We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break, great setup, great people, great value.”
Review of Mill Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Foulksmills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mill Farm Cottages
Dublin Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great break, great setup, great people, great value.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just had a lovely break here and one of first jobs when I got home was to book my next visit, think that says it all.

Lovely cottages in a lovely setting, nice play area and animals for children. Very welcoming and informative about places to see and visit.

Have already recommended to good friends and I only do that when I'm sure about something.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SK1439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed here summer 2011 and will be booking for this summer too. We have two young children and didn't have to worry about keeping them entertained. They were able to spend all their time outside playing in the enclosed courtyard/garden with all the toys/animals. Our 5 year old was thrilled by her breakfast egg that she collected herself from the chickens! As a result my husband and I also had a fantastically relaxed stay! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We totally agree with the previous review. We have used Mill Farm Cottage twice over the past 2 years, March 09 for 1 week and again in January 2010 for 10 days. Austin and Catherine are the perfect hosts. On our last visit it snowed while we were staying in Wexford, Austin supplied toy tractors, trailers, shovels and buckets for our children to play outside, they had a ball.

The accommodation is warm, clean and very well equipped. The cottage is a 2 minute walk to the local village which has a shop, post office and a couple of very Irish pubs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marti1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We recently spent a week staying in 2 cottages at Mill Farm Cottages in Foulksmills, Wexford. I can highly recommend this place, run by Austin and Catherine Redmond. From the moment of our enquiry until after our departure, this couple went out of their way to make us feel really welcome. We had some crises with lost luggage, and Austin drove to another town to meet the airline courier. That is just one thing. They answered all our questions, brought us messages, and provided extremely comfortable, nicely furnished, bright accommodation. Very spacious, extremely well equipped with masses of toys and activities - indoor and outdoor - for the kids. We could not have been happier. This is a place to consider if you are visiting the area. The website is www.millfarmcottage.com.

Wexford County seems not to be high on the tourist agenda. Yet, it is a delightful county and well worth a visit, especially if you prefer some peace and quiet. The locals were friendly wherever we went, and getting around was easy. The scenery is pretty and there are some lovely beaches (and occasionally even nice enough weather for a swim!) The southeast of Ireland is considered the sunniest part of the country. I wouldn't recommend Ireland if you are looking for really hot weather, but I would recommend it if you are looking for a very friendly holiday in beautiful surroundings. There are a lot of interesting old castles and one of the oldest working lighthouses in the world that is worth visiting. Plus, we were very close to the ancestral home of JFK. The JKF arboretum, Irish National Heritage Park, and the Dunbrody Famine Ship are all worth visiting, as is the Waterford Crystal Showroom (most sadly, the factory has closed down).

We were impressed by how child-friendly the area is. There are a lot of restaurants and pubs, as well as tourist sites, that cater exceptionally well for children with play areas, etc. We have not encountered this to the same extent elsewhere.

My golfer brother was very enthusiastic about the golf courses.

Give Wexford and surrounds a try. You'll be very pleasantly surprised.

Helpful?
6 Thank travellingmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Farm Cottages

Property: Mill Farm Cottages
Address: | Haresmead, Foulksmills, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Foulksmills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Foulksmills
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mill Farm Cottages Foulksmills, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing