We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lapland Hotel Luostotunturi
Nearby Hotels
Mestarin Kievari(Kemijarvi)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Inn Hotel(Sodankyla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sodankyla(Sodankyla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
165
192
44
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
192
44
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanterbury travellog cabinnorthern lightsgatwick airportmagical experienceday tripmeeting santatravel companyaurora zoneearly startbuffet stylefrozen lakehalf boardexcited childrensnow suits and bootsvegetarian mealsinging songs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 417 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We took our family of 4 with kids aged 13 and 9 to Luosto in February during winter break and had an awesome time. Our 7 day trip was part of a package from Activities Abroad which included the following activities: snowmobiling to amethyst mine, ice fishing (which we decided not to do), cross country skiing , dog sledding, reindeer sleigh ride and nighttime hike in snow shoes in search of the Northern Lights. We didn't see the Northern Lights because it was too cloudy that week but loved all of the activities. In addition to the planned activities, we spent a couple hours every day at the ski resort which was a short walk from the hotel learning to ski. Each of had multiple lessons. By the end of the week, we all felt comfortable on skis. We were there the week before their busy week and virtually had the entire slopes to ourselves. The hotel rooms were clean and adequate but not luxurious. The meals were provided buffet style for breakfast and lunch and the food was consistently good -- not great but our family was happy with the choices. Our son has a life-threatening allergy to nuts and the staff was very careful and helpful which is worth it's weight in gold for us.

Activities Abroad was helpful in scheduling all the activities, arranging transportation to/from the airport and providing the winter gear. However, we brought our own winter/ski gear and were glad we did because the boots and snow-mobile suits they provided were not as comfortable (adequate but if you have your own, bring them).

All in all, I highly recommend the hotel and entire Luosto experience. We are considering going back next year and if we do, will make the arrangements ourselves instead of going through a tour company and just do the activities the kids want to do again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Well-situated near areas where you can do winter sports like skiing, snowmobile, etc. Room is rather comfortable, I stayed at ground floor which means snow is right outside my doorstep, nice experience. But can be very cold when it's snowing especially. nice winter scenery from breakfast room. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ros24Dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights in one of the self-contained log cabins and had a great time. The cabin was nice and cozy, with a comfy bed (actually, 2 doubles and 2 singles!), a dining table, a log fire, a kitchen with everything you need to cook a basic meal, and a sauna. Despite being surrounded by other cabins, and with a ski slope a 10 minute walk away, it really did feel like we were in the middle of nowhere.

The breakfast was better than we expected, and the hotel restaurant was pretty good though pricey. For most meals we cooked for ourselves or ate at the little cafe across the road. There's a convenience store and a few other restaurants across the road, too. All the operators for husky sledding, snow mobile tours, etc are within a short walk away, and there are plenty of brochures to help you choose in the hotel.

A couple of negatives - Our cabin was a fair hike from the main building, which I think should be highlighted upon booking - it wasn't much of an issue for us, but less able-bodied people might find this a hassle, especially in the snow. The hotel spa was also booked out the entire time we were there, so be sure to book well in advance. It's a shame that a lot of other reviewers seem to be commenting on whether or not they saw the northern lights, or voicing disappointments with their tour operators - that has nothing to do with the hotel so shouldn't play a part in the review! All up this hotel provided a unique experience that we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin close to the main hotel.
Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Heidi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Came home on 16th Feb after week booked with Aurora Zone. Had good week and enjoyed everything. Hotel was fine, beds very comfy. Food ok and if we have to gripe about something it would be that although tea, coffee and sugar was provided in our room, milk was not and when we asked at reception we were told we had to buy it at the supermarket. Rather strange we thought. Snow Games activities staff very good and activities well organised. Only gripe would be with the rather sedate reindeer trip. We've been on these before in other places in Lapland but never one as slow as this. All in all a good holiday, even without the Northern Lights. Would we go back? Well, this was our 5th time in Lapland, the 4th in winter and 1 in summer, so I would say the answer is YES.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelling0ldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went hoping to see the Northern Lights, but realising that they are not guaranteed to appear!
that was one of the reasons for choosing this holiday, as there are lots of other things to do. We had a session snowmobiling and husky sledging, both of which we enjoyed. The clothing supplied was very good and kept us warm and comfortable throughout.
The hotel was comfortable and the room was well designed and equipped. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well. Food was above expectation - not haute cuisine, but plentiful, varied and tasty. We particularly enjoyed the home made bread and the fruit compote and yoghurt at the breakfast bar. There were gluten free crackers and soya milk provided and the dishes were well labelled, a real plus point for anyone with specific dietary needs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashiraboppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews