We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”
Review of Ken-Mar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ken-Mar House
Ranked #2 of 16 Ballymoney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights last year on a weekend visit to the Giants Causeway. I am only getting around to writing a review now! Would highly recommend this B&B, we were made to feel very welcome and the breakfast was superb. It's a nice town and we had a couple of lovely evenings in Joeys Bar and Mollys.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
76
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grassy Key, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed with Ken and Mary on a recent trip to visit the coast of Northern Ireland.
Ken-Mar House is in a great small town away from the busy sites on the coast. It is in a great location to walk to the high street and dining. They have off street parking with a separate entrance from the car park to the house which is so convenient.
Ken greeted us warmly and took us to our room. It was spacious and fitted out very well. The lighting is great, there is a flat screen TV mounted on the wall which helps to keep the room open. The beds were very comfortable and the linens top notch. The bathroom was very spacious with a great power shower and all the extras one might need.
Our breakfast was superb. We had a wonderful menu from which to choose. Everything was well prepared and tasty.
Ken suggested a local restaurant within walking distance for dinner which was a great idea. We enjoyed our meal and were happy not to drive.
Our experience at Ken-Mar House was excellent in every respect. Ken and Mary are wonderful hosts. We would stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxedtravels57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had not booked so where very grateful to have knocked on Ken and Mar's door. The room we were given was perfect.
Breakfast was fabulous thank you Mar and Ken, as a host, couldn't have been more attentive.
I would not hesitate to go back to this motel and will hIghly recommend it to friends and family

Room Tip: Ask for the separate room out the back, it's great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Kenny and Mary were super friendly and helpful. The place was spotless and breakfast was delicious. These two would help in any way to make your stay enjoyable. Very good location to see many main attractions in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our second stay at this fantastic BnB , its the perfect location to explore this very beautiful part of Ireland, once again Mary and Kenny looked after us as we arrived on a motorcycle very early and very wet, we were greated with a hot pot of tea , and a full English breakfast, ,, what more could ask for, they even helped dry our wet clothing,, a very friendly, ,comfortable, ,warm, ,very clean, location to stay when visiting this beautiful area,,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterfitz1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I were visiting No. Ireland for the first time. We were coming from the US and after a few days in Belfast wanted a B&B in the north of Antrim that would be a good central location both for seeing the attractions along the north coast and the Glens as well as for visiting some locations involving ancestral research. Our choice of Ken-Mar House could not have been better.
The location was ideal. Parking was included and our hosts, Kenny and Mary, could not have been nicer. And this, it turned out, was over the weekend of the Armoy Road Races so we were fortunate to receive a booking. Our room was en suite and pristinely clean. A separate TV room was available for our use although we spent most of our holiday time out sightseeing. Most that is, except for the wonderful breakfasts each day that included every fresh ingredient we could wish for. Breakfasts were also a great time to get to know the other guests -- all of them interesting and willing to chat with a couple of Yanks over on vacation. On the days that we stayed they were primarily racing fans over from England or Scotland.
Kenny provided us with lots of guidance for getting around and we enjoyed our conversations with both Mary and Kenny about No. Ireland, the economy, history and their lives as innkeepers.
One of the big pluses of our trip turned out to be Ballymoney itself. A lovely small town with lots of charming shops, interesting streets and cafes. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. It was pretty much everything we had hoped for and the owners were extremely gracious to us. From our point of view, we wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone visiting - from the US or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to book well ahead for the best available room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were in N Ireland for the Milk Cup and had a great week. Football was good, but the B&B was excellent. Kenny & Mary were great and they really made us feel at home. They were very helpful and the food was lovely. Will be going back there again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymoney
4.3 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
6.9 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
709 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinetrees Bed & Breakfast
Pinetrees Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 16 in Ballymoney
238 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Hedges Hotel
The Hedges Hotel
#4 of 16 in Ballymoney
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ken-Mar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ken-Mar House

Property: Ken-Mar House
Address: 20 Queen Street, Ballymoney BT53 6JB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymoney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymoney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ken-Mar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ken-Mar House Hotel Ballymoney
Ken-Mar House Ballymoney, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing