We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real taste of Italy!”
Review of Italy Farm Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Italy Farm Stay
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you have plans to visit either Naples or Rome and are looking for some lazy time to spend in the countryside of Italy, I very highly recommend that you check out this place, "Italy Farm Stay". The name is a bit misleading, but in a good way. The location is on a farm, but Italian style. ...and the farm is atmosphere for you. You don't lift a finger for anything. Your job is to relax and enjoy the timelessness of the countryside and to be in awe of the Abruzzi mountains that you can see all around (Pescosolido is to the west of Abruzzo). And if you want to, you have the opportunity to learn to make pasta from scratch. Where else better to learn how to make pasta! If you are fascinated by the famous Pecorino cheese, you can visit the local shepherd and see how the cheese is made.

It is very relaxing and really amazing to wake up in the morning and to savor that beauty that is all around, to enjoy that Mediterranean sun on your skin and to breath such fresh air. You can lounge on the veranda, walk through the yard and pick fresh fruits from the orchard. And you can just chill having a family-style dinner with the other guests at the house. Yes, even a couple on vacation can enjoy such a visit to this location. There's always an option to socialize, but definitely privacy is respected as well. But for anyone that knows that they just want privacy more often than not, there is an alternative location available up the road under the same management, and that location is definitely less communal and is more private (but certainly with added cost, no doubt) with kitchen facilities to prepare your own meals instead.

I think that this is a great place to spend time enjoying nature. But since it is located in a somewhat remote location, obviously, you can not walk to a local cafe without walking about two miles, I think it was, to the town of Sora. There is a taxi service available, but you will never need it. Afterall, you are there to enjoy, so walking into town is very enjoyable and peaceful experience.

So in my opinion, this place offers an authentic taste of Italy. Yes, everyone goes to see Rome, and all the big Italian cities, but my high recommendation is to spend some time in the countryside where most people there are all Italians and hardly any tourists. I loved it! You'll even see herds of sheep crossing the road or nearby in their pasture. Tractors too. And even in the small town of Sora, fashion seems to be a high priority for the locals. Actually, when I was there, I sacrificed my time that I had to spend in Rome and spent most of it at the "Italy Farm Stay" for five days. Rome will always be there for me.

Room Tip: because this location is so quaint, there is not an abundance of rooms. so I recommend that you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dawneliz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 180 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a fantastic time during 5 days at the farm and wish I could have stayed longer. This place is a real gem and I am very glad places like this exist! As soon as we got there I knew my expectations were going to be more than matched. The family are very hospitable and friendly, Antonello is a very cool dude who kept everyone entertained! We were made to feel like members of the group, rather than outsiders.
The food was simple but beautifully cooked with fresh ingredients grown on the farm, and you could help yourself to as much as you wanted. The bedroom was very comfortable. There were many reasonably priced activities to partake in - the horseback riding was a particular highlight, despite it being my first time trying it. There are spectacular hikes you can go on from the farm, and the town of Sora isn't too far away. Pasta making with Maria and cheese making with a local shepherd were also great fun.
Relaxing in the hammock and watching the family's majestic horse roam around the garden in the evening was also wonderful.
My time here was the best out of all the places I visited during two weeks in Italy, and I couldn't recommend it any more highly! Most of all, I recommend that you spend some time with the donkey, it's a very therapeutic experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My experience while staying here was one that I can't possibly review completely here because everyday was another adventure, both via the hospitality of Antenello and his family, the other guests, and all that the area has to offer. The grounds are as described, our room was huge off a patio, clean. We felt like we were part of the family, our arrival was greeted by Antenello with a plate of bruschetta most from the tomatoes grown on the farm, he offered wine again made there. Nuts grown on the farm were gobbled up as well. Everyone was so nice and accommodating. We hiked up the mountain with printed directions from antenello, shopped in sora. I can't say enough, if you are looking for a B&B on a real farm you will not be disappointed. Nature at its best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottysgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had planned on a two day visit for the family (two kids aged 17 and 10) but extended it for the whole week of our visit to Italy. The place is beautiful and the rooms are clean and spacious. The total concept of the place is great - an ecological farm which on the one hand accepts volunteers from all over the world (at the time of our visit there were from Ireland, Spain, Berlin and Wales) and on the other hand accomodates guests at a very reasonable price (the cheapest we ound on the internet) with plenty of advice for activites at the national Abrazzia park. We were exceptionally lucky in seeing a brown bear at the bear sanctuary which is a 15 minute drive from the farm (see picture).
Thanks to Antonello who after travelling himself around the world had the vision of creating an ecological farm that brings together people from across the globe to sit during the morning breakfast or the evening dinner around one long dining table and interact joyfully with one another. Special thanks also to Giuseppe who became a grandfather for a week to my ten year old son who faithfully woke early in the morning so that he could help Giuseppe pick the figs and beans and what ever other farm chores that had to be done.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

ThANKS Antenello and Friends for a nice quiet time to wind down and relax.
I arrive with my family on friday afternoon , Anenello pick us up in Sora and we just chilled and hiked the rest of the day. Saturday we made cheese and my wife made pasta for lunch.
Not fancy just nice.. Kinda of a little Kibbutz in the middle of the mountains of Italy. Great meals fun people , Guessiuppe was very friendly , and has a good reason to be. the place is in a beautiful spot on earth. Hope to cross paths again.
Stan

Room Tip: take a hike or two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1morecupofcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent a week on at the Farm with the family (kids aged 8 and 12), and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Rooms was spacious and clean, and the location is excellent to get close to nature. Lots of great hiking trails, coupled with excellent, wholesome food.

Children loved interaction with Antonello and his family and with the volunteers on the farm. Gave them a real taste of genuine Italian living. Special thanks to Giuseppe for making the trip especially memorable for the children.

Highly recommend for anyone looking to get close to nature and take some time out from the busier cities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinMaria90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Sure, other places are glamourous and there are a few better views, but you will come away from Italy Farm Stay a changed person. The accommodations are comfortable and the food is home-cooked wonderful (thank you Maria). There are three other things that make this experience so meaningful: 1) the countryside engenders a feeling of deep contentment. 2) the people volunteering, living and staying at the Farm Stay start to feel like a big interesting family. And 3) Giuseppe, the patriarch of the family has such love of the land, love of teaching and a spirit of allegria not seen since "Zorba the Greek", that a short time spent talking with him (in Italian) leaves you feeling renewed of spirit and thought. A fantastic time. Go.

Room Tip: A room with private bath is definitely a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pescosolido
3 mi away
B&B Portella Delle Fate
0.3 mi away
B&B Al Colle
B&B Al Colle
#1 of 3 in Pescosolido
28 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Albergo Ristorante Il Ciclope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Codarda
La Codarda
#2 of 3 in Pescosolido
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Italy Farm Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Italy Farm Stay

Address: Via Colledardo n 8, 03030 Pescosolido, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Pescosolido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pescosolido
Price Range: $56 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Italian agriturismo right between Rome and Naples in Abruzzi National Park. With fantastic activities to enjoy: horseback riding, cooking classes, day hike, overnight hike, visit to the cheese-making shepherd, Italian language classes, yoga. Well-served by bus and train from Rome and Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Italy Farm Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italy Farm Stay Hotel Pescosolido
Italy Farm Stay Pescosolido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing