We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't return”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Poldark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poldark Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Delabole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Won't return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Although the apartment we stayed in is spacious , it was quite tired. No hot water for a bath but thankfully the shower was hot . No food as a 70 birthday party on which was fine but after a long days walking and paying £90.00 for the room it was a pain to have to drive out to find somewhere. Breakfast was also disappointing . We stay all over Cornwall and £55.00 a night is about right in our opinion . Sorry we will not return and this could be so special . I read the reviews before we booked and do not agree with the comments written from our experience.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poldarkinn, Owner at Poldark Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Ms Willis, thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are sorry that your stay wasn't up to expectation. We did advise all customers that we could not serve food after 7.30pm due to the function that you mention, so hopefully it didn't come as too much of a surprise. Secondly, from our discussion, we understood that you managed to find and operate the boiler in the apartment for the hot water. Regarding the breakfast, we do offer a choice at breakfast as we cater to all dietary requirements and therefore would be been pleased to have offered an alternative meal. We have received very positive reviews over the last couple of years regarding our breakfasts, so we would have welcomed your direct feedback and been given the opportunity to put things right. Regarding the room rate, we believe 90 pounds for a self-catering one bedroom apartment for two people, two dogs, including breakfast in North Cornwall as being very competitive. Kindly note that the nearest alternative costs in the region of 120 pounds per night and excludes breakfast. We do have rooms within the hotel similar to the price range that you mention so would strongly suggest that you book these should you give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    53
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed one night b&b. room a little on the small side but had all that was needed for a goods night sleep. Bathroom clean and towels white! Evening meal good and freshly cooked so was hot. Breakfast good and kept you going for good few hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stopped off here for a bite to eat - pub is a little basic, but the friendliness of the staff and the freshness of the food more than made up for it. Really lovely meal, wine was chilled and beer cold.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisySorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our first hold with our dog and the self catering cottage could not have been better.It had it's own little walled garden with no way of getting out.It was clean and even had a washing machine which was a big help.From the minute we arrived until the time we left nothing was to much trouble.The staff were friendly and always willing to chat..The food is good and good value.We have stayed in the b+b before as family live nearby and can't wait for our next visit.thanks made and Tracey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a recent trip to St Ives. We stayed in a self contained cottage.

The bed was a bit lumpy but overall a great place for us to stop over. The cottage had a small, self contained garden as well whihc was great for our dog.

We ate in the pub in the evening. Whilst it is your typical pub offering, we found the service, value and food to be great.

I am not sure I could stay there for a week as it is quite remote but we would definrely stay there again for an overnight stop or long weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Enjoyed 1 night stopover on way back from treyarnon bay upto Yorkshire so we could travel back on Sunday with less traffic ! Couldn't have asked for anything more lovely homely atmosphere pleasant surroundings comfy clean bedrooms & beds. A welcome relaxing night for my husband & I & 2 kids & our dog Oscar . Fab beer doom bar fab food / evening meals& breakfast x thanks ! Couldn't recommend it more !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoinette17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Due to my mix up over the dates, we had one night in one of the hotel's self catering flat round the corner, then two in the hotel itself. The flat was a bit tired, with blown double glazing panels and carpet on the bathroom floor, but it was all spotlessly clean. The hotel room had a recently done up bathroom, comfy bed, and the cooked breakfast was lovely. We were offered a free drink on arrival, and help with luggage. Spotting the washing machine in the flat, we were also given free washing powder, they could not have done more for us.

Do visit the Bridge Street Bistro in Wadebridge,great food and attentive staff, but it's only small, so be sure to book.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delabole
2.8 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
2.0 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poldark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poldark Inn

Property: Poldark Inn
Address: Treligga Downs, Delabole PL33 9DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Delabole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Delabole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poldark Inn is a family run Pub set in a very tranquil location. We provide affordable Bed & Breakfast and One and Two Bedroom Self Catering Accommodation on the beautiful North Cornwall Coast.All major attractions on the coastline are easily accessible and the location is also linked by footpath to the stunning North Cornwall coastal path.The Bar is open from 6pm each evening and provides meals and drinks at very competitive prices for this area.Pets and Children are welcome and given our competitive prices, we strongly recommend that you book early over peak seasonal periods to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Poldark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poldark Inn Cornwall/Delabole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing