We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loughdan House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Roundwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed a night while walking the Wicklow Way in early. October. We arrived wet and tired from a long cold and foggy day. Sean and Theresa welcomed us like family. They got our wet things from us to put in the drier, and by the time we arrived in our room,there was a bottle of wine waiting. After we spent some time settling in,we went down for a great dinner, more wine and some friendly talk in front of the fire.
In the morning, Theresa fed us a fine full Irish breakfast before they sent us off nicely dried out and with a tasty lunch for our walk. Lovely place. Great people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angusmcsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed three nights at Lough Dan House in the Wicklow Mountains is an ideal location to explore this wonderfully picturesque area of Ireland. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Teresa who showed us to our room which overlooked Lough Dan in the valley below. The house and room were immaculately clean. The evening meal with free wine was excellent as was the full Irish breakfast on offer each morning. The house is very secluded and surrounded by open countryside. The Wicklow way runs close to the house making it an ideal overnight stop for walkers. A five minute drive takes you to the Village of Roundwood with many good pubs and restaurants.
A resident fox made two appearances just outside the lounge at the front of the house. There are badgers nearby, although we did not see them. Swallows and house martins swoop around the house and various warblers sing in the wooded area at the rear of the house. Theresa and Sean were always on hand to give advice as to the best places to visit. Overall a great place to stay or a peaceful retreat or a base to explore this wonderful area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Beautiful location and only an hour from Dublin makes this soooo perfect: and we couldn't have felt more welcome. This Guesthouse is absolutely charming, rather like a very superior ski chalet, very cosy and spotlessly clean. Crackling log fire every night, magnificent views, tons of maps and walking equipment was helpfully supplied. . . Food is superb and beds luxurious. Lovely big rooms, proper bath in the ensuite not just a shower which is very thoughtful after a rainy day in the hills. .. we met some lovely guests, and Sean and Teresa are the perfect hosts. Very helpful suggestions with walks and nothing seems to be too much trouble . . . thoroughly recommended although I am tempted to keep this a secret. .. . shhhhhh .. . . .

Room Tip: All the rooms are first class, all have views and some have 3 beds . .. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHandJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Not recommended
We were booked in here for one overnight in July. We had retired to bed when at about 11.30pm we felt insects on our arms and looked up to see that a swarm of midges had infested the room and were crawling over the bedclothes, walls and ceiling. We tried telephoning the proprietor who was off-site to no avail and then spoke to his daughter who was at home and explained the situation. We were disturbed by the event and reluctant to stay on having lost confidence in the accommodation. Also, I had been very badly bitten. She apologised profusely to us, explaining that midges are a big problem there at this time of year, and we left thinking that was that - our stay ruined but glad to be out of it. However, worse was to come as the proprietor subsequently saw fit to charge our card in full in our absence.


PS Have also submitted complaint to Failte Ireland, whom they are accredited with. Obviously not sleeping!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed 4 nights and 3 days with Sean and Theresa and loved every minute. They are great hosts. The location is quiet and beautiful, the food is first rate, the service impeccable. They suggested just the right walks for me and picked me up at the end of the day. Transportation to and from Dublin was much appreciated. And it's very reasonably priced for all that you get. I highly recommend Laugh Dan House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayland R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We took a group of 13 Canadians to Lough Dan House in May of this year for a guided hiking tour of the Wicklow Hills.
It far exceeded our expectations. Accommodation was very comfortable and clean.
The food was excellent - breakfast, packed lunch and dinner each day. Dinner was 3 courses and restaurant quality.
Sean put together some very interesting and beautiful hikes and helped organize our "free days".
Sean and Theresa are excellent hosts, and we would not hesitate to go back there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Thank you Sean and Teresa for a great stay at your guesthouse! We would recommend anyone traveling in Ireland to come to Wicklow area and the Loughdan guesthouse is the perfect place to stay during such a trip. lovely people, delicious food and quiet place. Can't wait to come and visit Ireland again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundwood
8.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,063 reviews
7.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
531 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
171 reviews
9.2 mi away
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.6 mi away
Trooperstown Wood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loughdan House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loughdan House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Carrigeenduff, Roundwood, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Roundwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roundwood
Price Range: $116 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Dan House is situated over 1000 feet up in the Wicklow Mountains on an eighty-acre hill farm, overlooking Lough Dan, the largest natural lake on the east coast of Ireland. Beside The Wicklow Way, it is the perfect location for a Walking Holiday, whether for a short one or two day break, or for a much longer Holiday. Loughdan House is the perfect base for your walking holiday in Ireland, Your accommodation is of the highest standard, located 300 metres up in the mountains enjoying spectacular views of nature, lakes and landscapes. Laundry and drying room is always available. Delicious and exciting meals served each evening at a time to suit you. And we also provide trips to a variety of excellent pubs and entertainment in the evenings. Fully organised Walking Holidays are catered for which covers everything you could possibly need for a most pleasant and refreshing break. This includes all transport, accommodation, delicious home cooking, serving all locally produced meats and vegetables from the farm, game from the mountain and fish from the lakes and rivers. Four course evening meals with exciting choice of menu served with wine or other refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Loughdan House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing