We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Gheralta Rock
from $410.26
More Info
from $2,397.44
More Info
from $1,641.03
More Info
from $2,051.29
More Info
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
115
19
2
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
115
19
2
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local guide gheralta lodge breathtaking views great guide local market vision hotel injera perfect solution local area young guy normal tour arrange transport family house coffee ceremony spent three days magical place fear of heights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'd like to recommend our fantastic guide Berhanu (whatsapp +251914861090 / email birwel21@gmail.com).

We were camping in the Tigray region last month (Dec 2019) for 5 days. It was an all-inclusive package: guide(himself), transportation (airport to airport), camping equipment and camping crew, food, entrance fees). Berhanu helped to put together and customize everything. We discussed on whatsapp beforehand. The process went smooth, we were picked up on time at the airport, and visited all the churches as we agreed. (except one since we were out of time) The wonderful food our cook Mary prepared was one of the best we've had in Ethiopia. Berhanu put safety first, he was very caring when guiding us in the mountains. He took us to many great viewpoints (good for photos) where we didn't see other tourists around. On the last day, we camped at his mother's. It is a traditional house with lots farm animals around. His sister welcomed us with the coffee ceremony, and we even learned how to make injera from his mother! Overall, great experience. Contact Berhanu for your next trip!

This young man owns a tour company in Hawzen, but he can arrange tours all around Ethiopia.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 434clarisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Berhanu was an excellent guide who clearly had intimate knowledge of and relationships throughout the Gheralta region. He provided the customized, unique hiking experience that I was looking for that kept us off the beaten path and allowed us to discover the beauty of the area. His cook and helpers were excellent too.

Berhanu can be reached on WhatsApp at: +251 91 486 1090.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Ki0822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Me and a friend went on a 3 day trek in Gheralta. We contacted Berhanu in advance and he organised everything. He picked us up in Mekele and welcomed us in Hawzien. After showing us the local market, we started our trek and were guided by his uncle (also called Berhanu). Overnight, we stayed in two different family homes which was a very special and personal experience. Also little stops during the treks at coffee houses or small cafés, made the experience feel like a community trek, where also the local community benefits from tourism. During our treks we visited 5 churches. The combination between hiking, meeting Berhanu's family and learning about Gheralta's churches, made the trip unforgettable. We would really recommend to contact Berhanu for visiting this region (+251 91 486 1090), he is very responsive on WhatsApp or you can also call him.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

This place is amazing and it was one of our favourite region and highlight during our Ethiopian trip.

We met so many tourists who didn't go to tigray because they'd seen the Lallibella churches but this is such a big mistake!! The churches are so different from each other and neither should be Missed...

You will need a good head for height and reasonable fitness for the higher churches but there are plenty of lower, more accessible ones which are also stunning.

Also, don't buy an expensive tour it is absolutely not necessarily!
Go to Megab where the guide office is, pick up a guide there or contact one directly ahead of time and let your guide arrange transport and everything else for you for a fraction of the price.

I would love to go back to this region and do a longer trek in Tigray. Tesfa can arrange them but they are very expensive- A local guide would be able to arrange one for a much cheaper price.

Guiding day rate (fixed) was 715 birr pp and entry price was 150 birr pp per church, however this was set to increase to 300 pp the day after we left.

We spent 3 days in Tigray and our guide Tekle was excellent, very professional and caring. He gave up options for transportation ranging from private minivan to public bus, motorcycle and walking. He cares a lot about giving good service and when we do go back to Tigray for a longer Trek (enshalla!) I'll most definitely contact him to organise it!
He can arrange trips elsewhere too.

Tekle
tekleh84@gmail.com
+251 98 352 6198

We stayed at Habesha hotel in Hawzen, it was a good budget option, staff was super friendly and the food was good and room comfortable. Hawzen was unexciting but after reading a lot of bad press about it I was pleasantly surprised!

Get the Bradl guide book, latest edition - it is excellent!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Dream67785693735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

A great adventure climb with no head paid to safety of any kind. This is an amazing place with the ascent to Abuna Yemata Guh a highlight for my boys and I. Guide will help you on the way and be prepared to tip them at the end. I gave 100 Birr for each of us - total 300 Birr (around 9 USD). You will also need to tip the local guide, and your own guide if going with a tour company. Don't be stingy with the tips, its small change for us, but provides food for the locals. The climb to Maryam Korkor and Daniel Korkor was also challenging but worth the views and the visit to the churches. Recommendations for travelers - do a bit of walking and physical training before you go and don't be wigged out by the climb - just give it a go, trust the Guides and don't look down!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank H3120MMdouglasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews