We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Day”
Review of Merridale Bistro

Merridale Bistro
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Cobble Hill
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Canadian, Gastropub, Barbecue, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: As you travel up or down Vancouver Island, stop in at our orchard bistro for lunch. Enjoy local cuisine, a large patio overlooking our orchard, and, of course, apple cider hand crafted just steps from the bistro's kitchen. Located in the middle of a working cider farm, this unique Vancouver Island restaurant combines cider pairings and seasonal menu items inspired by nearby Cowichan Valley farmers, vintners, and cheese-makers. The restaurant has two eating areas. You'll find the main room with its traditional fieldstone fireplace and spacious tables. The main restaurant also features a granite cider tasting bar - perfect for a cider and some conversation while your lunch is being prepared. Guests can also enjoy their meal on the large covered patio where you will find plenty of outdoor space to sit with friends, sip coffee, or sample ciders and local wines.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Day”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had an extraordinary visit to Merridale back in September. I have been meaning to write a review ever since. Great food, welcoming staff and wonderful cider. I can't recommend this place enough...will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank friendoifgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    60
    24
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Married at the Cidery!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We got married at Merridale, and from start to finish- it was an excellent journey. We had originally booked our wedding on a Sunday at the Cider house(which apparently should not have happened because that is there famous music and pizza night). The owner called me and apologized and suggested that we have it down by the lake instead. She offered a discount and my choice of live music-on them! I was nervous to have an outdoor venue, but it turned out to be better than the ciderhouse! It was beautiful! The entire meeting area was covered in case it would have rained and they were prepared! The service was excellent and the people were accomidating and friendly. We even had a last minute menu change to include pizza for the kids, and it was NO problem. The staff were all friendly. The food was excellent. The ambiance was stunning. Heather and Jess are VERY helpful in figuring out every last detail, including decorating. By the way, I HIGHLY reccommend the decoration package- it is totally worth it.
Beautiful day that finished with us staying in the beautiful yurt on site. Comfortable accomidations- although for plus 30 degree weather, it was too hot during the day.
Highly recommend staying here! It is a natural, rustic setting that you will fall in love with.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Drive”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Took a weekend drive through the Cowichan Valley/Cobble Hill area a few weekends ago and came across The Merridale Cidar Farm. What a treat. After lazily walking around the property viewing the orchard,cidar production area, ponds, wild gardens and of course the Yurts, we settled in for a few tastings of their cidar products ( I like the Scrumpy/Merriberry the best) - we then proceeded to their adjoining restaurant and had a great meal. It was such a nice day - so thanks Merridale Farm we loved our visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sybille p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
1 review
“Merridale Cider Works are great community supporters!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Every year the participants in the Grape Escape MS Bike Tour come back raving about how much they enjoyed their stop at Merridale. It's definitely one of the favorite stops on the tour. Merridale is super welcoming and has a great product to sell. As a bonus, each month all tasting fees are donated to a local charity! In July the MS Society was the lucky recipient of this generous initiative. THANK YOU MERRIDALE!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annie123154929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Merridale Property a Gem”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hello, I have stayed at Merridale on two occassions now and have found the property a true Gem on the Island. It's a unique property that boasts both a cidery and a restaurant with possible sleeping accomodations as well. We stayed in one of the Yurts while visiting which was a true unique experience in its own right. We were treated very well by staff and our meals were excellent right down to the freshly baked pastries and pizzas in their outdoor open air kitchen. They seem to host various events and evenings filled with music, food and merriment which offers the locals a place to occasionally go out and get an evening they couldn't otherwise without driving several hours. I give Merridale two thumbs up for being such a unique venue and offering up some of the finest cider available from the West Coast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lukeskywalker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merridale Bistro also viewed

Cobble Hill, Vancouver Island
 
Mill Bay, Vancouver Island
Cobble Hill, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
Cobble Hill, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Merridale Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing