We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Luostotunturi
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luosto
Certificate of Excellence
Indonesia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable cottages”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights hoping to see the Northern lights, but unfortunately, to no avail. The cottages were very nice and comfortable though, everything worked perfectly and they have a good breakfast buffet. We definitely enjoyed our stay here, although we feel that the Aurora alarm is a bit expensive at EUR10 a night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    160
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
142
117
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I took my 82 year old mother (who is very fit for her age) on a week's activity trip with The Aurora Zone. The hotel was very nice - the rooms were a good size and comfortable. The swimming pool and spa area was a nice addition and we both had a good massage very reasonably priced. The hotel was let down a bit by the evening buffet - the food wasn't great quality and occasionally was in short supply. Luosto is very small with just a couple of shops and restaurants and everything is easy to walk to. It is possible to view the Northern Lights on the lake behind the hotel - we were lucky to see them on 3 occasions. The hotel does provide an Aurora alarm but we found this was not reliable and it is best to just go out if the sky is clear.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chill1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We took our family of 4 with kids aged 13 and 9 to Luosto in February during winter break and had an awesome time. Our 7 day trip was part of a package from Activities Abroad which included the following activities: snowmobiling to amethyst mine, ice fishing (which we decided not to do), cross country skiing , dog sledding, reindeer sleigh ride and nighttime hike in snow shoes in search of the Northern Lights. We didn't see the Northern Lights because it was too cloudy that week but loved all of the activities. In addition to the planned activities, we spent a couple hours every day at the ski resort which was a short walk from the hotel learning to ski. Each of had multiple lessons. By the end of the week, we all felt comfortable on skis. We were there the week before their busy week and virtually had the entire slopes to ourselves. The hotel rooms were clean and adequate but not luxurious. The meals were provided buffet style for breakfast and lunch and the food was consistently good -- not great but our family was happy with the choices. Our son has a life-threatening allergy to nuts and the staff was very careful and helpful which is worth it's weight in gold for us.

Activities Abroad was helpful in scheduling all the activities, arranging transportation to/from the airport and providing the winter gear. However, we brought our own winter/ski gear and were glad we did because the boots and snow-mobile suits they provided were not as comfortable (adequate but if you have your own, bring them).

All in all, I highly recommend the hotel and entire Luosto experience. We are considering going back next year and if we do, will make the arrangements ourselves instead of going through a tour company and just do the activities the kids want to do again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Well-situated near areas where you can do winter sports like skiing, snowmobile, etc. Room is rather comfortable, I stayed at ground floor which means snow is right outside my doorstep, nice experience. But can be very cold when it's snowing especially. nice winter scenery from breakfast room. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ros24Dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights in one of the self-contained log cabins and had a great time. The cabin was nice and cozy, with a comfy bed (actually, 2 doubles and 2 singles!), a dining table, a log fire, a kitchen with everything you need to cook a basic meal, and a sauna. Despite being surrounded by other cabins, and with a ski slope a 10 minute walk away, it really did feel like we were in the middle of nowhere.

The breakfast was better than we expected, and the hotel restaurant was pretty good though pricey. For most meals we cooked for ourselves or ate at the little cafe across the road. There's a convenience store and a few other restaurants across the road, too. All the operators for husky sledding, snow mobile tours, etc are within a short walk away, and there are plenty of brochures to help you choose in the hotel.

A couple of negatives - Our cabin was a fair hike from the main building, which I think should be highlighted upon booking - it wasn't much of an issue for us, but less able-bodied people might find this a hassle, especially in the snow. The hotel spa was also booked out the entire time we were there, so be sure to book well in advance. It's a shame that a lot of other reviewers seem to be commenting on whether or not they saw the northern lights, or voicing disappointments with their tour operators - that has nothing to do with the hotel so shouldn't play a part in the review! All up this hotel provided a unique experience that we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin close to the main hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Heidi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Came home on 16th Feb after week booked with Aurora Zone. Had good week and enjoyed everything. Hotel was fine, beds very comfy. Food ok and if we have to gripe about something it would be that although tea, coffee and sugar was provided in our room, milk was not and when we asked at reception we were told we had to buy it at the supermarket. Rather strange we thought. Snow Games activities staff very good and activities well organised. Only gripe would be with the rather sedate reindeer trip. We've been on these before in other places in Lapland but never one as slow as this. All in all a good holiday, even without the Northern Lights. Would we go back? Well, this was our 5th time in Lapland, the 4th in winter and 1 in summer, so I would say the answer is YES.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling0ldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went hoping to see the Northern Lights, but realising that they are not guaranteed to appear!
that was one of the reasons for choosing this holiday, as there are lots of other things to do. We had a session snowmobiling and husky sledging, both of which we enjoyed. The clothing supplied was very good and kept us warm and comfortable throughout.
The hotel was comfortable and the room was well designed and equipped. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well. Food was above expectation - not haute cuisine, but plentiful, varied and tasty. We particularly enjoyed the home made bread and the fruit compote and yoghurt at the breakfast bar. There were gluten free crackers and soya milk provided and the dishes were well labelled, a real plus point for anyone with specific dietary needs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashiraboppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luosto
12.9 mi away
Ski-Inn Hotel Pyhatunturi
Ski-Inn Hotel Pyhatunturi
#1 of 1 in Pyhatunturi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
71.6 mi away
Levi Suites Levi Gold
0.2 mi away
Santa's Hotel Aurora
Santa's Hotel Aurora
#1 of 1 in Luosto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Holiday Village Kuukiuru
Holiday Village Kuukiuru
#4 of 4 in Kemijarvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
12.8 mi away
Ski-Inn PyhaSuites Apartments
Ski-Inn PyhaSuites Apartments
#1 of 5 in Pyhatunturi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
10.8 mi away
Holiday Village Pyhan Asteli
Holiday Village Pyhan Asteli
#2 of 5 in Pyhatunturi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Luostotunturi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Luostotunturi

Property: Lapland Hotel Luostotunturi
Address: Luostontie 1, Luosto 99555, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Luosto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luosto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapland Hotel Luostotunturi 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lapland Hotel Luostotunturi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Luostotunturi Luosto
Hotelli Luostotunturi Hotel Luosto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing