We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silverstream Retreat
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Lower Hutt
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique accommodation”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at the Silverstream Retreat with my 2 teenage children in January 2012 for 3 nights. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The actual apartment was lovely. It was very spacious, lots of wood everywhere and the kids loved the mezzanine level 2nd bedroom. The main bedroom is lovely and looks out to the Hutt River down below. The lounge area has doors that open out onto a lovely balcony that looks over the valley and down to the Hutt River. The only thing we found quite strange was the derelict buildings all around our accommodation. I was already aware from previous reviews that the Silverstream Retreat is not finished and there are a lot of derelict buildings still to be renovated, so I was expecting this. The 2 bedroom apartments are all next to each other down the end of the whole complex. They are on their own and have derelict buildings all around. My daughter found this quite unnerving at night time, but it definitely didn't help that we had gale force winds for 2 of the nights. However that aside, the accommodation was very unique and lovely. We will definitely come and stay again, and really look forward to seeing the whole complex renovated and completed. Once it has been finished, it will be an award winning accommodation complex.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverstreamRetreat, Front Office Manager at Silverstream Retreat, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your response and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. While we are undertaking extensive construction works to renovate the entire property, we thought you may be interested in reading a little bit about the history of the property. Please go to our website, click on "About Us" and go to "Our History". You will then be able to see what we have come from, to the great facility we have today.

We look forward to having you stay with us again so that we can show you our recent upgrades, and we look forward to sharing our 10 year plan with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
18
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago.whilst i was very impressed with how clean it was i have to
say most of the staff were rude and unhelpful.the worst were the staff in reception who didnt
seem to have a clue about anything.shame it wasnt up to the standard of the cleaners as
it has the potential to be great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_p255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Excellent accommodation for a large group - 38 of us, we all stayed together in the Forest Wing. Well appointed and clean, plenty of space for the kids to explore and run around. Silverstream provided all the catering, the food was good but a little repetitive when staying 4 nights. The staff were friendly and helpful - as one of the kids summed it up 'I liked the ladies!' (but actually the token male was nice too) Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Weekend conference so shouted myself a unit. Lovely comfortable bed, 32" tv, great shower and very clean. Ideal for a conference with different areas. Food provided for which we all enjoyed, especially the breakfast. Didn't use it but good room service too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I found Silverstream Retreat a great place to stay. The parts that are renovated are done to a very good standard and lovely decor. Very comfortable accommodation. I thoroughly enjoyed the home style cooked meals - delicious. Overall the experience was a pleasant one and staff were great. Thank you Silverstream Retreat - Well Done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a six bed bunkroom for a weekend conference. Very basic but clean and modern room, well heated. Comfy beds. Bathroom brand new, ran short of hot water for shower, but my bad for being up so late!
All meals were top class for bulk catering! Simple but delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigJ0HN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had the pleasure of attending a Conference recently held at Silverstream Retreat. Having been stayed at many complexes over the years I would have to rate Silverstream as the best yet. The facilities were immaculate and clean, the food delicious and plentiful and the staff super friendly. I look forward to having the opportunity to come back and would definitely recommend Silverstream to others to enjoy the great experience I had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Hutt
7.6 mi away
Settlers Motor Lodge
Settlers Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Petone
28 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wallaceville House
Wallaceville House
#1 of 2 in Upper Hutt
61 reviews
5.2 mi away
Boulcott Lodge
Boulcott Lodge
#2 of 14 in Lower Hutt
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Champers Motor Inn
Champers Motor Inn
#8 of 14 in Lower Hutt
33 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ava Lodge
Ava Lodge
#1 of 6 in Petone
79 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dupont Executive Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverstream Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverstream Retreat

Property: Silverstream Retreat
Address: 3 Reynolds Bach Drive, Lower Hutt 5019, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lower Hutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverstream Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Hutt River and the Valley beyond, our fully serviced motel units are ideal for those wanting to relax and unwind in a secluded bush setting. We have seven, two bedroom units which have a master bedroom with a super king sized bed, and a loft bedroom with two single beds. Our luxurious River View Studio overlooks the Hutt River and the Manor Park Golf Club beyond. This unit has an open plan living area with a super king sized bed and accessible bathroom facilities. Our Forest Studios are ideal for a couple. These have a modern rustic feel and have been designed to compliment the surrounding native bushland. We also have Group accommodation available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silverstream Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverstream Retreat Hotel Lower Hutt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing