We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ever fish and chips”

Pelican's Harbour Cafe
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Struisbaai
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best ever fish and chips”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stumbled upon this cafe by chance looking to see what was at the harbour. It was really packed but having waited by the fireside for only a few minutes we were seated. On the menu was something called a mini-pan (well I don't know what they think mini is) which was a piece of beautiful hake, some prawns and calamari which came with chips! My husband had hake and chips. The food was delightful. Service and staff really friendly. Super lunch!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    108
    52
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hoeilaart
Level Contributor
238 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Terrific seafood, simply cooked as it should be!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

And we going to South Africa thinking that it is first and for all the game that controls the cooking. Here in this cafe however the seafood is fresh, cooked with no sauces or other superfluous additives and was just great. We ate pan seared yellow-tail, deep-fried hake, pan-seared calamari steak juicy and delicious as nowhere, calamari strips deepfried, super super super. All of this accompanied by a nice rice or french fries. We were very happy after a couple of hours. At all this at very moderate prices. The only point that is beyond control of the cafe is the temperature, when it is a bit windy and fresh outside, it will be a bit fresh inside. The place is a simple cafe, but with good service and super fish dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janbnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredasdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tastes so good!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you feel like jumping in your car for the day and go exploring and you enjoy seafood and love the sea come and visit the Pelican's Harbour Cafe in Struisbaai. Wow I just love there calamari strips and sitting back looking at the beautiful scenery what more can a person ask for. Then take a stroll down the beach or on the boardwalk looking over the ocean. You can even bring your fishing rods and catch some fish for dinner if you like. Hope to see you soon in Struisbaai!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struisbaai, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly with stunning food”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The best seafood in town. It's just so relaxing to look out over the harbour, while sipping wine and eating really good fresh seafood, and best of all, it's Pet friendly, so our "children" are also welcome. Thanks Fraser & Marilee

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
331 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a place. Great food and great views. Plenty for the kids to do.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican's Harbour Cafe also viewed

Cape Agulhas, Overberg District
Struisbaai, Cape Agulhas
 
Struisbaai, Cape Agulhas
L'Agulhas, Cape Agulhas
 

Been to Pelican's Harbour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing