We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value country hotel close to Manchester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mottram Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mottram Hall
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value country hotel close to Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for an evening Manchester United match. First impressions very positive. The hotel is set in a large estate which includes a golf course. Check in handled efficiently in nice surroundings and hotel generally in nice condition following a recent renovation.

Afternoon tea was excellent with very good cakes and scones. Sandwiches a touch agricultural.

Bar service friendly rather than speedy.

Value for money was excellent. Room rate included a first rate buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear David F,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the all new 'Mottram Hall’.

It is a delight to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. I am certain that you will have enjoyed the historic football match; thank you for your valuable feedback regarding our afternoon tea’s this will help improve excellence.

I really hope to welcome you back to Mottram Hall within the near future,

Kind regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    376
    228
    108
    59
See reviews for
245
537
20
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our 6th visit here over the past 12 months, it’s a beautiful tranquil place to come to relax and get pampered
.
The staff in all areas are first class, my wife had a couple of beauty treatments, this was the first time she had tried them here and she was most impressed
.
The new decor throughout the hotel is simply stunning and we can’t wait to get back soon to try the new outside hot tubs.

Food in the restaurant was good and the staff seem to cope very well when busy
.
Big thank you to the lovely Libby in the bar who always make you feel special, her customer skills and knowledge of making cocktails is out of this world
.
I have recommended this hotel to all my friends and family, my children love it here

Room Tip: try and get a suite,very spacious with great views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Darren M,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the all new 'Mottram Hall’. It is great to hear that you enjoyed yourself.

It is a delight to hear that you love coming to stay here with us at Mottram Hall and cannot wait to return. I shall pass your feedback on to Libby within the bar who I am sure will be ecstatic to hear of your feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Mottram Hall within the near future,

Kind regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Mottram hall has been down at heel for years, but recently refurbished, I had high hopes which were not realised, restaurant is absolutely awful, slow service and by the time food is delivered it's dried up and burnt to the plate and very expensive, 22 for a burnt steak, plus 375 each for veg and potatoes per person! PLUS SERVICE CHARGE, nataniel must be a rich man. The standard of hotel they are trying to achieve just doesn't work due to the staff not being up to that level. Rooms were ok, but not to standard of other hotels in cheshire and kids swarming the pool area. Not enough loungers, mostly reserved so no chance to chill out. And finally, since when did mottram move to prestbury, the clue is in the name, mottram hall. Monday to Friday may be better, but forget a weekend break unless you want dire food, which is a total rip off ok accommodation but swarming with kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L9u9c9y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear L9u9c9y,

I sincerely apologise that your stay has not met or exceeded your expectations on this occasion. There are clearly some issues which need addressing with regards to your experience within the restaurant and also within the health club and spa.

We would really like to talk to you regarding your recent stay with us and request that you contact Thomas Starey within Guest Relations; you can email him through tom.starey@devere-hotels.com,

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the food they provide is good. However the temperature of the room was too hot and there was no way to regulate this. The only option was to have the window open and as the staff were emptying the bottle bins from the night before, we were woken far earlier then we wanted to. At about 8am we were woken by the sound of smashing glass. We tried to get back to sleep, but then there was a delivery of beer barrels and all this took place just outside our window. It could have been a magical stay if it wasn't for this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottramHall, Managing Director at Mottram Hall, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Robert K

I sincerely apologise that your stay has not met or exceeded your expectations on this occasion. There are clearly some issues which need addressing with regards to the temperature regulators within your room and the noise which took place outside your window during the night.

We would really like to talk to you regarding your recent stay with us and request that you contact Thomas Starey within Guest Relations; you can email him through tom.starey@devere-hotels.com,

Kind Regards

James Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mottram St. Andrew
18.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
16.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mottram Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mottram Hall

Property: Mottram Hall
Address: Mottram Old Hall Wilmslow Road, Mottram St. Andrew SK10 4QT, England (Formerly De Vere Mottram Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Mottram St. Andrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mottram St. Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mottram Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed, Refined, Ready and Waiting.There's nowhere quite like it in Cheshire. The NEW Mottram takes its rightful place as Cheshire's finest golf and leisure resort. Play Championship standard golf all year round and relax in the brand new Claret Jug Clubhouse. Chill-out or work-out in the new state-of-the-art Mottram Hall Club & Spa. Dine on amazing local delicacies and reinventions of fine dining classics courtesy of new Executive Chef Ross Bootland. Finally retire blissfully to the beautifully appointed new style rooms and experience a new level of upgrades with a Chambre Unique bedroom. NEW is very much the order of the day. When it comes to dining, golf or relaxation, you should try something new too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mottram Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Mottram Hall Hotel Mottram St. Andrew
De Vere Collection
Mottram Hall Mottram St. Andrew, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing