We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 22

Motel 22
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 22
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Awesome friendly staff, a bit out of date but you have to expect that from a motel this age.
Have a very friendly chocolate Lab (Lilly) who was great around my 3 children all under 6.

Drapes pulled close and heater turned on when we got back to our unit late at night.

Close to the train and shopping center. Owner offered to drop us off and pick us up from the train.

Will be back next time we are down that way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-benz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    7
    1
    8
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very disappointing to find our motel room did not look like the pictures on this site.Old mismatched bedlinen, saggy beds, and pillows. Thank goodness the linen was clean. Dust, cobwebs, and dirt behind the beds (pulled out bed in loungeroom area to plug in heater) made us wonder when this room had last been cleaned. The kitchen knife drawer was filthy! Had to ask for coat hangers - one in each wardrobe. The couch / sofa bed provided should be dumped, as it is so old & uncomfortable.
Bath over shower. OK for us but may not suit others. Mouldy bathroom ceiling, unacceptable.
Our room was left unlocked after "cleaners" replaced the towels, although Management did apologise for this.
Internet access was OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lower Hutt hotels

Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We chose this motel as it states its near the ferry and convenient- it's at least 20 mins away - more if you hit traffic. Rooms and beds were uncomfortable , could hear guy coughing next door ! Asked for Internet access and was given a code but not able to access at all. Very out of the way in the industrial part - nowhere decent to eat either.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Found online & Staff very helpful over booking, and more than happy to assist. Was close to Lower Hutt & handy to Wellington. Nice clean & tidy room, great bed, overall was a great place to stay and we'll be staying again next time in town.

Room Tip: Two Bedroom unit was perfect for what we needed, had all we needed in the room, and was nice & q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lower Hutt hotels
1.2 mi away
Boulcott Lodge
Boulcott Lodge
#1 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#7 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.6 mi away
B-K's Esplanade Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ava Lodge
Ava Lodge
#1 of 6 in Petone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dupont Motels
Dupont Motels
#6 of 6 in Petone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dupont Executive Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 22

Property: Motel 22
Address: 22 Pharazyn Street, Lower Hutt 5010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel 22 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 22 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing