We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern history”
Review of Horetown House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Foulksmills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horetown House
Ranked #1 of 1 Foulksmills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern history”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Located well off the main roads, Horetown house really gave us a feel that we really were escaping the rat race.

Open fires, historical sitting rooms and a cosy bar with good food meant we didn't even consider leaving in the evening in search of a restaurant or local bar.

The rooms are all individually decorated and ours, the William Davis Goff suite, had two huge beds and plenty of storage. The bathroom was very tastefully decorated and my partner spent hours in the enormous iron bath soaking herself into a comatose state!

My advice is visit this gorgeous stately home and experience a new level of relaxation!

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated, but no lift means second floor is a bit of a hike!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollywood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horetown H, Manager at Horetown House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Good Afternoon Hollywood,

We are delighted that you and your partner thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank you for your kind review of Horetown House.


We look forward to welcoming you to Horetown House again In the Near Future.


Kind regards
Mairead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    10
    7
    11
See reviews for
39
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our adventure really began when we switched off the GPS and we stumbled upon Horetown House , by using the correct directions on our paper map and with the helpful guidance of the friendly locals. When we arrived, much later than expected, one of the owners offered us supper, even though the chef was long gone. This was the beginning of the generosity we experienced during our weekend stay. Snuggled in the heart of beautiful Foulkmills, this elegant country home is well looked after and inviting. The menus from which we ordered were filled with gorgeous delights and the dining room was well staffed and we loved that our waitresses could describe the dishes at length. There is a little bar down stairs where you're surrounded by reminders of times gone by and if you ask, there are musical instruments lining the walls waiting to be stirred back to life. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a plush room with a beautiful view and that's where you'll stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fidelma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horetown H, Manager at Horetown House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Horetown House. We pride ourselves on welcoming people to Our home and enjoying our hospitality. We like to offer people much more than the commercial welcome and generic greetings. We hope to welcome you back to Horetown house in the near future


Kind Regards
Horetown House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I was here recently for a wedding and found the location to be brilliant,very private.the food was really nice and the staff very friendly.the problems for me was that I felt in places the standard of cleanleness was very poor,on 3 different occasions I walked into cobwebs they were to be seen everywher,the basement bar nice as it is smelt of dampness and finally the price of drinks in the bar were excessive I felt(this is 2012 Hello resession)and this is something a lot of guests commented on and did feel was a rip off.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Decem01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horetown H, Manager at Horetown House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review on Horetown House. We are delighted that you found Horetown house to be great for a wedding and that you found the food to be good. We pride ourselves on being that bit different and offering Guests and wedding guests top class hospitality. We would be delighted if you could contact us directly to discuss the negative aspects of this review as we do have high standards of cleanliness throughout the property and measures to keep these in place so we would like to know exactly what you are talking about. In terms of the damp smell in the 1692 bar, it is located in the cellar of a house built in 1692 with stone walls so unfortunately from time to time you will get a slight smell from the walls which we feel adds to the charm of the property.

Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future


Kind Regards
Horetown House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed in Horetown House with my partner about two weeks ago. We have never been to Wexford, but it is a great place to visit if you enjoy the countryside!

Wen did not know what to expect at Horetown House. We both work in hotels, so we were really hoping for a nice room and lovely visit. When we arrived we were delighted to find out we were in the lackin suite. The whole hotel has obviously undergone massive refurbishment to portray a beautiful historical house, we felt more like guests in a luxurious house rather than a hotel, it was lovely!

Tom and Bernie White, the owners, were both there when we visited the hotel. They were very accommodating and really made is feel at home so we would like to say a massive thank you!
We had bar food on our first night which was delicious so compliments to the chef! The only thing that stopped me from giving a five star is that there is no restaurant during the week. The bar food stops at half nine, however as the hotel becomes more and more popular I have no doubt that this will change! Times are hard in rural Ireland so we pray that more and more people hear about your hotel and enjoy it as much as we did!

There are plenty of places to see in Wexford! Make sure you bring a car and travel to Hooks Head; we also visited a local historical abbey and botanic gardens. Remeber its the sunny south east! The rest of Ireland was raining however we were blessed with great weather.

Overall its a fantastic place, the detail into the refurbishment and antiques is impressive!
I would say for a wedding, it would be fantastic!

Thanks again!!!
Debbie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Booked a suite on a third party site was given a confirmation email detailing what was included in the deal! Unfortunately when we arrived it was not the case. I paid extra for a suite but to be honest I have no idea why .... Never mind the room not been what was described ... No robes no slippers pretty standard in fact ! But it then further disappointed in that it was less than what I wud expect from a standard room ... Not even a hair dryer or the ability to make a cup of tea. We ate in the bar as I was not prepared to pay the price for the dinner in the restaurant as I knew it would not be worth it .... Even worse the pub food was less than the standard expected for even pub grub ... Chips raw salad limp oh I could go on. The most disappointing factor of all was that the staff merely blamed the third party site for the confirmation they sent me and were really unwilling to even throw in a breakfast or something of value . They did offer us a drink or bottle of wine but to be honest I felt like it was just to shut us up ! I appreciate things happen but I won't be back and I certainly would not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Esther-tusset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horetown H, Manager at Horetown House, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and i would like to apologise that your experience was not an enjoyable one. We pride ourselves on offering outstanding service and luxury accommodation. The room that you were staying in is our Young suite and is a fabulous suite with queen size bed separate sitting room and jacuzzi bath ensuite. This suite is decorated to the highest standards and to say that it was less than standard is not the case. The hairdryer is located in the drawer in the sitting room of the bedroom and is detailed in our guest directory as is the fact that we offer complimentary tea and coffee to all our guests you just need to contact reception and this will be arranged for you like many luxury hotels. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and it seems that you had been put off from the start and that our efforts to try and appease you were in vain. Should we have had another suite with a four poster bed we would have moved you into this but as outlined in the confirmation you received our suites offer either a four poster bed or a separate sitting room.


Please don't hesitate to contact us directly should you wish to discuss this further on the above matter, again apologies for your disappointment in Horetown House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My Boyfriend and I stayed here on the August Bank Holiday weekend and have to say we had a lovely relaxing time. There was a mix up initially when we arrived - as we had received confirmation from a third party booking site that we had been reserved the ‘Bridal Suite’ (Lady Fitzgerald Room) only to be informed by the receptionist that it had been reserved for someone else. We stuck to our guns and in fairness to the staff member she eventually sorted it out and we were shown to our gorgeous bed room.

The room and bathroom were very spacious and comfortable - especially the bed! I was a little disappointed to see that there wasn’t any bathrobe and slippers as promised by the third party booking site. When I enquired with the receptionist she said she “didn’t know” and failed to follow up with “house keeping” for us. The two drawing rooms open to guest were a little dreary as there were multiple flower vases around with flowers a good few days their best. It was a few small things like the robes and flowers that made me feel we were staying in a top-end B&B rather than a Luxury Country House Hotel.

We ate at Horetown on both nights, once in the main dining room and once in the snug 1962 bar. Both meals were excellent and very good value for money. There was a function on in the hotel on the Saturday night which did go on quite late but both of us were so tired that we slept through the noise. Generally I would recommend this hotel no problem for a short break away from the hussle and bustle of city living.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horetown H, Manager at Horetown House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Horetown House Hotel and for your review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room and your meals with us. We strive to achieve a friendly and efficient service at Horetown House and are disappointed that this did not come across thoroughly to you. We will take all of your comments on board and learn from these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Got a ‘Groupon’ deal in this hotel which was 3 nights B&B and 1 evening meal. We were allocated the ‘Lady Fitzgerald Suite’ which I believe is the best room in the house. It was very spacious and well equipped with a very large bathroom. Super four-poster bed and robes and slippers.
Tom and Bernie were very good hosts.
Breakfast in the dining room was very good with an excellent selection of continental fare and freshly cooked full Irish with eggs how you wished.
We had dinner in the dining room 1 night and were very impressed with the service and quality of the food.
All in all it was a very good experience and I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone. It is a small and intimate boutique experience. You feel you are staying with friends in their house and this has to be one of the best compliments I can pay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foulksmills
5.7 mi away
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballinaboola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
9.8 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
10.6 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brookvale
Brookvale
#2 of 4 in Wellingtonbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horetown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horetown House

Property: Horetown House
Address: Horetown, Foulksmills, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Foulksmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Foulksmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horetown House is a 17th-century country house in Wexford. This family run 10 bedroom house is a historic country home, restored to its former glory with sympathetic modern additions, luxurious rooms, original Drawing rooms and with a full bar located in the original wine cellar, serving a menu of modern and rustic meals. We host dinner upstairs in the dining room on special dates throughout the year and cater for private parties. Horetown House is available for weddings and private house takeovers, also family occasions and general celebrations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horetown House Foulksmills, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing