We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Assessment visit to the Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maekok River Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaton
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Assessment visit to the Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

As boutique travel company from India -we were keen to earmark some properties for our premium Indian guests. In Thaton we have enlisted only one - MRV Resort. Very happy to meet Bryan and see the myriad activities that are enabled. Bryan has a background that is eminently suitable for School Excursions and outdoors activities. We plan to take some of our clients to MRVR sometime soon.
Manoj Keshwar. Viktorianz.com. Delhi, India.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoj-Keshwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Manoj,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. We are delighted you were so taken with the resort and the adjacent outdoor education centre and look forward to welcoming your guests here in the future. I trust when readers read your review alongside the other 140 'Excellents' they may consider the previous review something rather bizarre (I say politely)

Best wishes from the MRVR team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    70
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
143
133
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were shocked with the service we got at this hotel. We booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children on the phone. When we arrived at the hotel, they simply told us that the room they booked for us would be very noisy and that we could not eat in their restaurant... The manager was too busy to even talked to us and we were simply kicked out, even though we had booked on the phone. It was 6pm and we were stuck in the area with no hotel and two children. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank corinne x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
It is regrettable that this situation occurred but I feel I must respond.
The implication is that we had a booking for this family. This was not the case. The whole resort had been booked 9 months earlier for a wedding and so our staff knew that we could not take any further bookings. The reviewer phoned from a nearby hotel where they indeed had a booking and in an e mail of complaint to the hotel, the reviewer states that ‘One of your staff told us that there was space in the hotel and we could eat in your restaurant’. I leave it to the reader to consider, ‘Do people on making a hotel booking really also ask if they can eat in the restaurant?’ and thus leads one to wonder generally at the accuracy of this review.
I think there may have been some misunderstanding due to language issues during the phone call, because about 10 minutes later they suddenly arrived as they obviously thought we did indeed have rooms available. But as was explained on arrival, the resort was closed to all bookings as a large wedding function was taking place. Failing to mention in the review the reason why we could not give them a room, is an important omission.
As a result of the wedding, the restaurant was being used for the wedding reception and party and it was also explained that there would be a noisy band and disco until very late. So I am sure readers can see why we would not want to release one of the few vacant rooms. And anyway, one would have thought on being told this, they would have chosen not to stay anyway!!
I can imagine the reviewer being rightfully furious if they had booked a room, only to find that their stay was to be severely disrupted by noise and the unavailability of the restaurant. But as I mention again, no booking had been made.
As to being ‘stuck in the area with no hotel and two children’, what the reviewer also failed to mention was that they had been booked into another hotel in the village and chose not to stay (presumably because it was unsatisfactory). So I am afraid to blame us for their predicament is rather unfair as the situation here was really of their own making. So Corinne, using terms such as you ‘kicked out’ apart from not being true, is rather emotive I feel.
As for the Manager being too busy to talk….that is the one element of truth in this review. But we were in the middle of organising a major wedding function, and anyway I would not have made any other decision than that which was communicated to this reviewer by my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have been visiting Thaton over a 8 year period always staying at the Maekok River Village resort. You always get a warm welcome form hosts Bryan and Rosie and their very friendly staff. I took my wife with me on a recent trip and she was enchanted with the resort. You could not want a more attractive location and the grounds are beatifully designed and over the years have matured. it was a real pleasure to wander through the resort and take in the views of the river and the excellent facilities. The rooms are spacious and the value for money is unsurpassed. The food is amazing and i particularly recommend the North Thai and Burmese dishes. Nothing is too much trouble and Thaton is an excellent location to explore this region of Northern Thailand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Gwyn,

Many thanks for this very kind review and hope to see you over the next 8 years! What readers might be interested to know is the reason for Gwyn's multiple visits which he 'humbly' failed to mention. Following his first visit and learning of our community programmes, Gwyn organised fund raising in the school where he taught in the UK, and brought several groups of students to build four new classrooms, a canteen, a toilet block and a new library in one of our local hilltribe schools. A total value of over US$30 000.00 was raised in the UK and this has made a huge difference to the school in question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Few minutes after we had mentioned à wish or desire it was already arranged. À privat trip to the Golden Triangle, à mountainbike to enjoy the countryside and even à trip in à longboat to Chiang Rai when Everyone else said that that was impossible (too low water). Beautiful gardens, friendly staff, in short: perfect!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Many thanks for this review and delighted you enjoyed the experience and that you managed to get to Chiang Rai. Always a bit of an issue at this time of year. We enjoyed meeting you and chatting. We do enjoy trying to make all our guests as welcome as possible and to satisfy their requests wherever possible and so it is very nice to read that this is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThaTon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were two families holidaying together with 5 kids aged 8 to 13yo. Maekok River Village resort was easy to book, to make plans and flexible with rearrangements. The family rooms were ideal for us. There were toys in the room which were enjoyed by the girls (8 and 9 yo) when we were in the rooms - which was not often because there was so many other fun activities to get on with - climbing, high-ropes, archery, kayaking, Thai-cooking class ...all with trained instructors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We continue to be delighted with the response from families which stay. Having travelled with young children (many moons ago!) and having to find continuous entertainment for them, we decided to make this a truly family-friendly resort, particularly so that the whole family can enjoy activities together. So we have gone well beyond 'a chlldren's pool and a playroom' which seems to be what most family-friendly resorts think is all that is needed. It is thus very satisfying to see Mum and Dad, and the kids all having a go on the archery range, the climbing wall or cooking a Thai meal together. And also satisfying to know that it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A real blessing after 2 full days in the Golden Triangle. We hadn't booked and were only due to have lunch, but once we got here all our plans flew to the wind and we had 24 hours of pure relaxation, enjoying the garden, a river boat ride for sun set and an early morning bike ride to the Burmese border. We WILL return. Thank you to Brian & Rosy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CZHK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to add a review. We were delighted that you managed to persuade your guide to change plans and that you extended lunch by 24 hours!! We often hear lunchtime guests also asking their guides similarly, and so it was great that in your case this happened. We enjoyed our conversations about Hong Kong, and look forward to seeing you again and giving you the opportunity to experience many of the other activities we have on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Maekok strikes a wonderful balance providing a beautiful haven for the traveller and supporting the local community. The rooms are well equipped and tastefully furnished. Do make the most of the organised personal tours - I was stopping over on a business trip and managed to pack in so many different experiences - river boat trips/hiking and kayaking that it felt like I was there for much longer. Staff all incredibly gracious. Food very good and gardens a lovely retreat. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Cathy,
Many thanks for this kind review. We are firm believers in working closely with the local community and apart from the numerous improvement projects carried out in local schools through our visiting schools programme, we have now organised sponsorship to allow 20 local students to remain in education. And indeed, several guests have provided funds to allow this to happen. But I would also like to 'publicly' thank you for the GBP 400 donation to the local family to help them rebuild their burned down house. What a huge difference that has made to them.
We do hope to see you here again if you could manage another 'side trip'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaton
0.0 mi away
Khunyuw Hotel
Khunyuw Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fang City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
24.2 mi away
Angkhang Nature Resort
Angkhang Nature Resort
#1 of 3 in Fang City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thaton Hill Resort
Thaton Hill Resort
#2 of 2 in Mae Ai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Khun Mai Baan Suan Resort
0.7 mi away
Saranya River House
Saranya River House
#1 of 2 in Thaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phumanee Home Hotel
Phumanee Home Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fang City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maekok River Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maekok River Village Resort

Property: Maekok River Village Resort
Address: Huay Nam Yen, Thaton 50280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Thaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maekok River Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is idyllically located on the banks of the Mae Kok River with sweeping views across the valley to the distance forested mountains. The peaceful, rural setting makes an ideal getaway for those wanting to escape the usual city tourist traps. The rooms are beautifully designed and the views from almost every part of the resort are stunning. There are numerous activities, tours and treks, which makes this a perfect location to explore the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maekok River Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maekok River Village Hotel Mae Ai
Hotel Maekok River Village
Maekok River Village Resort Thaton, Thailand - Chiang Mai Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing