachHP, Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

During periods of peak capacity a strain is put on the amenities and services of the Park, however staff levels are increased during such times to ensure the Park is maintained to a level management perceives to be an acceptable standard given the increased demand. The current amenities are ageing but you will be pleased to know that as part of the capital works program for the new financial year, upgrades have been planned for these facilities.

Tariffs do increase during times of high demand, and fees are structured so as to reflect the entire experience the Park has to offer. NRMA strives for continuous improvement and endeavours to provide its guests the ultimate in holiday experiences, as such, a rolling program of upgrades and improvements is in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We've just returned from a "last minute decision" stay at Ocean Beach Resort.
We, initially, were very apprehensive after reading recent reviews but we need not have worried.
Our checkin was easy, no long lines. The staff were friendly, polite & very helpful during our entire stay. Our cabin was clean & well furnished & there was no sight of the cockroaches previously mentioned.
No sign either of the rats in the garbage bins which were previously written about, but I could see how the large brush tail possums that came down to be hand fed on our balcony each evening could, perhaps, have been mistaken for rats!!!!
The cutlery & crockery provided was managable but could have been better. The only sharp knife provided was a bread knife - this just doesn't cut it (pardon the pun) when slicing meat or vegetables. The problem was quickly resolved, however, with a request to reception.
The heated pool was well received by the little ones that accompanied us, but I could understand how this would become crowded during peak periods. The jumping pillows & playground were great.
The school holiday activities organised for kids was well run & well patronised.
My only real criticism (& this, the resort has no control over) - is of the nearby beach - it's a wonderful child-friendly beach with gentle waves but unfortunately it's a dog friendly beach. Don't get me wrong I am a dog lover but don't really enjoy seeing my grandchildren playing in sand that has been urinated on by dogs. I noted that the owners of these dogs (that weren't leashed - not the owners, the dogs) were responsible enough to be carrying plastic bags for their droppings but ........
All up, a great short break away from home with the kids, but, still, at the end of the day it is a glorified caravan park & as such I believe is over priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fernsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRMAHP, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for staying with us and providing a constructive review of our park for others to read.

It sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of the park, despite some apprehension due to some negative reviews. It just goes to show how each person can take a very different perspective on things. It's important for people to experience the park for themselves on not be swayed by others personal views. Many of the things that are stated that can be rectified are certainly done so as soon as we are notified.

Our aim is for every customer to have the very best time that they can within the means of our establishment.

Unfortunately we don't have any control over what happens on the beach and we believe our prices are competitive with other holiday parks that offer the great range of facilities and activities that we do to our guests. It's much more than a caravan park to be enjoyed by many different types of holiday makers.

Again, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and we hope that you will be back again to enjoy a short break away from home with your kids.

Kind Regards,

Annika
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you're staying in a villa with bunk beds for the kids please note there are no guard rails, not at all safe for young children or anyone not used to sleeping up very high (well over 6ft up)

Also be prepared for some daily pest control too, huge ants in the kitchen and cockroaches everywhere, BYO spray as the stuff provided does nothing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kylieakennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanBeachHP, Manager at NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback

The Sunset cabins are an older style cabin, with an older style of bunk bed, however they do have built in side rails, and while you may have thought they were excessively high, they are not over 6 foot in height. That aside, we do recommend that children under the age of 9 should not use the upper bunk and warning signs are provided in the cabins alerting guests to the same. Our bunks are regularly checked an inspected. Recent changed to the Australian Standard relating to bunk beds have seen a number of changes to the way in which bunk beds are constructed, while there is no retrospective requirement to comply with the new Australian Standard, as part of or rolling cabin upgrade program, all older style bunks are being replaced for added guest safety.

Cabins are immediately cleaned on checkout, with pre-arrival checks conducted in preparation for the next party. No sign of cockroach infestation was discovered during the pre-arrival check-in. We do have all of our cabins treated for pests as part of our ongoing maintenance program.

We thank you for your feedback, and we hope that you will visit the Ocean Beach Holiday Park again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

great holiday location for families and groups,
kids entertainment, pools and playgrounds are fantastic and with the beach so close there's always plenty to do.
there is a great range of accommodation options to suit everyone
We just love it!

Room Tip: powered tent sites are a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardsydney73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umina Beach
11.9 mi away
NRMA Sydney Lakeside Holiday Park
9.5 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
#2 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park

Property: NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park
Address: Sydney Ave, Umina Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly NRMA Ocean Beach Resort and Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Umina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Umina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a stunning beachfront location on the NSW Central Coast, NRMA Ocean Beach Resort & Holiday Park offers you the perfect place to relax and enjoy an amazing family holiday. Our award winning holiday park offers modern self-contained 2 and 3 bedroom cabins, ranging from our Seabreeze Spa Villas with 3 bedrooms, to our unique Safari Palm Treehouses which provide the fun experience of camping but with added luxuries - Glamour camping or "Glamping" at its best! We also have a large range of manicured caravan, RV and camping sites with some overlooking the beach! Want to stay for longer? Then check out our long term casual sites. There are a range of fantastic activities and facilities for the whole family to enjoy including our new Splashaway Bay water park. Kids will be happily entertained by the giant jumping pillows, Go-Karts, adventure playground, games room or making new friends at the Kidz Korner activities program. While the kids are busy having fun, why not relax with a swim in the heated resort pool complex with spa and waterslide, take a stroll on the beach or simply kick back at our cafe Bluebottles by the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Resort And Holiday Park Hotel Umina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing