We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the friendliest hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn Villa Stables
Ranked #1 of 1 Carrick B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My partner and I have stayed here twice now and both have been quite memorable experiences....the first was the place for the proposal for marriage and next getting married in their beautiful gardens! The hosts/owners bent over backwards to help us out with the preparations and getting the garden in tip top conditions! Everyone loved it!!! Oh and we love the ducks!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bradntash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 42 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our first visit to Hawthorn Villa Stables in Carrick certainly won't be our last. The location is so convenient... only 15 minutes from Launceston, with nearby attractions to visit in every direction. The accommodation itself was spotlessly clean and comfortable... modern furnishings combine with a rustic feel to make it a unique place. The onsite hosts were very friendly, without being intrusive and the vast gardens were absolutely outstanding. We loved eating breakfast on the lawn, and thought it would be a nice place to gather with friends for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Think-Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Prior to flying to Launceston with friends from Brisbane to attend a wedding in a suburb of Hagley I reviewed properties on-line for a two night stay. I was drawn to the website for Hawthorn Villa Stables detailing the history of the homestead, the Villa Stables and the magnificent gardens.
We were booked to stay in Stable 1 and we were very excited leading up to our two night stay.
The drive from Launceston to the small quaint township of Carrick took only 15 minutes. When we drove into the driveway we were not disappointed.
The owners, Nicole and Innes, are delightful, helpful and passionate about their stunning, beautiful and charming property.
Although the stables are not huge there was enough room for three girl friends. We loved the old rustic decor from the 1960's with modern facilities. The beds in the loft upstairs were very comfortable.
The gardens are something else. I felt a great sense of relaxation, peace and love in the magnificent gardens. Also, perfect for a small private wedding.
An ideal stay for young or older couples, single people or families with older children looking for self-time or time-out from a busy life schedule.
Without a doubt I will return to stay longer at Hawthorn Villa Stables and catch-up with Nicole and Innes.
That whole area, other countrysides and most of Tasmania has a historic English appearance. I simply love Tasmania.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JANINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you love Tasmania you'll love Hawthorn Villa Stables. When we arrived, after a hectic Xmas and too much new year cheer, we were met by a little gaggle of ducks! This slightly remote, peaceful, secluded locale with well established gardens 'I'd die for' in Carrick has romantic 'olde world' perfect & charming villas only a short distance from the action of Launceston, Evandale market and the north west coast. Although you need care decending stable 4's stairs, the shower was fabulously super hot, and we bathed in the morning sun at the breakfast table. Definitely can't wait till our next visit - soon!

Room Tip: Breakfast in Stable 4 catches the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Hawthorne Villa early October 2012 after a reflexology conference in Launceston. What a lovely place stay. The gardens are magnificent and what a lovely welcome from the owners, Nicole and Innes. Sadly we were sick with bronchitis which had started at the conference, but Nicole was totally caring, making us a Doctor's appointment and seeing we had everything that we needed. The quirky stable/apartments are warm, friendly and roomy, so while we were sick we were still able to be comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with breakfast supplies which were kept refreshed as the stay extended. Happily we ended up having seven nights at Hawthorne Villa. Although it is close to the main road, you feel as if you are totally in the countryside as there is no traffic noise and there is a great feeling of spaciousness.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparkyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We started our holiday in Tasmania by staying three nights at Hawthorn Villas. Nicole is a most pleasant host and very helpful. Carrick is quiet but so peaceful and handy to Launceston and to many interesting small towns like Evandale and Westbury. The accommodation was great and the beautiful gardens gave the stables a real charm. Loved the fresh eggs from the hen house for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

There is a lot to like about the Hawthorn Villa Stables. The stable conversion has been done quite well with some nice rustic touches. The bathroom is a decent size and was spotlessly clean. The beds are vey comfy and the electric blankets were most welcome on a cold winter night. The grounds are wonderful and even during a time of the year when they would not be at their best it was lovely taking a wander. Most importantly our hosts were great and super friendly.

There are a few points that need improving. It's definitely time for some new towels but most disappointing was that the wood fire was not operational. Something I was really looking forward to.

Overall though it's a nice alternative to staying in a standard hotel in Launceston. There's plenty to do in the area and the town of Carrick itself is quite lovely. Launceston itself is only 15 or 20 minutes away.

We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spiderfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick
3.6 mi away
Red Feather Inn
Red Feather Inn
#1 of 1 in Hadspen
130 reviews
8.4 mi away
Fitzpatrick's Inn
Fitzpatrick's Inn
#1 of 3 in Westbury
37 reviews
3.3 mi away
Entally Lodge
Entally Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hadspen
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Aggie's Bed and Breakfast
4.1 mi away
Discovery Parks - Hadspen
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Villa Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Villa Stables

Address: 1 Church St, Carrick, Tasmania 7291, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Carrick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick
Price Range: $132 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Villa Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hawthorn Villa Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing