We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maekok River Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a couple of fantastic days at the Maekok River village resort. We were a bit anxious when we arrived as the resort only had 3 stars!!!! but truely they deserve 3 more!!!. The bungalows are simply exellent, clean and comfortable, and the surroundings are wonderful, you feel like walking in a flowerpark.
The staff is very friendly and serviceminded and the restaurant served the most delicious food. All in all you could just feel stress and worriessimply fade away within even a few hours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7700Jutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, General Manager at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for such a pleasing review and of course delighted that you think we are worth an extra few stars! We think that as well! So many recent reviews have been very complimentary and these comments continue to give our staff great satisfaction. Of course it is not possible to please 'All the people all the time' in the words of Abe Lincoln, hence a recent 'terrible' review. From this review, we have learned that maybe we should offer an extra mattress to guests weighing more than 125 kg!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 395 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were so surprised and delighted when we arrived at the Maekok River Resort. The quality of the accommodation is second to none and we received a very warm, informative welcome from the owner himself. Bryan is very knowledgeable about the area and he makes sure he personally communicates with every customer. It was evident even though we were there for New Year's Eve, a very busy time of the year.
We chose the family room as there were five of us, and it was very comfortable and private despite the two rooms communicating. There was a pleasant terrace with a great view. The resort is very relaxing, clean and modern.
We really enjoyed the food as well, breakfast is a copious buffet and there is also a good buffet for lunch.
The area is beautiful and we liked it much better than Chiang Rai itself. There were lots of things to do at the resort itself, and we used the climbing wall several times (there were instructors available as there were no groups staying when we were). We also visited the surroundings, which were stunning, and went to a village at the top of a mountain. It was a unique experience. We had our own car but I believe excursions can be organised from the resort too.
All in all, although we live in Thailand and have stayed in dozens of hotels and resorts, this was one of the best places we have found so far and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 121Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a fantastic few days with Bryan and his team at the Maekok River Village Resort. The whole experience was outstanding. Bryan and Rosie have truly encapsulated the true Thai experience right from the beginning of our stay we were made to feel complacently at home and once settled in there is a brilliant array of trips and excursions available to suite all your needs. All of the staff are so polite and helpful and the chiefs offer an amazing menu all cooked to perfection. The room we had was so nice with a lovely view out from the veranda over the Maekok River towards the mountains. An brilliant stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here at the end of February and had a wonderful time. Our bungalow was clean, comfortable and had lovely views over the garden and Maekok river. It is very well kept and a lot of time has been spent in making a little oasis in the north part of Thailand. The gardens are amazing with many different areas to sit and read or just relax. Lovely pool area, bar and restaurant.
Very helpful staff. We went on several organised trips which included a mini bus and long tail boats into the surrounding villages and rice fields. A real insight into this part of Thailand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with it's own garden overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bathspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a delightful resort. Bryan Massingham, the owner, is extremely friendly and helpful. We did not meet his wife Rosie, who was away in UK, but Bryan tells me that she is the brains behind the beautiful landscaping and garden. The latter a burst of brilliant colours - a delight to wander through or to sit in the many benches to admire. We had a perfect chalet on the edge of the river with a veranda covered by cascading Bougainvillea. The staff are extremely smiling, friendly and helpful. The food served in the restaurant is first class offering a wide variety of cuisine from European to Indian, Thai, Northern Thai and Burmese. Thai massage is available - I commend Demi, one of the Reception staff. Many trips are on offer to cover all tastes and fitness. We took Bryan's recommendations for visits to border tribes and Royal Project gardens. We also enjoyed the 3 hour trip in a long-tailed boat down the Maekok river, passing an elephant sanctuary offering rides, to Chiang Rai. We did not make use of the Fitness Center or Spa. Finally I cannot recommend this resort more highly.

Room Tip: We liked the single chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We chose this resort as the expensive enclaves near Bangkok seemed overpriced and unreal. Maekok River Village Resort exudes an understated colonial-Thai charm. We were travelling with two young children and enjoyed ordering room service at night after we had put them to bed... on our private verandah in the moonlight looking over the gardens and river (with room service and the children tucked up safely in bed) . We booked interconnecting rooms which were spotless with a relaxed rural Thai feel. The food is excellent - we did not have a bad meal (Thai, Burmese, Chinese and Western). A range of activities are available including trips in a longboat to the Burmese border, treks visiting Hill Tribes, elephant treks, temple visits, hot springs, Thai cooking classes, or just pottering around the rural villages and visiting the school. The owners, Bryan and Rosie, contribute meaningfully to the community of Thaton which is recognised by the dedicated staff. We stayed for more than a week and loved every minute!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

"A little bit of heaven in Northern Thailand"

We recently spent six nights at MRVR and what a great place to stay. The accommodation was bright, airy and very comfortable with lovely personal touches such as fresh flowers in the room and a plate of fresh fruit in the fridge on arrival. There was even freshly ground coffee as well as regular coffee and a range of teas available.

The accommodation sits in harmony with the beautiful grounds that have been creatively designed for guests and visitors to enjoy, with pathways taking you through the lovely gardens to a number of areas where you can sit and relax. The beautiful planting of flowers and shrubs is extremely well maintained by the garden team.

The beauty of this location is that you can be as active or as relaxed as you wish. The friendly and very helpful staff at MRVR tailor made and organised all our day trips from the resort and there was still plenty of time to enjoy lazing by the pool. We also managed to fit in a half day Thai cookery course with one of the resort's chefs, an archery session in the activity centre, as well as indulge in a manicure and a massage.

It was lovely to be able to walk through the gardens on the way to Aod's bar for a pre-dinner drink before walking upstairs to the restaurant. There was something on the menu for everyone; Western food for the less adventurous and local Thai and Burmese food for those willing to embrace the experience. All the food was excellent.

We received a very warm welcome from everyone at MRVR and the owners, along with their staff, clearly place great importance on the welfare of their guests to ensure as enjoyable a stay as possible. We would return in a heartbeat and wish Bryan and Rosie continued success for the future.

'Til we meet again, and thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJDG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaton
24.2 mi away
Angkhang Nature Resort
Angkhang Nature Resort
#1 of 3 in Fang City
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaton Hill Resort
Thaton Hill Resort
#2 of 3 in Mae Ai
17 reviews
14.2 mi away
Phumanee Home Hotel
Phumanee Home Hotel
#5 of 9 in Fang City
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Khun Mai Baan Suan Resort
0.4 mi away
Old Tree's House
Old Tree's House
#1 of 5 in Mae Ai
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Viengkaew Resort
Viengkaew Resort
#2 of 9 in Fang City
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maekok River Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maekok River Village Resort

Address: Huay Nam Yen, Thaton 50280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Thaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaton
Price Range: $99 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maekok River Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is idyllically located on the banks of the Mae Kok River with sweeping views across the valley to the distance forested mountains. The peaceful, rural setting makes an ideal getaway for those wanting to escape the usual city tourist traps. The rooms are beautifully designed and the views from almost every part of the resort are stunning. There are numerous activities, tours and treks, which makes this a perfect location to explore the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maekok River Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maekok River Village Hotel Mae Ai
Hotel Maekok River Village
Maekok River Village Resort Thaton, Thailand - Chiang Mai Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing