We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Souqueto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Souqueto
Ranked #2 of 2 Mirepeisset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I am not usually prone to writing reviews but I had to put virtual pen to paper after spending five wonderful days and nights at La Souqueto. We have not been to this part of France before and so were excited as to what it would be like. So, what did we find? The answer was a bit of everything for everbody. La Souqueto itself is a stunningly converted four storey house with character oozing from every wall. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bed was so comfortable that siestas were a late afternoon essential! Jon and Mel (not forgetting Jasper) were the perfect hosts with good knowledge of the area, excellent breakfasts and great recommendations as to where to eat.
So, what did we do? There was 10 kilometre kayaking on a local river through a gorge with the best scenery (with small sections of white water to make life interesting!). For the beginners, you also do a 5k course and for the more adventurous, there was a 15k version; there was the incredible village of Minerve and the walks from there down into the gorge where we swam in the many rock pools-perfect to cool off; there was the beach at Narbonne with literally the warmest sea I have ever been in and, of course, not forgetting the spring-fed river not two minutes walk from La Souqueto which is clear as a bell and deep enough to swim and dive into. All this plus the canal (and the tapas bar) just a short walk away, made this a truly memorable stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
108
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Eutrope de Born, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not only is La Souqueto the perfect place to explore the local area, with rivers, gorges, springs, and The Med close by, it also is one of the most comfortable and welcoming places we have ever stayed. It's clean, comfortable and has a wonderfully relaxed ambience, helped along with a generous dash of attention to detail. We could not fail to be impressed. Thank you to everyone for making our stay so memorable and highly recommendable.

Room Tip: Quiet village location so each room was quiet and delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have had such fun staying at La Souqueto with John, Mel and Jasper. A beautiful room, and wonderful hospitality from our hosts, coupled with such an important intangible ( a great sense of humour!) has made our stay here hugely enjoyable. We've enjoyed some super walks ending in cooling dips in the river, great food and wine at La Taverne and Anais, and an unforgettable Bastille night celebration with the whole village. Thank you all for making us so very welcome!

Best wishes and good luck!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeGrandTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Do yourself a favour and visit the no less than amazing La Souqueto. If you want to experience a wonderful, magical, unique piece of France, then this is the place for you!! Where do I start???

Why did I choose La Souqueto? My partner and I wanted to immerse ourself in the culture of a little, quaint town in France. We didn't want touristy, we wanted simple, rustic, genuine French culture and I wanted to take some cooking lessons. I jumped on Trip Advisor and searched for B&B's in the Languedoc. La Souqueto had nothing but amazing reviews, particularly about its owner Petra and her infectious offsider - the singing, whistling Robert. Since I had found Trip Advisor to be very reliable in the past I emailed Petra and made a booking straight away - it sounded too good to be true and we didn't want to miss out! We weren't disappointed with our week at La Souqueto.

Petra, the owner - what an extraordinarily charming, intelligent, vivacious woman. We instantly fell in love with her. It felt like we were at home and part of the family, but we were also given our privacy too. Petra has such great knowledge of the surrounding area - she was always recommending places to visit and would sit with us to organise our day trips. She had plenty of entertaining stories too!

The B&B - We felt like we were staying at one of those places you see in magazines - picture perfect. Our room was simple, yet so beautifully decorated - quintessentially French! Our room was very spacious and it had an ensuite. Everything was impeccably clean (a huge plus) and each afternoon when we returned from our day out, our room looked brand new again. Another huge plus was the comfort of our bed - a rare find when on holiday! All amenities one could need were all available.

The Food - for a foodie you couldn't find any better than this. Petra and Robert provided the most delicious breakfasts each day. Home made jams, local cheeses and meats, fresh fruit and smoothies. And I can't forget the warm, freshly baked baguettes and croissants that Robert went to collect every morning from the little shop around the corner.
Another reason we chose La Souqueto was for the cooking demonstrations/classes that Petra offers. She is remarkable in the kitchen. We were taught how to make many classic dishes and we always had a glass of local bubbles in our hand. The interactive cooking classes suited all sorts - beginners to wannabe chefs (like me). Petra is a wonderful teacher and we were taught how to be creative in the kitchen and more importantly, how to work with what you've got.

As part of the cooking demonstration package Petra took us shopping for our fresh produce in the markets in nearby Narbonne - I was in heaven. It would have to be one of the best food markets I have ever been too. Another side trip took us to a local goat farm where we were able to watch the goats be milked, including getting to try some warm, fresh goat milk. I scan still taste the sticky sweetness on my lips. We tried many types of goats cheese and were given a thorough explanation of the working's of a goat farm from the lovely owners.

A highlight for me, by far, was our cruise along the Canal du Midi, (which was also included in the cooking demonstration package). The weather was perfect, warm and sunny with a slight breeze. We meandered along the canal, passing under the canopy of the Plane tress and through the canal locks. What topped off this day was the sumptuous picnic that Petra prepared for our group. Once we hopped off the boat, the picnic was awaiting us. The food was to die for and there were bottomless glasses of lovely, local rose, white and red wine for us to enjoy on the bank of the canal. Once again, we were all entertained by Petra and her stories.

Stumbling upon La Souqueto was a blessing and we truly feel enriched by the whole experience. Its very rare to find something that exceeds all your expectations. We booked for 7 nights, begged and managed to stay 8, and wanted to stay another 3 when we heard some of the Gypsy Kings were coming to stay at La Souqueto the day we were leaving. But alas, it was fully booked for weeks to come. Despite being sad when we had to leave, the upside was that we knew we would return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

La Souqueto is the perfectly placed B&B for our family...1 minute walk to a spring fed river to swim in,15 mins to the coast, 20 mins walk to the beautiful Canal Du Midi, 20 mins to the hills and 3 hours drive to Barcelona!!
We had a wonderful room that felt more like a country house hotel suite than a B&B.
Outstanding!

Room Tip: Amele was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Absolutely charming! We stayed 3 nights at La Souqueto, and it was the highlight of our trip.
Petra's enthusiasm, knowledge, and delightful personality made our time in the area wonderfully charming. Petra assisted us in planning both walking and driving trips. We easily walked along a beautiful trail to the Le Canal Du Midi, where there was a place to get wine and light plates while sitting and watching the boats in the canal. Petra also directed us to the town of Minerve, where we had an incredible meal at Relais Chantovent. Then the following day she suggested visiting town of Gruissan, its salt flats and another wonderful restaurant, La Cambuse du saunier. All these unique and sensual places were easily reached within half an hour or so from the B & B. Incredible!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 419Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a real find. We stayed for 4 nights during a very hot spell in August 2012. La Souqueto is really special. We stayed in the large double room (Emelie) with the wonderful ensuite with a walk in shower. Our teenage children stayed in the twin (Isolde) with a beautiful bathroom across the hall with a curtain to make it a private suite. Petra and Robert are perfect hosts - warm and welcoming. Fantastic breakfasts each morning with lots of freshly made dishes by Petra - home made goats cheese, peach tart, bread and butter pudding. They also spent a lot of time giving us great suggestions for day trips that you will not find in any guide book including booking us into fantasic restaurants for lunch (one at Minerve literally over the Gorge, another literally next to the Canal du Midi at Le Somail before a boat trip) and for dinner (at the lovely Taverne next door). Petra has thought of every possible comfort - fluffy towels, lovely toiletries, an extensive library, beautiful decor. We made much use of the river behind the house, swimming every morning and cooling off in the early evening. It is hard to think of a more idilic place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirepeisset
0.7 mi away
La Bastide Cabezac
La Bastide Cabezac
#1 of 1 in Bize-Minervois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
8.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
16.8 mi away
L'Hotel Particulier
L'Hotel Particulier
#1 of 30 in Beziers
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Sainte-Helene Chambres d'Hotes
2.6 mi away
Le Bobo
Le Bobo
#2 of 4 in Bize-Minervois
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.1 mi away
Les Volets Bleus
Les Volets Bleus
#1 of 3 in Salleles-d'Aude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Souqueto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Souqueto

Property: La Souqueto
Address: 6 impasse D Occitanie | entrance on Rue de la Rigole (to the right of the village restaurant La Taverne), 11120 Mirepeisset, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Mirepeisset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mirepeisset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Souqueto, an award winning B&B, is a sensitively restored town house situated in the centre of a quiet, medieval village in the heart of the Languedoc! We are situated 40 minutes from both Carcassonne and Beziers airports but our region boasts over 5 airports. We accommodate couples or groups (up to 10 persons) looking to explore this beautiful region of France. Take a cruise (or sleep) on our Classic boat Bella Mia on the Canal du midi, a few minutes walk from our back door, swim in the crystal clear water of the river Cesse behind the house or head for the wonderful beaches on The Med, only 30 mins from the village. We are surrounded by vineyards and wine Caves for wine tasting and if it's food you have come to sample we know some the the very best, yet cost effective restaurants to eat at. Our village car park (a few seconds from our B&B) offers FREE parking. Our village restaurant and village shop is next door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Souqueto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing