We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
dublin
1 review
“Really relaxing”
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Hotel is a really country spot which is really beautiful and really peaceful.

We had one of the most relaxing weekends...room was beautiful, food was amazing and the staff were really friendly and professional.
Very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel which made it is relaxing.
Definitely worth the trip for a special occasion..you wont want to leave!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaffajenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    134
    97
    70
    45
See reviews for
99
368
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kilkenny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Travelled to Dunbrody House in October for a quick get away break with my wife and and we thouroughly enjoyed it. The service we received from the staff was commensurate with the price of the package (we got Champagne, Dinner, B & B and a copy of Kevin's latest cook book). When we arrived we enjoyed a long leisurely afternoon in front of the roaring fire before being served an array of gastronomic masterpieces in the dining room. We were officially spoiled rotten. The next day we enjoyed a fantastic day at the cookery school with a really nice group of people. We learned all about Easy Entertaining and are very much thinking of returning for the Masterclass course-It was fantastic. We had fish and chips in the bar that night and a great Sancerre white and then bed. Breakfast is served till noon every morning and we availed of it before heading back to reality. Earlier in the year we had stayed in Arthurstown and am now convinced that this is a gem in in the Irish Tourist Industry. When we were lchecking out we met Kevin & Catherine who had just returned rrom some Awards ceremony where they had scopped top awards-we drove off home and knew why......

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kilcumney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Since August our life as happy professionals has been restricted with the arrival of a cocker spaniel blue roan - so when we had finally organised a dog trainer/sitter for two nights getaway - well we had to pick a winning venue - and with various recommendations over the years - and the fact that Kevin Dundons almost constant tv coverage as a chef on the up - we said lets spash out and get a suite and 2 nights stay and one dinner in the restaurant for a fair price - if it lived up to its reputation. Well to cut to the chase - wow - we got room 230 - a suite that is at the top off the house - great views and balcony - spacious, warm and noisefree. So the food - outrageously good - and thats from the bar food menu of fish and chips and steak on the first night to 5 Star Cusine dinning supervised by the lovely Catherine Dundon on the second night - papers delivered to our in the morning including the racing post - then the breakfasts - just great cusine in every detail - bravo to real owners who deliver on their promise - we'll be back once we find another crazy person to mind our cocker spaniel. The Sancerre with gooseberry hint is a must from a wine list that covers a multitude. OK - so your thinking their must have been a downside - only one - we had to order honey for my wifes toast - and they had had great honey - so my honey tells me!! Anyways you got go - I read some of the others comments that gave average reviews - well we have travelled the world eating and I assure you Dunbrody is heaven for two days.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rorybrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I and my husband visited Dunbrody at the last week of October. We had such a nice time here. This famous chef, Mr Dundon and his wife were so warm to us, helping us with our bags and explaining the food menu to us.

The hotel is so nice and confortable. Our room was wonderful and I don't know how they do it, but the bed was the softest I have slept in. We have taken lovely walks around the grounds of the hotel and visited the many places nearby, always returning to this lovely warm hotel for the evening.

We were so sad to leave and will definitely return one day for another visit.

Jens and Sabina from Stuttgart

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sabina36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I recently had the pleasure of staying in Dunbrody with a group of girl friends and having read some not so good reviews I really felt compelled to write this review in their defence. On arrival we were met and greeted warmly by the receptionist who showed us around with great enthusiasm before showing us to our rooms. We were also offered complimentary tea or coffee which is seemingly Dunbrody’s policy.

The house itself is homely and comfortable with beautiful gardens and a friendly atmosphere. We felt at home immediately. We are a bunch of hard working young mums and either with our partners or each other have stayed in other well known country houses around Ireland. We look forward to getting away from the hum drum of life and relaxing. Dunbrody was up there with the best. We found the staff to be friendly and informal without being too causal and the food was amazing. Above all it was lovely to catch up with friends in a welcoming and cosy environment and forget about the real world for a while!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We recieved a Blue Book Property gift voucher as a wedding present and after looking at the properties available we decided on Dunbrody based on it's location, it's reputation as a top hotel and Kevin Dundons reputation as a top Irish chef. We stayed for a Saturday & Sunday night and our package was for two night's B n B plus one dinner for €500. We had our dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night and the atmosphere there is really nice, not at all pompous and with friendly staff. There were a few cock up's with the service that included ordering red wine to have with mains which didn't arrive until we were nearly finished the course. The meal was nice if not exceptional and was too cold for my taste. I had much higher expectations. We had a couple of drinks in the bar and went on to bed. Our room was very nice, comfortable and warm with a fantastic view of the garden and grounds. however I agree with some other reviewers here that Dunbrody could do with a little bit of constructive critisism and a good handyman to check out the entire house. There are far too many obvious signs of neglect and complacency. Drinks and food in the bar is way too expensive and I don't think the formal dinner menu is worth €65 per person. It's just not good enough. I went to Dunbrody expecting something special but came home feeling let down and a little bit ripped off.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Stayed in Dunbrody in August. From the moment we arrived it was evident that our stay was not going to match the price we paid for it. Greeted in a lukewarm manner at reception and shown to our Room. The ceiling was all mouldy over the bed and the valence sheet was dirty on the bed. Pointed out problem to housekeeping and reception moved us without apology, so dragging our bags across the hall and up the stairs but the room we were moved to was a twin room and so we had to leave that. Dragged our bags out of there and all the way back to the other side of the house and up to the Attic! This room had so many defects including a dirty carpet, creaking bed, broken lamp shade, hand held shaving mirror was only mirror in bathroom .. I could go on and on! Complained the following morning and had intended to leave but reception said they would move our room and we went along with this. So Sorry we did. The room was perfectly acceptable but our stay was now upset. We had paid for a superior room as opposed to a standard and were shocked at the treatment. I would truly not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel and I have never felt as strongly about anywhere we have ever stayed and we have travelled a lot. The hotel recently won a Hotel and Catering Gold Medal Award and I have no idea why. We received no apology on our check out, got charged in full and quite frankly I think their number is up! I would not adivse anyone to stay at this hotel. Wrote and complained and were in no way happy with the response.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenzer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
5.1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
20.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,668 reviews
10.2 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbrody Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Property: Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing