We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it”

Merridale Cidery & Distillery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Merridale is a delicious destination in the Cowichan Valley-an apple orchard, craft cider house, small batch distillery, and wedding and event venue. Learn about the production of cider and spirits through a tour. Stroll the orchard while the kids search for faeries living amongst the cider apple trees, and then step up to the tasting bar for a guided tasting of our cider, spirits, or fortified ciders. Shop for local artisan items in the farmhouse store. Celebrate a special occasion with family and friends at a unique and beautiful venue. Experience glamping on Vancouver Island with a stay in one of our yurts. Check our website for upcoming special events, like our Sunday Pizza Nights. Pets are welcome! In our bistro, enjoy local cuisine, a large patio overlooking our orchard, and, of course, apple cider hand-crafted just steps from the bistro's kitchen. This authentic Vancouver Island restaurant combines cider pairings and seasonal menu items inspired by nearby Cowichan Valley farmers, vintners, and cheese-makers. Bring home delicious baked goods made fresh that morning in our brick oven. Merridale is located in Cobble Hill, in the Cowichan Valley, on the southeast coast of Vancouver Island, about 40 minutes north of Victoria and 1 hour and 20 minutes south of Nanaimo. Open daily.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Love it”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Merridale Cidery is a great place to go for the food, ambiance, cider tasting, a walk around the orchards or browse in the store. Or do all of it which is what I usually do!! They make great cider, wonderful bread and their onion relish is to die for. If you visit in the spring you can see the apple blossoms which are beautiful and a visit in the fall gets you first hand view of the apple process.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kptravelmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    40
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vict
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding at Merridale Cidery”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

People are still talking about how beautiful and amazing our wedding was. We cannot begin to thank the staff and owners of Merridale for helping to create everlasting memories. From start to finish, the day was perfect. Being able to find a venue that could accommodate our ceremony, reception, pictures and wedding night was truly a stress relieving experience. Thank you Merridale for helping make it a perfect day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had our wedding reception at Merridale, and I can honestly say it was the best day of our lives, and I know it won't have been possible without Merridale's staff members.
Since the beginning before the actual day, Heather and Jess were always very helpful and patient with all our requests. We were happy at the day of the wedding to have Magali there, as our family (spanish speaking) came from our home country El Salvador, and all they would speak that day was spanish. When we arrived at the day of the wedding we had some last minute request and Jess with no hesitation took care of it. The food was amazing, our guests couldn't stop talking about how good it was. Out wedding cake was made there, and it was the most beautiful cake i've ever seen. We also stayed at the Yurt for our wedding night and it was perfect, beautifully decorated and very comfortable.
It was a small wedding with only family and close friends, about 40 people total. It was really perfect, all I can remember about that day is happiness all night long.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food and Outstanding Cider”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wow! We've eaten here just a handful of times, but it's been great. We love the cider and the food is always so tasty and fresh.
Eating outside on the patio is such a treat because the view is so great. And if you eat a little too much (which will happen because their desserts are great, too), you can wander around the property on a self-guided tour.
The prices are incredible for the quality of food. Easily half or less than what you'd pay in Victoria, and that goes for the cider, too. It's only over the malahat. An easy 30 minutes on the weekend, or 45 minutes on a week night (faster on the way home). Perfect for a night out with friends, or family. And no struggle to find parking.
You can even have a cider tasting (which will include a seasonal cider if there's one at the time) to determine which one you'll want to take home at the end of the day! We recommend this jewel to all of our friends.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HDPeereboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Got Married at Merridale”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Everything about Merridale was wonderful! We chose to have our wedding there and the staff, venue, food, cider, and atmosphere were fantastic! All of our guests were full of compliments for Merridale and we would recommend it to anyone. We stayed in one of their yurts for 3 nights and had breakfasts served on the balcony each morning. It was so unique and fun that we were truly able to relax and enjoy ourselves the entire time. Thank you to all the staff for making our special day so special! We will be back for sure next time we are on the Island! :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merridale Cidery & Distillery also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Merridale Cidery & Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing