We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boulcott Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boulcott Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A great place to stay, very new, clean and comfortable. In a good location close to Queensgate Mall. Full SkyTv. Good parking. Great for a night away. We had a great nights sleep, the room was very warm, especially considering the storm outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    39
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
68
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely clean, warm room and furnishings! The room has been well thought out and the bed was super comfortable. Better value than the other accommodation options in Lower Hutt which are pretty dismal. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I booked the studio lite which was near the stairs. Could hear some foot traffic but not a big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We ended up at Boulcott Lodge by accident due to a double booking at the motel we had originally booked at, and I am pleased to say it was the best accident!

The staff are amazing, so helpful, friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, which was perfect for a family. Sky TV, including Disney Junior was a big hit for our three year old. The full kitchen was great for preparing breakfast and dinner in the room and the bathroom complete with bathtub was fantastic - you don't find many rooms with bathtubs these days! We loved the eco and evironmentally friendly bathroom and cleaning products - a nice touch!

Although slightly more expensive than local counterparts, I absolutely think it was worth it, and we will be booking Boulcott Lodge as our first choice for our next visit.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartments are perfect for families. And there is a small meeting room that guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The owners are friendly and helpful. Clean modern and has all amenities that you might need for a short stay. 30 min drive from the airport and 20 min from city good café nearby. parking space available and free WiFi

Room Tip: choose second floor might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdict1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The motel is only 3 years old so everything is nice and new. I felt the room was a little small for the price. Staff were pretty friendly and helpful. No street noise, I was down the back. Heat pump worked well and kept the room nice and warm

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I strongly recommend this place for an overnight.

I staid at the Boulcott Lodge for one night in June 2013. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I paid NZD 135, which I reckon is a very good price for a comfortable room with incl. fast wifi internet.

The bed is big and comfortable.
The in-room work station (ie desk and chair) is practical and comfortable for a few hours work.
The internet is fast.
The breakfast is plenty and tasty (I had a Salmon Bagel NZD13 and Muesli NZD8).

You will need to drive or take a taxi to the next restaurant if you are after a proper lunch or dinner. Within a 5-7min taxi drive we had plenty of restaurant choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiKuSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and tidy, bit of an odd layout and quite small for the price. We had a two bedroom unit on the top floor, thought all the units had a balcony (perhaps i misread that somewhere), but ours didn't. Well appointed room with quality appliances. Bathroom is very small, but, has everything you would need. We could have done with a few extra towels and shampoo/conditioner/bodywash. Only had 3 towels and one each of s, c & bw for two adults and two children. There are two armchairs and one 2 seater in the lounge, quite small and not the most comfy, but, there is limited space so they've done well finding something to suit the style and the space restriction. Sky box also in the lounge, just sat behind the wallhung tv.. makes it hard to click channels but friendly host did explain this to us. Small wallhung tv in main bedroom, could have one in second bedroom (which is actually bigger). I love the green and bathroom doors in this unit. A few little maintenance issues, down light in main bdrm not working and side table draw knob loose. Rubbish bin looked like it had been kicked in. Quiet location and close to hospital, supermarket, petrol station and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyaralder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Hutt
3.0 mi away
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
2.5 mi away
Settlers Motor Lodge
Settlers Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Petone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
9.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ava Lodge
Ava Lodge
#1 of 6 in Petone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.6 mi away
B-K's Esplanade Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#4 of 14 in Lower Hutt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulcott Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulcott Lodge

Property: Boulcott Lodge
Address: 615 High Street | Boulcott, Lower Hutt 5011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulcott Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulcott Lodge is Lower Hutt's newest 5 star rated motel. Located a few minutes walk from both the CBD and from the city's hospitals, 5 minutes drive from historic Petone, and 15 minutes from central Wellington. The Boulcott Lodge offers superb accommodation with fully appointed suites designed to meet the needs of corporate guests, families, or visitors to the region. Treat yourself to a cafe style breakfast with fresh coffee and newspaper delivered to your room whilst enjoying the 50+ SKY TV channels on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulcott Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing