We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset Arms
Nearby Hotels
$112
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Warminster(Warminster)(Great Value!)
$65
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
$99
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishopstrow House(Warminster)
$160
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$126
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Babington House(Babington)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Inn(Gillingham)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
106
38
8
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
38
8
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubextra bedexcellent hospitalityopen firefull englishcouple of nightslongleat safari parksurrounding countrysideovernight staytea and coffeea lovely stayfeature bathstourheadlandladywiltshireshampootoddler
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 168 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. The owners and staff are lovely and welcoming with nothing being too much trouble. The food is fantastic and great value, there really is no need to leave the building. Perfect location for visiiting Longleat and the other attractions of Wiltshire & Somerset.Will definitely stay here again & can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lime01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My partner, little boy (3months old) and I had a wonderful stay here in January 2013, on our way up to family in Bristol. Cate, Roy and staff were very welcoming and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.
The Somerset Arms has a lovelly atmosphere, great great great food which is locally sourced which is wonderful. The rooms where exactly what we asked for - comfortable,clean and even a choice of big tub or shower, as well as a very comfortable baby cot for my little one. We had a wonderful stay and will be returing in the summer for this years Summerfest! Thank-you for a wonderful stay Somerset Arms. I look forward to our next visit.
Claire

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire_catrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just returned from a one nights stay in the Somerset arms situated in maiden Bradley. The small hotel (pub with rooms) was very easy to find (even in snow!) and very warm and welcoming. We were given room 1 which had a lovely free standing bath and was a perfect size equipped with tv/DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities and bathroom with a hot, powerful shower. The lady (Cate) showed us straight to our room and was very efficient yet polite and un-intrusive. We ate downstairs which was very quiet (due to snow perhaps) but the fire was going to warm the room. The menu was full of tempting delights and deciding on what to order was quite a challenge. We both decided to go for creamy home made soup, served with delicious warm bread to start and duck breast with jus,with red cabbage and dauphinois potatoes served on the side. It was all cooked perfectly, nicely presented and VERY tasty. We were too full for a desserts but the options looked tasty including brownies and sticky toffee pudding. All dinner service by Cate was again very polite and easy going. We slept very well and the bedding/pillows were very comfy and clean. We awoke to a delicious, perfectly proportioned full English breakfast and toast, with a selection of cereals and jams on offer. The resident dog sat with us quietly enjoying the attention he was getting! We would definitely consider returning here if we decided to visit longleat safari park which is only a few miles away. Lovely place. Lovely food. Lovely hosts.

Room Tip: The rooms with the freestanding baths are nice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had Sunday lunch at the Somerset Arms after a walk in Stourhead National Trust on a cold but sunny day. The pub is friendly with plenty of locals stopping for a drink or lunch. The decor is unpretentious and but has the real feel of an old pub. The most important point is that the food was excellent. I had the devilled chicken livers and my partner had goats cheese for starters. Both were great and the chicken livers the best I have ever tasted. We both had roast dinners for mains and they were excellent,delicious, freshly made,plentiful, and hot. The food was served at a leisurely pace by attentive,friendly staff. We will definately go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 662George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We arrived on a Friday evening for the weekend. We were shown to our bedroom which was lovely and clean with a funky bath in the room which was different but i liked it! The room had an en-suite with a shower. Lovely comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities on hand plus tv and dvd player. The rooms have central heating which is adjustable! We had booked the Christmas menu for Friday night and and we were not disappointed. Roy is an amazing chef, the food is cooked to order and is so fresh. Breakfast was no disappointment either! We set off for Longleat which was a ten minute drive away, then into Frome which is a pretty town. On arrival back we ate off the menu and just as we thought the food couldn't get any better we were pleasantly surprised! I would highly recommend the fishcakes then the steak with scallops, absolutely outstanding food! A friendly pub with a relaxed atmosphere, we loved chilling in front of the open fires! Thank you for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCW1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews