We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not more than ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mermaid Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Struisbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not more than ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

For us this guest house was disappointing. The room and the bathroom were really small, the bathroom just separated with a sliding door without privacy in the bathroom. Tables in the breakfast area covered with plastic table cloth to protect the table cloth underneath, paper napkins and the worst breakfast we had on our trip. Tow big but just one small towel in a room for two. For us this is a rather a three star but not a four star house.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaunusFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asthore, Owner at Mermaid Guest House, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for your feedback on our establishment. All our guest comments are valuable to us. Regarding your review, find our reply:

On our beds each person receives one large and one small hand towel as required by the Grading Counsel and in the bathroom there is an extra small towel provided.

Our rooms are on average 25 m² each which is standard according to the star grading council. Our smallest room is 25 m² and our largest room is 35 m².
We include the UK standard for guest house.

DBU Factors
Room Classification
Size Guide

Double or twin : 10-20 m2
Single : up to 10 m2

Regarding the privacy of the bathroom, an en-suite bathroom is usually separated by a door and will not be totally private.

We are sorry that you were unhappy with our paper napkins but again, we are a guesthouse and not a hotel. We change the color of our decor regularly which includes tablecloths & napkins, therefor paper napkins is more suitable.

We are renowned countrywide for our wonderful breakfast (as seen in previous reviews) and we will update our photos to show our variety. I am really sorry our breakfast did not meet with your standard and apologise profusely.

We are also in the process of upgrading our bathrooms.

Kind regards,

Asthore Mostert
Owner
Mermaid Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were on our way to Cape Town from Port Alfred so it was a long haul to get there but worth the visit to see the southern most point in Africa. Mermaid is not far from the Cape itself, a short 10 minute drive and you are there. As people have mentioned, the stairs to the upstairs rooms are pretty step so if you have issues with your legs or knees then best consider another option. The room we stayed in was ok for one night but if I was staying longer I would have preferred a different room. There were two issues, one is the security spot light which means you need to use the blinds and curtains to dim it and the other was the pool cleaner or some associated part of the pool that through the night would try emit loud gurgling sounds at intermittent intervals. I have slept in far worse places with much more noise so it was not a biggie for a one night stay but more than that and I would have asked for a different room or for the pool to be killed at night. The breakfast was excellent and all in all it worked for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent one night here on our tour of South Africa. Very nice accommodations, friendly staff, great views of the bay, and a wonderful hot breakfast. As has been noted, the stairs are quite steep, but we got ourselves and our luggage up and down no problem. Free wifi was a big plus. We were on vacation, but it seemed like it would be a good place to stop if you were on business travel as well. The staff gave us a good recommendation for dinner in L'Agulhas, the Zuidste Kaap, which we enjoyed. Would definitely recommend the Mermaid Guesthouse to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Highly recommended. Spacious rooms with good views out to sea. Bathroom space limited but adequate. Excellent hosts with a scrumptious breakfast - a wide selection of cooked foods, fruit, cold meats and cheese and muffins. Just what a bed and breakfast should be with a small minibar and tea/coffee making facilities in each room. The stairs to the upper rooms are very steep so if you have mobility problems try for a room downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootingdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night at Mermaid Guest House. The welcome was warm and friendly. Steep stairs upstairs, but not a problem. Room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities. En suite was on the small side, but adequate.
Breakfast in the morning was great, with many options.
I would recommend Mermaid Guest House for anyone traveling to the Agulhas area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank willsuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Martin and I wanted something close to Cape Agulhas that was clean, comfortable and with bed and breakfast. Our hostess greeted us warmly and took us up to our room after check in. We loved the crisp, cool décor and the space in the room. Breakfast was good and with a lovely selection of items. The only set backs were the steep stairs and suitcases which never mix. Plus no information on eateries within the area for dinner within the room folder. Our hostess assured us on leaving that this would be dealt with as this would a assist other guests in the future. Martin and I had a front window view of the bay and whilst close to the main road, the windows were such so that no noise could be heard from the outside. A thoroughly pleasant stay in clean comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent guesthouse in Struisbaai. We stayed there and I booked a family room, we actually got an apartment three rooms, two bathrooms. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, there are tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge and little hotel shampoos, soaps,etc. The service is lovely and friendly and Christina will offer you tips where to go. The breakfast is really nice, think continental breakfast and not just eggs and bacon but french toast, poached eggs. I would certainly recommend this as a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Struisbaai
13.9 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.7 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
18.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Guest B&B
Ocean View Guest B&B
#2 of 5 in Struisbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beachcombers Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Agulhas Ocean House
Agulhas Ocean House
#1 of 7 in L'Agulhas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Guest House

Property: Mermaid Guest House
Address: 8 Protea Road, Struisbaai 7285, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Cape Agulhas > Struisbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Struisbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse is situated in the picturesque town of Struisbaai, almost at the tip of Africa. Close to Cape Agulhas, the most southern town of Africa and the place where the Atlantic and Indian Ocean meet! Mermaid Guest House offers single, double, twin and family accommodation in Stuisbaai and is fully equipped with every necessary amenity, facilities and services to make your stay at our guesthouse an unforgettable experience. We are located close to all amenities and walking distance to the main swimming beach (14km of sandy beach). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mermaid Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing