We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glendine Country House Has Something For Everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glendine Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Arthurstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Glendine Country House Has Something For Everyone”
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Glendine House in County Wexford, Ireland is a wonderful B&B in the "sunny south-west" of Ireland. Located just 10 minutes from Waterford City, this 1830 Georgian Manor is a perfect stay for a romantic getaway (book their suite), an overnight stop on an Irish roadtrip or a multi-night stay with children.

We stayed with our two daughters and my mother. The rooms were spacious and filled with beautiful antiques. All have ensuite baths with shower, sink (vanity) and toilet.

We were warmly welcomed by Rita (who assists the owners) and served tea, scones and jam in the parlor.

Breakfast is served in the morning with a choice of hot breakfast, including the "Full Irish", smoked salmon and French toast, and also a buffet of cereals, fruits, yogurt, breads and jam.

The grounds are expansive and include a play area for children as well as animals that can be hand fed carrots (provided upon request).

For a more extensive review- including photos and video please visit Blog.HaveKidWillTravel.com and click the Ireland link on the left hand side.

  • Liked — The grounds, play area and animals for the kids. Also great as a touring base.
  • Disliked — Nothing- Loved it!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishgrl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendinehouse, Owner at Glendine Country House, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Thank you so much for your review
AnnC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    16
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
69
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

This was a beautiful place to stay.. We were in the new wing with a bay window with a view of the bay. The room was huge and the decor beautiful. The bathrooms all seemed to be small in Ireland but with great water pressure. The food was excellent and my husband loved the eggs and salmon. You'll like their cattle in the front yard, long-hair highlanders.

Just 2 minutes away was the ferry to Waterford and the rt fee was 11 euros but it saved us over one hour r.t.

Found Waterford very interesting and although it was their holiday a skeleton crew was there demonstrating their amazing work.

Kilkenny is worth the stop. Go to Langtons for lunch while there.

Don't make the mistake that we did taking R704 home, it made those other driveways roads seem wide and safe!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Morey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendinehouse, Owner at Glendine Country House, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Thank you so much for review
AnnC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackendale, Bc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

My husband and I booked 2 nights here on our bicycle trip around southern Ireland. It was the first 2 nights of a bank holiday weekend and was to be a special break for us. After riding 83 km from Wexford (we got lost a little along the way), we arrived to find that Ann had lost our reservation for 2 nights and only had us booked in for one night. She asked for proof of our reservation but because we were travelling by bicycle we weren't carrying proof of all our reservations. Unfortunately, her policy is to delete e-mails re: reservation as soon as she writes them down and my proof was at home on my computer. Perhaps it would be a good idea for her to not delete the e-mails until the time of the trip has come and gone.
The house itself was beautiful and I'm sure in other circumstances we would have been very happy here. Ann did find us another place to stay for the second night but it was overpriced in comparison. So, a bit of a disappointing experience.

  • Liked — Beautiful room, beautiful house
  • Disliked — lost our reservation
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LonyM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendinehouse, Owner at Glendine Country House, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. I felt so sorry for you getting lost from wexford as it is only 30 km. not 83 km and undestandably very tiring. I have taken on board your idea for not deleting any emails til guests have departed and am happy with this. I had apologised for confusion over 2nd night but I did find you a alternative accommodation on this busy weekend. Again apologies for this and happy cycling,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We spent 5 nights in B&Bs and this was by far the nicest. Our room was very spacious, had a view of the water, and was decorated with antiques. Breakfast was also well done and served by Ann's husband, Tosh.

If you are traveling from Waterford take the ferry for 8 euros.

If you are a golfer look up Frank Brown at the 18-hole Par 3 Abbey course down the road.

The Hollow Bar down the street is a step above the average pub. You will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hokiecoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendinehouse, Owner at Glendine Country House, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review us

AnnC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
0.4 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
3.3 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
4.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marsh Mere Lodge
Marsh Mere Lodge
#2 of 3 in Arthurstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seashells Bed & Breakfast
Seashells Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Duncannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendine Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendine Country House

Property: Glendine Country House
Address: Wexford | New Ross, Arthurstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star guest house in South East ireland.. Located on the hook peninsula with views of the river barrow. This Georgian house was recently refurbished and is family run by the Crosbie family with beautiful luxurious spacious rooms. Several top restaurants (award winning) nearby that you can walk to or can be dropped to/from free of charge . We have 50 acres of woodlands, gardens, paddocks with Deer, Highland Cattle and Jacob Sheep (black & white ones)... Children feed the deer after breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glendine Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing