We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, the Mozzarella is amazing, not any where in Italy”

La Taberna di Rocca Calascio
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Calascio
Price range: $11 - $33
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 25, 2018

Having made our way to the crumbling fortress, if you are lucky you can park and walk up a short distance.
Did not expect to find restaurants up here, all very busy, so we moved on and found this small establishment.
Seeing what was served up to others, ordered the simple dish of Mozzarella and tomatoes, sadly they were down to the last lump, which I insisted on having and glad I did, it was quite something else. Some days later we visited an establishment that was recommended where they made cheese, it was bog standard morzzarella.
A salad was ordered, that I was told was very good
see photos.
The two small sausages were interesting, maybe wild boar, no idea,it turned out the waitress had spent a month in Bristol as an au-pair but we never did ask if the sausage was made with wild boar meat.
Interesting that even in the middle of nowhere you find someone who speaks English.
Dessert was good too as was the beer.
Overall very happy

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wearyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 168 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2017 via mobile

We found La Taberna on the way down from the castle and wanted to stop for coffee and cake in the afternoon. Unfortunately they forgot to give us the cake (the waiters seemed rather preoccupied) and when it finally arrived, it was rather dry and bland. Great location though. Probably better for lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 673nicholasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La taberna R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Taberna di Rocca Calascio, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

You're asking for a cake with a big rain, and pretending to be served at the outside tables, what problems do you have?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017 via mobile

After a snowy walk around the castle and church we decided to have a coffee,but ended up having a nice lunch.Traditional food,sourced locally.We had a lentil and a chickpea soup with sour dough bread,followed by a delicious pear and ricotta tart/cake. In a medieval borgo location.Don't expect to get your food in a hurry,so enjoy the atmosphere,wine and the SLOW food way of life.As the sign says outside in Italian.You are at a high altitude,do not expect to be served in a hurry.All in all a lovely afternoon,just wish we hadn't been driving,so could have had more of the Bio(organic) wine.
You can see Mama preparing it next door,but as she is busy Do not interrupt her.
Good for veggies!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank cycleplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

It is a small restaurant located in the town of Rocca Calascio. This restaurant not only has an amazing view, but it also has great food. The menu consists of locally grown ingredients combined with the regions traditional way of cooking with unique twist of flavours. This restaurant is more of a place for appetizers and smaller meals, but that doesn't change how great tasting the food is. You can get anything from local grown cheese platters, to meat trays to soups and sandwiches. The best part of the restaurant is the staff. Federico the manager is always looking for ways to make the customer happy and satisfied, he even tries very hard to speak english, so don't be afraid that you only have to speak Italian because you don't. Micci is a great server as well as Giovanni and Jacopo are the names of the boys who cook the best arrosticini (be sure to get those) and they always put a smile on the customers face. You can truly see and experience the passion in what they cook and their attitude toward working is amazing. I love this place and went here many times, and will be back for many more.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico F, Proprietario at La Taberna di Rocca Calascio, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

hello Sara, thank you so much. Also for evenings spent together. I hope to see you soon. a greeting from me and micci and the whole staff
P.s. it's okey My english very god ahahah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Very quaint restaurant located in Rocca Calascio. Reasonably priced, the quality of the food will want you asking for more. The Gran Tagliere which was an assortment of local cheeses and meats was to die for. The Lentil soup was very good. The Arrosticini was without a doubt the best I have had in the area. Special thank you to our servers and food preparers Giovanni, Jacobo, and Francesca. We will be back!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Saraboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taberna di Rocca Calascio also viewed

Calascio, Province of L'Aquila
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
 
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Calascio, Province of L'Aquila
 
Calascio, Province of L'Aquila
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
 

Been to La Taberna di Rocca Calascio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing