We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa”
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mottram Hall
Reviewed October 14, 2013

amazing spa, brilliant therapists, wonderful outdoor hottub and steam rooms
thank you for a perfect day again.
i would highly recommend to friends and family
I have been a number of times now with friends and i would love to visit again soon
thank you,
Suzanne England

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suze_England1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Suze_England1979,

Thank you for continuing to revisit Mottram Hall. We are only too pleased that you enjoy our spa facilities. They are undoubtedly a fantastic way to relax and unwind.


We will hopefully see you again soon.


Kind Regards,

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,582)
There are newer reviews for Mottram Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,419 - 1,425 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having just had the best spa day ever I felt I must write and congratulate everyone.As soon as my son Ben and I arrived we were made to feel special and nothing was too much trouble.We had got a spa day deal and at some places that I've been to with deals you are made to feel that you are second class but not at Mottram Hall, the treatments,lunch (which was a fantastic bento box) and staff made it a day to remember.Thank you!

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the bedrooms so can't comment.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1234854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Chris1234854,

Thank you for your comments in regard to your spa day at Mottram Hall. We understand that our leisure club is an asset to us so are only too pleased that you had the opportunity to experience it.

We hope that you are able to return to Mottram Hall in the near future,


Kind Regards,


James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here yesterday as a party of 5 for my friends 30th.. It was amazing.. Our rooms was beautiful.. The staff was very helpful and even helped us with our bags to our rooms.. We waited 5 minutes for breakfast and there was a lot of choice.. While we was waiting the staff couldn't do more to help to bring us tea n coffee while we waited.. Was a lovely environment to be in.. Will deffo be going back but with the husband..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Debbie S,

Thank you for your kind feedback in regard to your recent stay at Mottram Hall. We are so pleased that we were able to make your friends birthday special for your group.

We look forward to your return with your husband.

Kind Regards,


James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Mottram Hall last week-end as a group of 48. Playing golf Saturday and Sunday and staying Saturday.

Lets start with the food, which was pretty bad and well below the standard expected from such an hotel. Though I will admit that the Sunday breakfast served in the Claret Jug was very good, but everything else was awful.

Saturday nights meal was either chicken pie basically chicken soup with a small piece of dry pastry or lasagne, which had been microwaved so much that the pasta was rock hard. We demonstrated this to the staff and almost broke the table. This was only fit for the bin . No apology or acceptance of fault. Surely someone must notice the amount of uneaten food being returned to the kitchen

On Sunday afternoon we arranged soup and sandwiches. This was said to be carrot soup, but was only coloured water. Thin with no taste or seasoning. Again we asked that the manager be called and she refused to try it and vanished without apology or explanation. The sandwiches were made from old bread including sliced thick toast bread. This showed up like 'dockers butties' Hardly what is expected from De Vere. Does anyone check food before it leaves the kitchen?

We showed the young lady that few if any had eaten the soup and there were very many full bowls hardly touched but she just shook her head, vanished and was not seen again.

BAR STAFF in the claret jug

No training as they were basically useless. Stood about and didn't clear tables. No management at all.

Saturday we bought drinks after our round, but they had no change ie only £1 coins, but no £5 or £10 notes. Sunday same problem as no one had gone to get any change. On one occasion the staff at the bar said, We owe you £5 as we have no change. Next round same person forgot that they owed us £5. and we had to remind them.

I would not accept this from a cheap B&B yet you seem to get away with charging high prices for no service and dreadful food.

At a cost of approx. £120 per person plus drinks etc it was an expensive way to learn that this is a hotel to avoid.

PS This has been emails to the De Vere Management

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors are airless
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, General Manager at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Jamie091,

Thank you for providing Mottram Hall with feedback in regard to your recent stay with us. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

As well as your Tripadvisor post, we did receive your correspondence here at Mottram Hall and we will be contacting you in regard to this.


Kind Regards,


James Stewart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location sitting in the middle of a huge golf course. The place is like a maze, interior need re organising, its always a long walk to your room, nice rooms but finishing could be better. Staff are amazing always there to help, however my main concern is the terrible quality of food! Never had a tasty meal there, everything tastes old and flavourless! And also found a hair in my lunch today! Not nice. The golf house also serves bad quality food The pub up the road serves good food, the bulls head

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishtiyaq M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, General Manager at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Biglsh,

Thank you for the feedback you have given in regard to your recent visit to Mottram Hall. I am sorry that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations but am happy to hear that the staff were welcoming and helpful to you.

Your comments in regard to your food have been forwarded to the Head Chef. We appreciate the feedback that you have given and would like discuss this further with you. Please contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email at isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com as giving further information in regard to your experience will help us improve our product.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A great big dollop of overpriced chavy naffness
Snooty staff.
Made to queue for a table at breakfast. Just not good enough.
Massively overpriced drinks, in the bar.
Definitely wouldn't recommend
Won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, General Manager at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Felly28,

Thank you for the comments that you recently posted on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that the property did not meet your expectations and you feel that you would not visit Mottram Hall again. We would like to discuss this with you further and ask that you contact Isara Fraser, Front Office Manager via email at isara.fraser@devere-hotels.com so she can assist you.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went here for a cheeky one night break with my wife early October as birthday treat for her. We got an upgraded room and a bottle of bubbles for her as a birthday gift. Spa facilities great. My wife had te hot stone treatment and could not compliment the health club staff highly enough. We had the standard three course evening meal and again the quality of the food was excellent.

One of the appealing factors for most is that this is in a slightly remote location, which makes you a 'captured client'. So please also be aware that this is a top end De-Vere and you will pay more for food and drink here then you would in most other locations.

We are well travelled and would always highlight any faults or issues, but this was a pleasure.

Well done MH

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, General Manager at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Andy G,

Thank you for your comments in regard to your recent stay here at Mottram Hall. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spa facilities and the evening meal in the Carrington Grill. I am pleased that my team were able to make your wife’s birthday memorable for the both of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall in the near future.


Kind Regards,

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mottram St. Andrew
18.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,207 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
20.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,493 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
382 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Address: Mottram Old Hall Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range: $126 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing