We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very large room and good food”
Review of Planet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Planet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mek'ele
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for just one night in January and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a very large room which included a large balcony, sitting area with 2 armchairs, working-desk and desk lamp, 2 huge double-beds with fluffy pillows and duvets, wardrobe with 2 bathrobes, slippers & clothes brush, and a huge modern bathroom with very large hot shower, hair-dryer and variety of products.
Our experience of the restaurant was a good one - we had plenty of choice and good quality food. Prices were higher than in some other hotels but we expected this.
The only disappointment was the location - it is on the outskirts of the town, on a dual carriageway and we were glad we had a car to get us there.

Room Tip: We had room 203 and this was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank silversurfer6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed at the Planet Hotel in Mekelle for 4 days and what I experienced was not three-star but third-rate accommodation and service! Some entire floors had no piped water, the explanation being that their water pump was not powerful enough to get water to all the hotel's 10 floors!! My bathroom sink and WC (toilet bowl) leaked and that meant that for every toilet visit, I had to wade through pools of water in a smelly bathroom thanks to the poor cleaning standards - the toilets near the conference room and dining room reeked to high heaven! The service was atrocious! And oh! the frequent power cuts! Worse still was that the hotel cancelled some visitors reservations to accommodate "important" government and business people who'd showed up unannounced. Unfortunately for visitors, I gather that this is one of the best hotels in the city! I wonder how the other hotels are!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower hotel floors - whatever you do, don't go beyond the fifth floor as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Planet Hotel on two separate occasions during the same trip. Once after traveling from Gondar and once after a grueling tour of the Danakil Depression. In both situations, Planet Hotel provided a welcome respite.

The hotel is brand new, having opened just a few months ago. Our room included a king sized bed, sitting area, a Jacuzzi tub, LCD TV, safe, water boiler, shaving kits, dental kits, sewing kits, bath gel, body lotion, and hair dryer – an essentially luxury suite by many standards, let alone Ethiopian standards!

The beds were a touch soft, but the rooms were fairly sound proof. The showers were great when we stayed on the 2nd floor – however, during our stay on the 5th floor, the water pressure was noticeably less. We’d recommend staying on lower floors if possible.

The hotel has a chintzy charm to it – (possibly faux) marble and gold trim every where, along with a hotel logo straight out of a 1960’s marketing studio, this doesn’t detract from the overall comfort of the establishment.

In between our stay, we asked the hotel to stow some of our luggage. They did this happily for us and reception was very polite with other matters as well.

The food at the restaurant was okay. The service was pretty bad (which seems to be the restaurant norm in many restaurants we’ve been to in Ethiopia.) Many of the items on the menu weren’t available. We also had to ask for a menu multiple times – when one didn’t come, we had to go up and get our own.

We would recommend Planet Hotel to anyone spending time in Mekele.

Room Tip: Suggest getting a room on a lower floor as higher floors have lower water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hipmofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

we stayed at the Planet shortly after it opened, for four weeks while working in Mekele; the basic idea of the hotel is good - big rooms, with balconies, well-designed bathrooms, wifi; and two restaurants, formal on 1st floor, pizzas and light meals on 10th floor, with a fine rooftop terrace;

the execution is very poor; the staff are largely untrained - willing and charming, they do their best, without knowing how to deal with customers - for example, in the restaurant, this is the first time in my life that a waitress has cleared plates from another table, just as I have finished, and piled their dirty plates on top of mine in front of me; it was a regular occurrence when the two of us ate in either restaurant for one meal to arrive, then the other to be 10 minutes (and on one occasion 20 minutes) later, sometimes accompanied by screaming in the kitchen; the restaurant menu is a caricature of a good restaurant menu, with entertaining spelling - I offered to correct it for them, and was told that they are experts in international cuisine - in fact, some dishes were quite good, some very poor, but the pizzas were fine, but variable - apparently, some of the cooking staff are very light with chilis, some heavy-handed

breakfast is very poor; the only really horrible bread I have tasted in Ethiopia, even the fried eggs are poorly done, and the previous evenings injera does not heat well; they have discovered the secret of making the only lousy coffee in the country that gave coffee to the world; we left Mekele, and stayed one night in a cheap hotel in Addis, where the breakfast was superb, what a contrast!

the furniture is good quality, but the electrics are not always reliable - one multipoint extension cable actually melted while we were having breakfast; the bedrooms are spacious, but beware the concrete lip at the door - a staff member told us it is because the carpets were laid without the underlay specified by the architect; the shower is well designed, but badly executed - the floor slopes gently, to allow the water to drain, but the drain is fitted at the highest point; wifi sometimes works, and whenever it fails the management always blame some mysterious outside agency, never their own system;

after our first week, the hotel computer worked out our bill in Birr, then translated it to US Dollars; the accounts person advised us, with a straight face, that our week had cost $224,000 - after discussion, this was adjusted to $420; on our final day, the computer had been out of use for three days - we needed to pay and leave, so we worked out what we owed; the hotel accounts supremo spent 30 minutes with a calculator, told us that the bill was half what we had calculated, which we queried, then another 20 minutes to arrive at an amended amount, which he proudly presented - in the same sum as we had offered almost an hour earlier; we went for an early night, to be woken by a telephone demand for another $12, unexplained

the swimming pool area was a building site, which they promised, each week, would be finished the following week; and one member of the restaurant staff told us "we promise that we will improve"; perhaps, since we were there, they have...

some things worked well, such as the room cleaning (our cleaner had worked in another hotel, and her work was excellent), and the hotel laundry service (hand laundry to cleaner in morning, get in back late afternoon, immaculately washed and pressed, at reasonable cost);

there is a large bar/lounge on the ground floor, where smoking is permitted, so not pleasant for us; it has several large-screen TVs, which is good on the rare occasions when they are all tuned to the same channel

this is the third hotel we have stayed in around Mekele; we will not stay here again; it would need massive expenditure, and a professional hotel training programme, to raise out of the Fawlty Towers category; the one area where the hotel achieves the very highest standards is in self-belief, sadly unjustified

Room Tip: the "Queen Rooms" are large and comfortable, but check that everything works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monsieurkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roma_PandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank orietta p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mek'ele
1.3 mi away
Atse Yohannes Hotel
Atse Yohannes Hotel
#2 of 7 in Mek'ele
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moringa Hotel
Moringa Hotel
#4 of 7 in Mek'ele
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zemarias
Zemarias
#3 of 24 in Mek'ele
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Desta International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Yordanos
Hotel The Yordanos
#5 of 24 in Mek'ele
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Consolar International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Hotel

Address: Hawulti Semaetat | Infront of New stadium, Mek'ele 251, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Tigray Region > Mek'ele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mek'ele
Price Range: $97 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Jovago.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Planet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hotel Ethiopia/Tigray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing