We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Basse-Terre Island
from $71.82
More Info
from $90.60
More Info
from $16.01
More Info
from $44.20
More Info
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveler rating
98
182
112
39
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
98
182
112
39
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews model ships sugar cane rum production small building upstairs butterflies exhibition display rums tasting tools rhum history sample language distillery scale
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 444 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2019

It is very nice that people speak English and not only French. There are also signs with descriptions in English and French. They explain everthing. We were surprising with collection of butterflies and beetles. And tasting rums was also very good. For a cheap entrance a lot of fun.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Bazgivoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Small museum but gives good background about rum production and history. Big butterfly and insect collection upstairs. They sell rums and you can taste a few products from funny “dripping machines” . Sugar canes where about to be harvested next to the museum when we visited there. We got a a small cut from sugar cane from. We found that interesting and very sweet.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 1minnaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

When I visited there were no guided tours. Independently you can read infoboards and look at the collection to learn the history of cultivating sugarcanes first for sugar an then rhum, tools used etc. Not much but enough information. A filmroom te learn (in French) a process of rhum making. After visiting one distillery onsite this doesn’t give much more infos.
But then go upstairs! What a surprise that insect exhibition there! Never seen collections like that!! Wow!
On other rooms you learn some nice interesting local facts.
For the insect would like to visit again.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank SatuM92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018

We visited many rum distilleries and they were great. This is is more of a curio museum than anything else. They have a room full of moths and butterflies all beautifully displayed. A room full of beautifully build model ships that are very interesting as well and I have to mention the Ark! They must have run out of ideas to fill the space so built and ark out of bamboo. It is just of off the main road in St. Rose so not a long drive.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Took my family of five there on a rainy day. Worth spending an hour learning about suger and rum. English display and video language (when asked). Museum could make more exciting display using multimedia for the future. Great staff and rum tasting.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank gislee2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews