We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Le Fitou : Perfect French Gite experience in a...”
other travelers have booked this property
Winemaker's House and Le Fitou Gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Winemaker's House and Le Fitou Gite
View from Le Fitou master bedroom Le Fitou front entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Winemaker's House and Le Fitou Gite
View from Le Fitou master bedroom
Le Fitou front entrance
Le Fitou sitting room
Le Fitou sitting room
Le Fitou kitchen
Le Fitou dining room
View from dining room
Master bedroom en suite
Twin room 1
Twin room 2
Bathroom shared by the twin rooms
Main pool and garden
Main pool at night
Bridge over canal du Midi at Le Somail, a nearby village within walking distance
Canal du Midi
Roquebrun - beautiful village and mecca for kayaking on River Orb
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mirepeisset, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Janine R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Le Fitou : Perfect French Gite experience in a lovely location”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned from a wonderful week spent in the Aude region of the Languedoc .
Le Fitou is a traditional French gite with a large pool, sun beds and well kept garden situated in a small village location near to the Canal Midi and the beautiful historic towns of Narbonne and Carcassonne. One of my memories will be waking up with the sunshine gleaming ,overlooking the garden and pool and listening to the church bells ringing. Roger and Jane the owners are fantastic friendly hosts; they have researched the local area and subsequently know the best places to visit including restaurants, beaches and historic villages.
We have stayed in many gites and villas during the last 10 years in France and I must say the welcome pack was the best ever.! Thank you.
We'll visit again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Many thanks. It was a real pleasure to have you as guests. We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg60
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A marvellous place”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We (mum, dad plus sons 18 and 20) spent a wonderful 2 weeks at Le Fitou. We became 5 when joined by a son's friend in the second week. More than enough space and very comfortable- large living room with adjacent, well equipped, kitchen and dining room. We didn't use the dining room much, as we tended to eat on the shaded patio table just outside the kitchen, beyond which was a large, clean and essential (it was very hot) swimming pool within a beautiful garden. 3 good sized and comfortable bedrooms equipped with fans (essential at night). We loved it. Our hosts, Roger and Jane, could not have been more kind and helpful. They were full of information about the local area (places to visit, good restaurants, the best beaches, parking in nearby towns) which is so useful when you only have 2 precious weeks' of holiday. The location was perfect. So many interesting places to visit within an hour's drive. The furthest we travelled was to beautiful Montpellier, which took about an hour, but Beziers and Narbonne could be reached within 30 mins or so). Carcasonne about 45 mins. Memories will include: the village annual fancy dress barge race; boating on the canal; drinking with the locals at the nearby woodland bar; walking by the river to a beautiful nearby village called Le Somail (you must eat at the restaurant next to the second hand bookshop- Roger and Jane will give you the details); swimming in nearby rivers; wine tasting (if you throw a stone here, you will hit a vineyard); the boys and dad being pulled behind a speed boat at the nearby beach; eating grilled sardines and drinking wine at the beach restaraunt; 10km kayak ride (fantastic!); opening the shutters every morning to perfect weather. Thank you again to Jane and Roger for stocking our fridge with a few essentials prior to arrival. So kind. We will return!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
We are delighted you had a good time. Many thanks and see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Super gite in a lovely village”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a fabulous two weeks in this lovely place.
The gite is very clean and well equipped, with a generous supply of groceries/consumables so no need to rush to the supermarket on arrival. Superb pool!
Roger and Jane are very welcoming hosts with a good knowledge of the area.
The village is lovely. Walking to the shop for fresh croissants every morning is a pleasure when you are openly greeted by local residents.
There are so many places to visit within easy travelling distance and also a great selection of eateries in the area.
Looking forward to returning soon.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2017
It was a real pleasure to have you to stay. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global559...
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Ideally situated for the region - coast and country. Lovely hosts and accommodation. We could not have been more pleased.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect gite, hosts and location.”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week in this lovely French house in a village with everything you need. The house is tastfully furnished, well equipped and comfortable. The owners, Roger and Jane are really welcoming and helpful.
The shared pool is great, in an attractive garden. You have a friendly shop and restaurant just minutes walk away. A perfect French village in a fascinating area. Thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Frenchness of it all.
Liked least: Leaving to go home.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenA58...
Bar Hill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fun in Le Fitou”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd visit to Le Fitou and it was as good as we remembered! It is a really lovely Gite, in a picturesque typically French village, spotlessly clean and very well equipped, with a fabulous pool.
A perfect place from which to explore all the area has to offer.
Roger and Jane are the perfect hosts, discreet but always on hand with their recommendation of a good restaurant, or a place to visit, and to share their knowledge of the local area.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts, the property, the area!
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
It was great to see you all again. Until next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebnlil
Eastbourne
2 reviews
“Idyllic gite in perfect surroundings”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

From the wrought iron gates, pebble drive and bougainvillea to the gites and garden with pool le fitou is perfect to relax in the French surroundings. The village has all you might need: a store for fresh bread and two tavernas. Nearby there are rivers for canoeing, towns perched on cliffs and wonderful beaches. And of course , not to forget the vineyards and superb restaurants . Go!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Many thanks. It was a pleasure. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing