We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for touring Cornwall.”

Bettle and Chisel Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Delabole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bettle and Chisel Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Delabole B&B and Inns
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for touring Cornwall.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at this pub b&b whilst starting a tour of Cornwall's coastal regions. Great place for a base point to stay. The bedrooms are very clean and spacious for a b&b with generously sized bathroom. The.new owners of the pub are very welcoming and friendly, as so are all the staff and locals. Might try the free camping area at the back of the pub next year. Good luck with your new venture. Paul & Debby, Hyde, Manchester.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in delabole and this pub was our local within walking distance. First visit was OK food was good pub food. The welcome was OK the welsh waitress on our second visit was amazing and made us as a family feel really welcome. Which given we were close to walking out when we were just glared at by the bar staff when we were looking for a table to eat was a nice surprise. Shame about the one rude really unfriendly other waitress that made us feel like we were an inconvienience. Given the choice drive a couple of miles down the road to camelford and the masons arms which was fantastic

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank royandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stumbled across Delabole on the way to Tintagel and noted the Inn had vacancies. We were given an allocated carparking space and a room containing the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. all the staff were extremely friendly and we made to feel very welcome. food was also excellent prices very reasonable and Delabole is a good base for Tintagel; Boscastle etc. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed two nights here, when my sister who lives in Delabole, recommended it to us.
Don’t worry about it being on the main street, as it only a small town, & slightly off the main routes, but accessible to the close towns of Tintagel, Boscastle, Port Isaac [Doc Martin], Padstow & Wadebridge.
We were a bit apprehensive about staying at a pub, as we are not drinkers, just the odd New Zealand wine with a meal.
Well, we need not have worried; it was fantastic, for the hosts Sherry & John, who couldn’t do enough for us, or any other guests. They found time to chat when their work load permitted.
The room was very nice & clean, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a good night sleep. Check the photo out of the bed. Remember that it is an old building, the walls are very thick, and the Wi-Fi couldn’t get through.
The meals were hot, very well presented & all fresh veggies, & most of all, enjoyable, the chef comes to chat too. The deserts were nice too.
Thank you once again Sherry & John for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, we were on the left, at the rear near the self catering unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stopped at this pub for a meal. We had a lovely ploughmans and steak baguette. Fantastic food and equally fantastic service. Lovely beer garden at the back. Will defiantly return when we are next down in Cornwall. Hopefully the weather will be lovely again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifergreen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at the Bettle and Chesil on our first visit back to Cornwall in over 40 years. The owners Sherry and her partner are first class hosts, and the restaurant has a great menu, including options for Seniors. The room and facilities were first class. Just one small observation, the bar hosts music on some evenings, and the nloise could be an issue for some folks, we had no problem however. Breakfasts were first class, and the assistance to help with our luggage was much appreciated.

Room Tip: We had a double ensuite room which was comfortable, clean and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoolePirate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed at the Inn in late 2011 and recieved an exceptionally warm welcome. The staff were very friendly and food great value for money. Our accomodation was clean and well maintained. Although the Inn is not on the coast it is well placed for exploring all over the North Coast of Cornwall and not being on the coast makes it better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frogshaddow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bettle and Chisel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bettle and Chisel Inn

Property: Bettle and Chisel Inn
Address: 114 High Street, Delabole PL33 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Delabole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Delabole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bettle And Chisel Inn Cornwall/Delabole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing