We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fabric Hostel & Club
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

i stayed for 4 nights while in Naples. while the location was problematic as the train line to it stops running each night at about 10:30 and i had to get a taxi each night which cost about €25, make sure to agree a price before you get in!
A really great hostel though, wifi worked great, nice beds, each person has their own locker, shower and toilets were very clean as was the whole hostel and a decent enough breakfast for only €2. only fault being its location and lack of a kitchen, apart from a microwave.

getting there at night may a problem yet its still located in the train line that will allow you to easily reach places like Pompeii, Sorrento and central Naples, the trains usually run each half hour or so and the hostel is an easy 10min walk from the station.

While buses do run to it as well i have been told that waiting at some bus stops at night in Naples can be risky so a taxi is a better choice, especially of you have your bag and things with you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    53
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
7
26
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

THis place is far and away one of my favorite places ive ever stayed at. The hostel is clean and there is so much to do in area around it. THe rooms are comfy and safe and theres always people there THeres a lot of people to meet and a breakfast every morning. Also there is beer for sale.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Fabric Hostel is a ideal choice because it is located in lovely and not so busy Portici area of Naples. It is good for budget traveler and a person who wants to meet people( hostel has a club).
Room I stayed was too small for 5 persons but I could manage it during my three days stay. Bathrooms are clean, staff is really friendly and there is really good lunchplace, Trattoria Sociale, at the club during day time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjatta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Besides the friendly people working in the hostel, my stay there was a failure. The room was located just in front of the bar owned by the same hostel creating impossible to sleep until late late night. Other important inconvenient is the lack of sound insulation between rooms, you can hear the conversations (including snoring).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcossio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I had far higher expectations than what we got for Fabric. The 3 person room was a shoebox on the highest floor where the elevator can't reach, and the bathrooms are shared with the floor but have transparent doors so you can see what people are doing. The wifi only worked in the bar, which was extremely irritating on the weekend nights when the hostel acted as a a club and was full with loud music, so I couldn't use my own device to get on the Internet. The room was very loud all night, even being on the highest floor, with music from the club, loud bangs and explosions (there are constantly explosions) and church bells.
The common room was decent though, although a little small so was a bit awkwardly crowded, and all the facilities other than the Internet worked fine.
It's a bit of a hike from the train station, but we had trouble finding anything else so I think most of these complaints could probably be applied to most accommodation in Naples. It is a dirty, dangerous, loud town!
The breakfast was typical of a hostel.. Coffee, juice, croissant with jam and cereal.
They provide you with a VERY handy booklet on things to do and how to get around the area which is a big big plus.
I wouldn't warn against staying here, the staff were pleasant, the booklet was helpful and the location was good for day trips. I would just recommend finding somewhere cheaper because I'm not sure you get what you pay for here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JacMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Fabric Hostel for 2 nights, as part of a tour around Italy. We arrived to Naples station from Rome, and took a train to Portici - Ercolano. The instructions for getting a train are on Fabric's website, and are very clear. The train wasn't expensive at all either.

Finding the hostel from the train station was a little daunting, mainly because the last bit is down a couple of small roads. Once you find it though, the staff are very friendly, the rooms are fine for the price and the location is good to visit other places.

We had a private room, which had plenty of storage, comfy beds, a fan, and a good bathroom. The room was very clean and spacious enough for us. The hostel provides breakfast for (I think) 2euros p/p. The breakfast is very good; cereal, croissants, jam, tea, coffee, orange juice. The hostel has a TV and a social room, as well as a couple of computers with free internet. We didn't spend a lot of time there, but it looked good and sociable. There is also a bar / club type thing, but there wasn't anything major going on when we were there.

We visited Pompeii and Vesuvius. We went to take a train from Portici v.Liberta, but found that the station was closed. The people in Portici are SO friendly. An Italian lady came over and tried to explain to us what to do...unfortunately our Italian wasn't good enough to understand her, but she gestured us in the right direction...once we got to the road and looked a bit lost, a very kind man (who also didn't speak a word of English) came over and took us to the next train station, to buy the ticket (about a 15 minute walk). You rarely get that kindness in the UK! Once we had got on the train, it was all very easy. Trips go to Vesuvius from the train station that are fairly reasonably priced, and take about 4 hours.

Vesuvius itself is brilliant, incredible views. We were given an hour and a half to wander ourselves, so we had a great time taking photos and looking at what we wanted to, instead of stopping in a queue. The walking isn't too strenuous, but I would recommend wearing shoes that you can walk up hills in, as it does get a bit steep in places. I'd also take water and food if you want it; there is a shop but it's expensive.

We then went to Pompeii, which is an incredibly interesting place to visit. We hired an audioguide each which was definitely worth it (and the only way you can get a map!) We started without the guide, but realised that we were just wandering with no real idea of what we were looking at. I'd recommend getting the guide - it isn't too expensive and you get a lot of interesting background information. And definitely make sure you go and see the brothel...

We did Vesuvius and Pompeii in a day which was do-able. A pretty long day and tiring, but worth it because we only had one day. If we had a couple of days, I probably would split them out, and also see Herculaneum, which is supposed to be excellent as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhicez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hostel was great offering two internet computers and clean bathrooms. The towel hire fee we weren't use to. But the exceptional service, clean shared bathrooms, and the movie room was worth the stay. Trains to the Amalfi Coast and Pompei were highly accessible as on the same train line. It is a walk from the train station with your bags but worth the stay for the friends you will meet. Do get there take out pizza (1metre pizza). We recommend this as a good option.

Word of warning; Staying outside Naples Centrale is a great idea pick pockets are rife and it is not safe. But you need to be organized with bus tickets and train tickets for weekends as ticket sellers including the train station close.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portici
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
359 reviews
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ercolano
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Poseidon
#2 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
438 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
962 reviews
Grand Hotel Europa
#53 of 186 in Naples
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabric Hostel & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabric Hostel & Club

Property: Fabric Hostel & Club
Address: Via Sessa Bellucci 22, 80055 Portici, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Portici
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Portici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Fabric Hostel & Club 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Fabric Hostel & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabric Hostel & Club Portici, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing