We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Motel”
Review of Champers Motor Inn

Champers Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Champers Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed in Wellington for the weekend for an event. Found Champers on Trip Advisor. Rooms were clean, warm, modern and there was plenty of room for the family to feel at home. Hosts Clare and Ross couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect. Will be stopping in again next time we're in Wellington.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rhinofitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 38 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, second night a party was in another room. Without hesitation managers gave second night for free. Totally unexpected.
Have stayed here before always friendly and accommodating to any requests

Room Tip: back room preferred to avoid any road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henderal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The owners of Champers are the most hospitable and genuine people. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well appointed with a very comfortable bed, which led to two great nights sleep.
The breakfasts are amazing and set us up perfectly for the day ahead.
I will definitely return to Champers

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Travellers that would like to feel like they are staying with family should look no further.
A quiet ( but so close to the beaten track ) means perfect place to stay while working in Petone , Lower Hutt or even Wellington City .
Anyone who has a good sense of humour will thoroughly enjoy their stay at Champers.
Great place to meet very interesting people if you stay for extended periods.
Very close ( 5 mins walk ) to the local bars and eating establishments - a good method of getting exercise in the weekend should you feel youve relaxed a little too much.
Very good place to hold a business conference - plenty of rooms and parking and choice of Beers & good Wine .
Thanks Ross & Claire for a very memorable 5 week stay .
I am sure I will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satelliteman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The motel is situated in Lowe Hutt about 10k north of the city. It is in a quiet location and the accommation is of a good standard. I had an executive room which consisted os a lounge, dinning area, kitchen with two bedfrooms one king and two singles and good size bathroom with spa bath and shower flat screen tvs in two rooms. There was a small patio. All rooms on ground level.parking at the
door. Very well received at reception. Main dissapointment was the bar and restaurant are not now open fri / sun. The nearsest quality restaurant is some 5k away but was good. Breakfast is provided in the restaurant 7 days and was good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I had a fantastic time there, my children really loved it as there was a SPA in the room! The staff members were so friendly welcoming and always there!

Shoudl I go on....the fooooddd!! What a lick finger stuff! I had to meet the chef and compliment him!

In terms of transport and travelling it is so accessible and easy to get around both to Lower Hutt and Wellington, and the area in the vicinity is close to the Hutt River where with my children we enjoyed lots of fun adventures!

What a lovely place to stay....would I go there again.....oh YES! Thumbs up from the Italian family Clare and Ross! Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasmine_122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This is a great place to stay!
The owners are always helpful & willing to do everything they can to make your stay a wonderful one. From the excellent service in ther morning at breakfast at very reasonable prices right throughout the day until the end of the evening in the Restaraunt / Bar.
I'd highly recommend the stay, the rooms are well appointed, and the one we stayed in looked to have been refreshed recently. The room was clean and tidy, and heaters were available for a nice warm cozy night.
The meal at the Restaraunt in the evening was to die for!! My steak was preparred perfectly, and my partners Lamb Shanks just fell off the bone, it was so tender!
Would highly recommend as a very warm, welcoming place to stay. Close to the train station to get in and out of town, and close to the services of Lower Hutt as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phvnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lower Hutt hotels
1.7 mi away
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
1.2 mi away
Settlers Motor Lodge
Settlers Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Petone
36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#4 of 14 in Lower Hutt
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ava Lodge
Ava Lodge
#1 of 6 in Petone
98 reviews
1.5 mi away
B-K's Esplanade Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Dupont Executive Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champers Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champers Motor Inn

Address: 6 - 10 Pharazyn Street, Lower Hutt 5010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Price Range: $80 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champers Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Champers Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing