We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST OF THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maekok River Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were only able to stay here one night, and wished we could have stayed a week.
We did not see the town but enjoyed everything at the resort immensely. The setting is perfect, with many bushes loaded with birds. Our little haven of a room had an outside sitting area.The river is a great place for boat rides. Excellent and reasonable spa services in the room are available. We've had massages all over the world, and these were terrific. the owners have created a mileu for staff to be happy and grow. the restaurant is very relaxed with great views. There is much to do here for all ages. we wish we lived a little bit closer, so we could visit often. One day we shall return.
We did not use the fitness center.
Nanab

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Nana,

Thanks for this and for your description 'Best of the best'. That has certainly set a standard which we will have to continue to work very hard at to maintain! We continue to feel very pleased indeed by yours' and others' comments and in particular references to our hard-working staff who help so much to provide our guests with the type of experience that you had. We do hope to see you here again and for a period longer than a night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 393 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We travel quite frequently to Thaton to visit friends and were sad to see the Thaton Chalet close this year - though not the same quality as the MRVR it was cheaper and convenient to the river area.
This year we stayed at the MRVR and it was lovely. The grounds are beautiful and Bryan and Rosie keep everything running well - to the standard expected by foreign travelers but totally plugged into the Thai environment. Very friendly staff in the dining room and good service. Easy to see how they earned top ratings from Trip Advisor reviewers!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sndaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I went here on a School Trip in April and it was so amazing with all the instructors and the other students who made it fun, there was lots of fun activities to do when at the resort, if I were to go back to MRVR, I would!!
Yours sincerely,
Ollie

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Ollie.
Thanks for this review. I am delighted you had a memorable time and maybe see you again! For readers who maybe have a 'different view' of student groups coming to the MRVR, be assured they have accommodation in a separate student centre!
Many of these groups come to carry out improvement projects in our local schools, and to date, visiting school groups have raised Baht 14 million for such projects. They do wonderful work and their contribution to the local schools and local economy is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I had booked three nights here but we quickly decided to extend it to five. The place is so beautiful with a view from the pool that is simply unbelievable. Bryan and Rosie are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The garden is a magical hybrid of Thai and English. I think one thing that we really appreciated was the way that Bryan and Rosie are integrated into the local community and making a difference through their outdoor education centre to the lives of the local people. This means you can relax and enjoy the lovely surroundings without any feeling of guilt. We had several great trips out but the boat trip down the Maekok to Chiang Rai was the highlight - do this! I also had one of the best Thai massages ever. We would love to go back and if you are lucky enough to be in the area, go! I am very fussy and I loved it - you will too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77Fiona77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRThailand, Owner at Maekok River Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks so much for taking time to write this review. It seems to encompass and reflect the same views of the majority of our guests, particularly the most recent reviewers. We are pleased that so many more guests are staying for longer periods and making use of our facilities, enjoying the gardens and taking local tours, hikes and bike rides in this fascinating and beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Maekok River Resort which we visited with our 2 children and with my parents. Already before arriving, Bryan answered all our email related questions personally and at the speed of light, which was extremely appreciated.

Him and Rosie are very friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is located in a beautiful environment with an immaculate garden right by the river; and the personalized attention to details is perhaps what is most striking, such as with kids slippers and toys in their room.

The outings were full of excitement too. We enjoyed kayaking on the river with Chon, our fun tour guide and learned a great deal from him at the Karen village.

Also, we were so impressed by the separate, schools retreat facilities on the other side of the hotel.

It was a great trip. Highly recommended!

Matthieu and Yvonne Cognac

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthieuCognac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I’m glad we stayed 5 days; it meant that my two children (7 &10), my wife and I could make the most of what the MaeKok River Resort and Northern Thailand has to offer. My wife managed to read two books (previously unheard of on holiday) and enjoyed the Thai cooking course; my boys loved the resort’s high ropes course, archery, kayaking, rock climbing wall and confidence course and their enthusiastic supervisors just added to the fun and being a bit of a keen golfer I managed to squeeze in a sneaky game at the stunning Waterford course.

Cycling through the surrounding fields opened our eyes to what working life was like for the farmers of Tha Thon who were busy growing garlic, oranges and harvesting corn. My eldest challenged me to cycle to the ‘9th level’ of a religious mountain and though I reached the top but perhaps not enlightenment, I certainly felt fitter (I think) and saw Burma!

If you stay at this lovely resort do try the Shan food; if you’re not into spicy food they do a great egg, chips, sausage and baked beans.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

During an extensive trip through North Thailand we had the privilege to stay at Maekok River Village Resort. This was definitely an extraordinary pleasant experience. As a gardening freak, I know what it needs to create, maintain and permanently reproduce such an amazing environment.

The service at the restaurant is extremely friendly and the choice of dinner meals is attractive. Since there was no breakfast buffet we had breakfast à la carte. With enough time and willingness to explain our wishes, the very friendly staff intuitively managed to bring it to a happy end.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaton
0.0 mi away
Khunyuw Hotel
Khunyuw Hotel
#2 of 3 in Fang City
7 reviews
24.2 mi away
Angkhang Nature Resort
Angkhang Nature Resort
#1 of 3 in Fang City
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Khun Mai Baan Suan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Thaton Hill Resort
Thaton Hill Resort
#2 of 3 in Mae Ai
17 reviews
14.4 mi away
Phumanee Home Hotel
Phumanee Home Hotel
#5 of 9 in Fang City
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Viengkaew Resort
Viengkaew Resort
#4 of 9 in Fang City
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maekok River Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maekok River Village Resort

Address: Huay Nam Yen, Thaton 50280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Thaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaton
Price Range: $85 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maekok River Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is idyllically located on the banks of the Mae Kok River with sweeping views across the valley to the distance forested mountains. The peaceful, rural setting makes an ideal getaway for those wanting to escape the usual city tourist traps. The rooms are beautifully designed and the views from almost every part of the resort are stunning. There are numerous activities, tours and treks, which makes this a perfect location to explore the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Maekok River Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maekok River Village Hotel Mae Ai
Hotel Maekok River Village
Maekok River Village Resort Thaton, Thailand - Chiang Mai Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing