We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mottram Hall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Deanwater Hotel(Stockport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bridge Hotel(Prestbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legh Arms(Prestbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsley Lodge(Wilmslow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Alderley Edge Hotel(Alderley Edge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,746)
Filter reviews
1,746 results
Traveler rating
794
471
276
130
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
794
471
276
130
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseclaret jugcocktail barspa facilitiesoutdoor jacuzziq hotelsspa breakgolf clubafternoon teaevening meallight lunchgarden roomwedding partylovely spamain restaurantsteam roomset menu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,438 - 1,443 of 1,746 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We fell in love with Mottram Hall the first time we visited and looked no further when selecting a venue for our wedding. Having booked the venue 18 months ago, I have read many mixed reviews about the venue and at times I was aprehensive as to whether we had made the right choice. I can honestly say that I had absolutely nothing to worry about as the service that we recieved was outstanding from start to finish.

The venue itself is beautiful and the recent rennovations offer a comfortable & quality finish which screams luxury. The night before the wedding I stayed in the Cheshire Suite which was just beautiful and extremely spacious. We had invited 140 day guests to the wedding, many of which were staying at the hotel. Check in was a dream - guests were offered a seat and a drink in the bar whilst their cases were taken to their rooms and despite some last minute room change requests the reception staff pleasant, accomodating and tried to do what they could to meet the requests and keep the guests happy.

In the lead up to the wedding, Netty was incredibly helpful and was on hand to deal with last minute changes and requests. She did so in a polite and professional manner and then handed over to the operations team led by Danny Jones on the day. In my meeting with Danny the night before the wedding, Danny assured me that it was his job to make sure that the wedding went without a hitch and he stood by his word. Danny is incredibly passionate about his job and takes a great deal of pride in impeccible execution. The timing went like clockwork, the food and service was fantastic and may guests commented that one of the nicest things for them was to be served by a team of people who were polite, courteous and always smiling. The attention to detail was incredible and the bar staff were also fantastic, mixing up gorgeous cocktails for our guests and making the experience truly wonderful.

Danny and his team worked up until midnight the night before the wedding to ensure that everything was perfect and I daresay they also worked well into the early hours after the wedding to clear the room down after the party had finished at 1am.

I would also like to mention Alison from Lasting Memories. Alison was recommended to us by the hotel as someone who might be able to provide chair covers and sashes, however on meeting Alison and seeing the way that she dressed the venue, I immediately booked her as our venue dresser and i'm so glad I did. Alison is incredibly talented and transformed the St Andrew Suite throughout the day from ceremony, through to wedding breakfast through to evening function room. She brought me in to see the room the night before the wedding and it genuinely brought a tear to my eye. Alison had created a fantastic Vintage / Summer Garden ambience with her use of candles, trinkets & flowers and once again we had many compliments about the originality of the dressing and attention to detail. I can't thank Alison enough for all her hard work.

A final mention has to go the Ken who was our toastmaster. The perfect gentleman, Ken was on hand to put everyone at ease and also to ensure the day flowed without a hitch. He immediately made us feel relaxed and comfortable and said a couple of words for us during the wedding breakfast which made the crowd layugh. Another member of the Mottram team who takes a great deal of pride in what he does and a pleasure to work with on the day.

We opted for the chicken liver parfait, lamb and sticky toffee pudding for our wedding breakfast - all of which was delicious and washed down nicely with the argentinian wine.

Many of our guests took advantage of the spa during their stay and said it was fantastic. Overall I really couldn't fault Mottram - they made our wedding perfect and the best day of our lives.

We hope to visit and re-live the memories time and time again.

Room Tip: The Cheshire Suite was outstanding...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear stacey s,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased to hear that all the Team were able to make sure your wedding day was so special and perfect and that all your guests had an enjoyable time too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

excellent spa day with lovely facial and hot stone massage from Elaine (friendly, efficient and professional). The best thing about this place though was the outside sauna and steam rooms; the Brechelbath and Stonebath. The Brechelbath is a mild heat sauna strewn with pine leaves. the smell is beautiful. The Stonebath contains what looks like a medieval torture unit but is, in fact, a mechanism for heating hot stones. I could have watched it for hours - hypnotic!
The pool is lovely (made for relaxing rather than serious swimming) and the facilities are all spotless.
We had lunch in the Library - just off the bar - food was good, especially the treacle tart with ice cream!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13Lin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear 13Lin13,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent Spa day. I am so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable and relaxing day; The Alfresco Thermo Space is certainly an asset to Mottram Hall.

We do hope you would choose to return to us again in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

You could list quite a few things in favour of this place; great spa (great relazing atmosphere), golf course adjacent to the hotel, very good service, good quality food, sufficient meeting rooms and also good quality rooms. If you want to play devils advocate the showers don´t match the quality of the hotel, WIFI was tempramental and you need to be ready to walk a bit both inside and out of the hotel. Overall a superb standard though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear J M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and overall Mottram Hall made a good impression on you.

I do apologise you has trouble with the shower and the WIFI, If you would like to discuss this further please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email on isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com and she will be happy to assist you.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at this lovely country hotel for my father in law's 40th wedding anniversary. The bedrooms were spotlessly clean with a comfortable king sized bed and lovely bathroom with powerful shower. By night we sampled the Carrington Grill restaurant where there was a great atmosphere with accommodating staff serving good quality food. It was a special meal and we were especially grateful to the staff for not charging us corkage to drink a bottle of celebratory Dom Perignon. Our bill was over £300 for the meal though :)

Facilities at the hotel are great, the health club with sauna and steam rooms were a welcome addition and the outside jacuzzi was great too.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to go again - despite some idiot shouting outside his bedroom door at about 3am and waking people up- not the hotel's fault though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLochNessMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear TheLochNessMonster,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that you chose to spend such a special occasion here with us and it is great that you were able to enjoy all the facilities; The Alfresco Thermospace is certainty an asset to Mottram Hall.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were attending a wedding reception here so had decided to stay a couple of days beforehand for a restful break. The hotel and grounds are beautiful but all night long the doors on the corridor were slamming and people were knocking on each other's doors! The food in the restaurant is overpriced but well cooked and presented. We found all the staff to be professional and helpful. The wedding reception was lovely and well organised. All in all we had a really nice - though not restful - break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fansofclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear fansofclare,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wedding reception here at Mottram Hall and that you found all the staff helpful throughout your stay. I am very sorry that you were disturbed during the night by other guests in the hotel.

We do hope you would choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews