We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mottram Hall
Nearby Hotels
Alderley Edge Hotel(Alderley Edge)
$99
$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bridge Hotel(Prestbury)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legh Arms(Prestbury)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deanwater Hotel(Stockport)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wilmslow Lodge(Wilmslow)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
$48
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,746)
Filter reviews
1,746 results
Traveler rating
794
471
276
130
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
794
471
276
130
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseclaret jugcocktail barspa facilitiesoutdoor jacuzziq hotelsspa breakgolf clubafternoon teaevening meallight lunchgarden roomwedding partylovely spamain restaurantsteam roomset menu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,721 - 1,726 of 1,746 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I booked two rooms at Mottram Hall on a special offer from De Vere following a refurbishment of the hotel and recent reopening. We were accompanied by her parents who are both in their mid 80s. Mottram Hall enjoys a magnificent park setting in a quiet part of Cheshire easily accessible from the M6 motorway. The reception areas of the hotel are impressive and the bar and lounge areas comfortable. The service throughout our stay was exceptional with the staff very willing to help and please. The adjacent championship golf course (attractive but not too testing) and the new and very impressive spa/pool/gym complex were all available to hotel residents. Food in the Carrington Grill was good but although the service was very good it was a little slow at times for elderly diners. Bar facilities were first rate with a good selection of Cuban cigars which could be enjoyed in the terrace/garden areas. The rooms were well equipped if a little small but our 'special offer price' meant that we were allocated the standard rooms. Free WiFi available throughout the complex. All in all very good value and a very comfortable base to explore the Cheshire countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewO168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Andrew O,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the all new 'Mottram Hall’.

It is a delight to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you approve of the recent refurbishment. I am very happy to hear that you made full use of all our facilities including our new very impressive Health Club and Spa; thank you for your comments regarding your dinner within the Carrington Grill I will ensure that this feedback is passed onto the team.

Thank you once again for your kind and valuable feedback, I really hope to welcome you back to Mottram Hall within the near future,

Kind regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Golf break in a large group. Great dinner at The Claret Jug and average breakfast as part of package. Golf course was in good condition, but not memorable or challenging. Decent halfway house. Unhelpful hotel reception staff were sure our room would not be available until 3.30 without willing to check with housekeeping. My 12 year old son was asked to leave pool at 8.50 am as adult time only ended at 9 am. The spa manager felt comfortable behind the rules, without applying discretion that it was only 10 minutes and there were no other adults in the pool. Will therefore not recommend for families.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocP251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear DocP251,

I sincerely apologise that your stay has not meet or exceeded your expectations on this occasion. There are clearly some issues which need addressing with regards to your recent stay with us.

We would really like to talk to you regarding your stay with us and request that you contact Thomas Starey within Guest Relations; you can email him through tom.starey@devere-hotels.com,

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

What was supposed to be a lovely relaxing weekend in a fine hotel with swimming and spa was actually quite stressful and chaotic!
Our room was tiny with only room for 1 bedside cabinet and a tv that didnt work! We complained & were given a much larger room - why weren't we given this one in the first place? Well perhaps because it smelt damp and musty and the carpet was soaking, there must have been a flood from the bathroom. We were moved again, this time they redeemed themselves, they give us a fantastic king suite!!! Sitting room, big bedroom, big bathroom, 2 tv's that worked!! But they moved us whilst we were out so only discovered the room at 2am when we got in and went straight to bed after unpacking our cases yet again!!
We had tried to buy a drink at the bar but a wedding was on and after queuing for 15 mins we gave up!
Breakfast was horrendous! It was so busy we ended up getting cereal and taking it back to our room to eat!
We had a 25 min wait in an extremely busy reception to check out. We queued with loads of other people with cases and bags, there wasn't enough space for us all!!
We didn't get to use the pool or spa facilities as we spent much of our time unpacking, packing, traipsing up and down a rabbit warren of corridors and stairs changing rooms. No lifts here!!
Apart from the king suite the other nice touch was being collected at the car park by someone on a buggy who took our bags and gave us a lift to the hotel - just as well as it was a very long way away!!
Three times we were told they had recently spent over 6 million on this place, I ask - any of it spent on the hotel or did it all go on the golf course and spa? Rusty rails in the bathroom, doors broken and paint all over towel rails seem a little sloppy for my expectations. And we PAID £180 a night to stay here!!! Very disappointed!!!
We did meet other people who were staying here and they were quite happy and had no problems, I don't think we are picky or awkward, maybe we were just unlucky? Nah!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear SueH51,

I sincerely apologise that your stay has not meet or exceeded your expectations on this occasion. There are clearly some issues which need addressing with regards to your recent stay with us.

We would really like to talk to you regarding your stay with us and request that you contact Thomas Starey within Guest Relations; you can email him through tom.starey@devere-hotels.com,

Kind Regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is not cheap but you get what you pay for. The hotel is in excellent condition, having recently undergone a £5 million refurbishment, the rooms are well appointed. Check out is at 11 o clock but the leisure facilities are available to use for the rest of the day. The staff are most welcoming and couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inky497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Inky497,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the all new 'Mottram Hall’.

It is a delight to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you approve of the recent refurbishment.

I really hope to welcome you back to Mottram Hall within the near future,

Kind regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed during Apr 8-11 for a business trip. The room was very spacious. The barhroom was comfortable. The wifi service is complimentary. The breakfast and dinner is good. The gym is just perfect more than expected The facilities are great. The personnel is courteous . I would reccomend it and would stay again. The only cons is that there is no elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor_M751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Victor_M751,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the all new 'Mottram Hall’.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Mottram Hall and you felt that the refurbishments are of excellent quality. Our hotel prides itself on its appearance and hospitality and it is lovely to hear that our guests are enjoying our work.

Thank you once again for your kind and valuable feedback, I really hope to welcome you back to Mottram Hall within the near future,

Kind regards

James Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews