We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!”
Review of The Poldark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Poldark Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Delabole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed last week!! And I can happily say it really was good value for money!

Location is very close to various attractions in the area, peaceful, surrounded by beautiful countryside and views across the fields to the sea.

Rooms are very comfortable and warm; Staff very friendly, food was excellent.
Highly I recommend this place and will return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanepaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    55
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
74
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the Poldark Inn apartments for new year for three nights. It was clean and comfortable but a couple of things annoyed us.

Firstly the TV was broken and as it was rather an isolated spot we wanted to watch tv some of the time during our stay. It was with a great deal of hassle we eventually were given a small portable tv which we had to balance on a chair. It seemed to us that as a wedding was going on that particular day, and we were not part of, it was a great deal of trouble to put this right, and we felt we were being a nuisance even asking!

Then when it came to paying our bill, which we were previously quoted on the phone some months earlier, it was increased to £60 per night not the £50 I was quoted, something was mumbled about it being new year but I felt we were paying for the inconvenience we caused by asking for a working tv!

I now notice the Inn is up for sale so perhaps the owners have lost interest in it. In all we wont be going again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GbCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poldarkinn, Owner at The Poldark Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Carol, thanks for your review and please allow me to respond to each of your points in turn.

Firstly, as it transpires the TV was not actually broken, however, we do now provide instructions for our guests. It was simply a case that you were trying to operate the TV in analogue mode as opposed to digital. Apologies for any inconvenience caused, especially as the senior gentleman on duty that assisted you also didn't identify this.

We did make an attempt to replace the TV as you mention, however, please kindly appreciate that getting a new TV late on New Years Eve wasn't very easy, hence us only being able to provide you with a portable TV at that time. Again apologies for this.

Please be assured that you and our other guests are never considered a nuisance, we take great pride in serving our customers and as a result we are blessed with many repeat visitors.

Regarding the price quoted, we have a very clear process when booking rooms that all prices are documented in the room diary as they are verbally quoted and I can confirm that you were quoted £60.

On the website, prices are quoted "From £350 per week" which equates to £50 per night and this is for low season. We will however soon upgrade to an on-line booking system to help avoid any confusion in the future.

On the subject of value and your score of 1 out of 5, we provide comfortable budget accommodation and feel that £60 for four people staying in a two bedroom self catering apartment during a peak period represents excellent value for money.

Finally, please rest assured that we have not lost interest in our property, we are constantly investing in improvements and upgrades to ensure our guests get even better value.

If you would like to reconsider visiting us again, please contact us and we will endeavour to ensure your stay is memorable for the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We shall be leaving In two days after spending two weeks in the self contained accommodation and I shall be sad to go. My parents have one of the apartments and we are staying in the other. The breakfasts are FANTASTIC, the accommodation is just what we needed and catered nicely for us. Its been wonderful for our children (5 and 2) to have the lawn out the front for them to run around on. We had eight family members and friends come down from the north on the weekend for my sisters wedding. They stayed in the B&B rooms and were all extremely happy with the rooms and service. The owners and staff are very friendly and extreemly helpful. We would have no hesitation at all about coming back here in the future. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix_ash79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We Stayed here last weekend in the self catering apartments, very comfortable and warm. Location is good for walking, ideal for the North Cornwall coastal path. Staff very friendly and recommended various attractions in the area. When we did use the bar, food was fairly typical pub grub with decent sized portions and beer is well kept!!

They had just installed a public internet connection, so the wife was very happy that she could catch up with her facebook!!

The other thing we liked was the private parking for the guests which is separate to the pub car park.

Overall, we recommend this place and will probably return with some golf buddies in the summer!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wc_sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Went down to Cornwall to visit friends at the end of January and "the boss" decided to make it a short break. We stayed in a self-catering apartment at the Poldark Inn and it was great - the apartments are modern and comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. The kitchen was equipped with a cooker with oven, microwave, fridge and toaster - just about everything needed.

We had not been down that way for a few years and found this is a very good location as a base for exploring North Cornwall and the excellent coastal walks.

Food and drink in the bar was very good and reasonably priced - we both had rump steaks and a bottle of house wine and then moved on to the bar... good job we weren't driving!

Overall it was a nice break and excellent value. We hope to return in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Had planned to stay 3 nights but only made one night. The room was failrly clean but very outdated and in great need of improvement. The reason we only stayed one night was de to the strong smell of tom cats (or something similar) in the entrance lobby and especially when sat around the var in teh evening. Unfortunately the bar area was also where breakfast was served, the smell left us wondering what else might be gong on in teh kitchen.....
Internet access was also advertised but was not available because the staff had forgotten the passwords....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apache_sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poldarkinn, Owner at The Poldark Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2010
Thanks for your review.

Taking your points in turn, yes we are aware we need to update the property, this is not possible at this time due to an illness within the family, however, this is reflected in our room rates that have been frozen for over 5 years now.

The smell that you referred to was due to flooding in one of the guest rooms that leaked through the ceiling into the bar area, you may have noticed that the plaster from the ceiling in the bar area had been removed.

We serve breakfast in the bar area given this is the warmest room, however, in these circumstances this was a mistake for which we apologise.

We are sorry that you did not mention these issues when you checked out early as we would have done our best to make amends or refund your monies.

Regarding your speculation about our kitchens, we are subject to regular health and safety inspections and we have no problems here. Most of our clientele are regular customers who dine with us on a regular basis.

Finally, regarding advertising, with the exception of our web site and a google place page, we do not advertise and therefore your claim regarding the internet being advertised is not correct.

We are a small family business and take great pride in taking care of our customers, this is reflected in the repeat business that we enjoy despite the fact that we do not advertise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2010

A great escape from the rat race. A family run hotel/inn with good beer and excellent food. Not too far from the mainstream beaches and off the main roads. Cornish hospitality at it's best. Chill and enjoy

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penguinlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delabole
3.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,275 reviews
2.0 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
118 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
233 reviews
8.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
947 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poldark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poldark Inn

Property: The Poldark Inn
Address: Treligga Downs, Delabole PL33 9DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Delabole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Delabole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poldark Inn is a family run Pub set in a very tranquil location. We provide affordable Bed & Breakfast and One and Two Bedroom Self Catering Accommodation on the beautiful North Cornwall Coast.All major attractions on the coastline are easily accessible and the location is also linked by footpath to the stunning North Cornwall coastal path.The Bar is open from 6pm each evening and provides meals and drinks at very competitive prices for this area.Pets and Children are welcome and given our competitive prices, we strongly recommend that you book early over peak seasonal periods to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Poldark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poldark Inn Cornwall/Delabole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing