We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence La Piazzetta
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The town of Fara San Martino always has a special place in our family and this was a trip back to say "hello" to our family and re experience the joy of village life.The setting of the village, with the mountains towering over it always gives it a special feeling and views.

The Residence is centrally located and convenient to all aspects of the village. It provides the best accommodation in town and at an affordable price. The rooms all have spectacular views of the mountains as does the open lounge area on the guest terrace.The operators give it a family feeling and are most obliging.

Room Tip: They are all good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 71 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have to echo what others have said about La Piazzetta. The host, Pietro Rotunno and his wife were charming. The apartment was spotless and well-equipped, and the private terrace was wonderful. The breakfast was amazing. We only spent one night in this lovely town and have vowed to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaVernagrandchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We recently visited Fara San Martino from mid July to mid September and stayed at La Piazzetta. The apartment was very clean, roomy and comfortable - it was a pleasure to stay there. We had fantastic views of the mountains and of the town. The owner/managers are one of the nicest couples we have met and they went out of their way to make us welcome. They advised us on the most interesting places to visit and dine. Whenever we wanted to travel to any other towns they made enquiries on our behalf regarding bus and train times and booked them on our behalf. We definitely plan to stay there again.

The best time to visit Fara San Martino is in August. This is the time when the town comes "alive and all the festas (festivals) are held. From the 1st August to 31st August there is always something on. There are processions, concerts, food festivals, fireworks, fashion parades, dancing in the streets, etc. nearly every night. During the day there are numerous places to explore - the old town "Terra Vecchia" built hundreds of years ago, the mountains and valleys, the rivers and waterfalls, the newly discovered Monastery which archaeologists are digging up, and the town itself which is a tourists delight.

Food and fruit are very cheap compared to other places and the quality is excellent.

There are many places to visit which are close by - beaches, the Grotte Del Cavallone is only about 15 minutes away (by car) and is an experience that should not be missed. The caves are magnificent.

We were there for 9 weeks and we were very sorry to leave. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PINA495048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed for the month of August and absolutely loved it. Optimum location , well equipped and scrupulously clean. The hosts were a delight and very helpful. Highly recommend it and we hope to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed at "la Piazzetta" in Fara San Martino for 2 days (not nearly long enough!) and fell in love with the place. Never have I stayed at a place where I can honestly say I have it all: a central location, a breathtaking view, delicious food, cleanliness and last but definitely not least, the best hospitality and service I have ever seen! Once you have stayed at the Piazzetta, you never want to go anywhere else. Definitely value for your money.

As for Fara San Martino, if you love unspoiled nature and culture, this is the oasis you are looking for. A five minute walk from the town centre brings you through a gorge in the mountain to a place of complete serenity: you find yourself in the Valle Santo Spirito, in the middle of the mountains. Right behind the bend, you can see an ancient monastery being excavated, and if you continue along the valley you can reach hights of more than 1000 metres within just a couple of hours. Along the way you can admire the rich diversity that the National park of Majella has to offer (I even saw a chamois!!). If you enjoy rock climbing, Fara is the perfect place to stay, as it offers a variety of routes, the closest ones located on the rock wall of the town itself. In terms of culture this region has much to offer as well: you can visit the old town in Fara or travel easily to some of the surrounding villages, where you can visit archeological sites and museums.

Fara is the perfect location for both shorter trips and longer ones. As the distances to sights are not long, you can experience a lot in a short time. However, to really benefit from everything this magical region has to offer, I would suggest you stay for at least two weeks!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saga82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Wonderful nature and one of the best places to relax. In the heart of the national park (abruzzo) you can enjoy the mountain and the river and escape from the routine of the city life. It is the perfect place for nature lovers and people that would like to live for a while in a traditional Italian environment.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndreaDi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence La Piazzetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Piazzetta

Address: Via Trento 8, 66015 Fara San Martino, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Chieti > Fara San Martino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fara San Martino
Price Range: $58 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property features 10 apartments with TV, free WIFI, air conditioner and equipped kitchen. Short as well as long rentals are welcome. Each apartment is composed of a kitchen/living room, one or two bedrooms and a bathroom and can host up to four guests. Three units at the first floor have their own balconies. Surrounded with a wonderful garden, the property boasts of a panoramic elevator and a terrace to enjoy the stunning view in front of the Majella mountains. It is located in Fara San Martino, a small town better known as the capital town of pasta, 40km far from the Adriatic coast and 50km far from Abruzzo International Airport, in Pescara. The location is a perfect gate to fascinating hikes through the unique settings of the Majella National Park. A stay at Residence La Piazzetta is a great opportunity to enjoy the natural, historical and culinary heritage of the Abruzzo countryside in a relaxing and friendly way. A B&B option is available upon request. Daily and weekly rentals are available. Looking forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence La Piazzetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing