We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
44
43
20
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
44
43
20
7
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 117 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017

It's easy to think that this is an hotel past its Sell by date. The furnishings and decor are old fashioned; there are even stretch covers on the sofa. The meals are heavy on the pasta, and breakfast is overwhelmingly cake and sweet pastries. Yet, as a small hotel in a small town it has its charms. It's a beautiful setting overlooking the lake which changes in colour from blue to green depending on the sky. There are many wonderful walks nearby in lush green countryside, beech woods and forests of fir. The staff go out of their way to help and make your visit special. The food gets better as the week progresses and we were treated to a night of local specialities and entertainment that was all very memorable. none of us will forget the proprietor s falsetto singing. The little town is easy to access with bars and restaurants and Castle towers. We spent one week here walking with a group and had one of our best walking holidays ever. it is a modest place but is recommended for its family vibe.

Room tip: A room with a view over the lake
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank therapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017

We came here as a group for a week's walking holiday in Abruzzo National Park. We never expect too much from hotels on these kinds of trips as long as the walks are good but this hotel was so good it added to the enjoyment.

The staff, Carmelo, Alexander and Wilma (sorry if the spelling is incorrect) were absolutely brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and they remained friendly and cheerful throughout our stay.

The highlight of the stay was an evening of local specialities with live music. Initially, I can't say we were hugely enthusiastic about live music but it turned out to be perfect.
On a number of occasions Carmelo led the food around the room followed by a group of musicians. We all laughed so hard at the way everyone got into the mood. Carmelo managed to get us clapping, dancing and singing. He was an absolute star.

The food was good, as was the wine. Dinner was a 4 course meal so the diet begins tomorrow!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2015

I had a great autumn week end in a perfect single room, with breakfast and dinner. The food is great - eating too much is a real risk! :-) - , the hotel clean and confortable, the family that runs it are kind and helpful.
Some paths of the National Park start right from the hotel, so no need to move your car from the free parking lot

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariagraziamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Nice location with superb views and wonderful walking opportunities, and a very friendly staff, but I'm afraid we were disappointed by the inadequate suppers, the cold bedroom (which leaked rain through the windows), and the unexpected noise of 50 schoolchildren aged 8 to 9 who screamed and shouted from 7AM to midnight apart from when they were out for the day. We were grateful to Vilma for allowing us to use her computer (no WiFi). Shops in Barrea are rudimentary, and closed on Thursday afternoons. Hotel needs capital investment to improve the facilities which are showing signs of age.

Room tip: All rooms are quiet
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Nicely located well furnished hotel. It give us full satisfaction and comfort one expect. It is surrounded by mountains and away from hactic life of city. Calm and quite place with very good resaurant.

Room tip: choose front side rooms whcih are facing small lake with beautiful fountain and garden having varities of flowers and plants
Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkhandhedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews