We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would return to po dark Inn”
Review of The Poldark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Poldark Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Delabole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We would return to po dark Inn”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place-V friendly staff and locals-clean tidy and most of all fantastic value. The location is ok we had a car which made getting around very easy. The room we stayed in was basic and just been renaveted we done our research and knew exactly what to expect of poldark inn. No complaints from this end.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fedan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    55
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
74
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We only stayed at the Poldark Inn one night as we there simply to see the Cornwall at War Museum in nearby Davidstow and see my Grandmother's station at Treligga (She was a Wren). We had a warm welcome from the staff on arrival and from local people when we visited the bar/restaurant for dinner.

It is not a boutique hotel and doesn't claim to be but if you are looking for clean comfortable and unpretentious accommodation at a very reasonable price then look no further than the Poldark Inn.

In fact we spent our next night in a fancy hotel in St Ives and the facilities weren't in as good as condition as the Poldark inn - despite charging twice the price of the Poldark!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peach1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

After reading mixed reviews we were a little nervous about what we'd find at the Poldark. However we were pleasantly surprised to be met by welcoming staff, a well laid out, clean and well supplied apartment in an ideal location for exploring Cornwall. If there are any negatives it would be that the apartment is a little dated and the twin beds uncomfortable but everything worked and bed comfort is down to personal taste. Overall we'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samandperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askrigg, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very good value and great for a short stay - it's cheap yet you get great service, clean room, cracking breakfast.... We did also have dinner which was fine and about the right quality for the price. just as good as many of the cheap chain hotels I stay in for work and a better breakfast by far.

Location was great for us but couldn't comment further as this was only a short trip

As many have said decor is dated but what do expect for the price and the owners/staff made up for any shortfall in the look of the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We could list many minor issue's but this is'nt 5 star, its very good value. The staff are good, the room was light and spacious with a very comfortable bed and the breakfast puts to shame any premier, or holiday inn. The decor is well out of date and we would have liked a hair dryer in our room, at least my wife would I dont have any hair! other than that its pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorsetspouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, room not massive, but the en-suite was well finished. Comfortable bed and a good nights sleep. We paid £100 for two nights B&B. The breakfast was reasonable, although service window is quite short (8-9). The rooms are above a pub & function room, and so there is some noise until closing time, but this didn't bother us.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

family room was very spacious the decor could do with updating but could not fault the views.
breakfast was lovely cooked to order. lovely friendly and very helpful staff. choice of food in the bar was limited but the meal we had was cooked fresh and was very good

Room Tip: if you have young children book the family room with the view its seperate the rest of the hotel so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolvesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delabole
3.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,275 reviews
2.0 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
118 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
233 reviews
8.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
947 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poldark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poldark Inn

Property: The Poldark Inn
Address: Treligga Downs, Delabole PL33 9DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Delabole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Delabole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poldark Inn is a family run Pub set in a very tranquil location. We provide affordable Bed & Breakfast and One and Two Bedroom Self Catering Accommodation on the beautiful North Cornwall Coast.All major attractions on the coastline are easily accessible and the location is also linked by footpath to the stunning North Cornwall coastal path.The Bar is open from 6pm each evening and provides meals and drinks at very competitive prices for this area.Pets and Children are welcome and given our competitive prices, we strongly recommend that you book early over peak seasonal periods to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Poldark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poldark Inn Cornwall/Delabole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing