We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a fantastic find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harmony Hill Country House
Ranked #3 of 16 Ballymoney B&B and Inns
Kildare
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a fantastic find!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here in March. We brought our dad as a treat for his birthday. This was by far one of the best places I have ever stayed.. When we pulled up I thought , good god, what have I booked! We checked in, dumped our bags and went off to the causeway and rope bridge... When we came back, the place had ben transformed... All of its real and natural beauty was on show. The rooms were warm and cosy. The drawing room had an amazing fire lit, ideal for kicking back and taking in the events of the day.. We lit a fire in our room to keep our pooch warm while we went down to the restaurant and had the best fillet steak ever, Trish knows her way to everyone's heart!!! The food was simply amazing!!!!!! We had a birthday dessert plate and even had Richard and some of the staff sing happy birthday to him #Mortified! but a great touch...
Will most definitely return here again... at first I was a little disappointed there was no real 'local' for us to go have a drink in but in the end, we most definitely didn't need one! A few glasses of wine in front of the fire was just AMAZING!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
49
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wish i could have stayed longer in this lovely place.Perfect host,Will definately be back to enjoy another Bushmills in the drawing room after a wander round the lovely gardens.Room was decorated so prettily with massive bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nini2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights while we were over in NI visiting friends and family.
When we arrived we were greeted by our friendly host who showed us to our room. We instantly felt at home with the relaxed feel, and the sense that you could come and go as you pleased.
The room was really cosy, with an open fire and the smell of peat in the air - reminded me of home! And very importantly, the bed was warm and comfortable and we both had a great sleep.
They also have a restaurant, although we didn't indulge this time (due to much over-indulgence throughout the rest of our trip!) but hope to sample the offerings next time we come to stay.
Breakfast (good old Ulster Fry!) was well cooked and very filling and set us up nicely for the day.
The house is like a tardis - one room opens into another and another, each with loads of character. The place feels like it's lived in, and loved by those who call it home.
Really looking forward to our next stay, and hopefully a few drams from the bar...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazbombaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place! From the second we arrived we knew we had found a real treasure, not just for the location and the character of the property but for the people who run it.

Richard and Trish and all their staff made us feel instantly welcome and looked after us until the moment we left. The house itself is steeped in history with its magical garden situated beside the old Mill.

Being able to light our own real fire in our room was a real treat and despite having a large dog with us, the room (room 2) felt spacious and comfortable. This pet-friendly hotel really made us feel relaxed and completely worry free, as they welcomed our dog in the large lounges where we could sit fireside, with drinks from the bar, entertaining our local friends. There are good quality beers, wines and spirits available from the bar and re-fills were no trouble at all.

And now the food.....Outstanding! We had the seafood trio on the first evening, which was amazing. We enjoyed our meal so much we booked for the second evening also, where a special meal was prepared for me that had not been on the menu. The restaurant in the evening was cosy and intimate, with so many original features of the old cottage. The size of the restaurant just added to the exclusive feel of the place.

Breakfast is provided in an adjoining room, which is a bit lighter and is a lovely array of lighter fruits yoghurt, muesli and juice, with additional cooked breakfasts (including Ulster fry) prepared to order. We didn't need to eat again until teatime!!

We will surely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The moment we pulled up outside this charming 18th century country cottage nestling in its own grounds in the Irish countryside we knew we were going to love it, and this impression was only reinforced when Rich, the owner, came out to greet us and show us around. We were looked after like old friends from the moment we arrived, and made to feel completely at home. After a few aperitifs, we were treated to a dinner which was really superb - all home-cooked, with the freshest ingredients (my lamb was cooked to a turn, using the finest cuts), and all the vegetables super-fresh and al dente. The rest of my family are vegetarians and the owners went to much trouble to ensure they were very well catered for. After a comfortable night in the spacious, well-appointed rooms, we were treated to a breakfast which was to die for. All while enjoying the attentive and charming service of Trish, the co-owner, who was as warm and friendly as her husband. So, all in all, we loved the place and can't wait to go back! Nigel and Sophie, London

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelE582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

So rare to find somewhere that does exactly what is says on the tin. Fabulous location, grounds, building, hosts, public rooms, restaurant, food. And you can have a roaring real fire in your room on a cold night is as good as it sounds. This is a hotel for all seasons.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms (bliss!) - and there're equally good so far as I can see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidIKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for the second time in as many months. Just love the food and the location. Excellent friendly hosts and the food ........ Bedrooms are a bit outdated but totally in keeping with the country house surroundings. Real fire and the candles in the room provide great atmosphere. Would love to wander the gardens in the summer. Cant recommend it enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalot2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymoney
2.9 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
10.9 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
696 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
709 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Hedges Hotel
The Hedges Hotel
#4 of 16 in Ballymoney
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinetrees Bed & Breakfast
Pinetrees Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 16 in Ballymoney
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hill Country House

Property: Harmony Hill Country House
Address: Balnamore, Ballymoney BT53 7PS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymoney
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymoney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Hill Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Harmony Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hill Country House Hotel Ballymoney
Harmony Hill Country House Ballymoney, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing