We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Appalling customer service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently wanted to take friends to Dunbrody House for a meal. None of us had eaten there before, but had heard good reports and were looking forward to our visit.

Two days before our planned visit, my wife called in to the hotel and spoke to someone in reception to enquire about booking. As we were planning to use the Early Bird menu at 7pm, she was told that there was no need to book, 'just turn up'.

On the evening in question, we arrived at 6:50pm and walked into the reception area, which was deserted. After five or six minutes we decided to go looking for a someone to help us. We walked into the bar and found that this was not staffed either, so we went back to reception. After several more minutes a woman came rushing through the door, struggling to get her uniform jacket on. She apologised breathlessly for the delay and asked us to go through to the bar where she would sort us out with drinks and a menu.

We went and found a table and then sat waiting. The waitress appeared a few times; on each occasion running with drinks or menus for other guests. Each time she passed she apologised for the delay and said she would be with us shortly. After around thirty minutes, we eventually got menus, but these were for bar food. We pointed out that we had come for the Early Bird meal in the dining room and asked if we could get a bottle of wine while we waited.

The wine was a long time coming and whilst we sat waiting we watched as two or three waitresses charged around furiously between the bar and the restaurant. Every now and then, one would stop and enquire if we were being attended to and we replied that were waiting for a bottle of wine which we had ordered. This eventually turned up at 8pm, over an hour after we had arrived.

At that point we asked if we could go straight through to the restaurant, as we were getting hungry. We were shown through by a waitress who ran ahead of us and disappeared with our wine. After checking a couple of rooms, we found her looking somewhat exasperated at the fact that we hadn't kept up. We were shown to a table and told that someone would be with us shortly to take our order.

After a few minutes a woman appeared, who seemed to be in charge of the restaurant. She was initially very pleasant and asked what we would like to order. We said we had come for the Early Bird meal. At that point she told us that the Early Bird menu was finished for the evening, as it was now too late, so we would have to order from the main menu. We explained that we had been waiting for well over an hour, having arrived in plenty of time for the Early Bird. The woman then asked if we had booked, to which my wife replied that we had not, having been told that this was not necessary. To this, the woman replied that, 'no-one here would have told you that', effectively calling my wife a liar.

By now, we had just about had enough and were on the verge of leaving, but the woman sensed that trouble was coming and said that if we promised not to tell anyone, she would see if the chef still had any Early Bird meals available, implying that this was some sort of favour to us. We told her what meals we wanted and eventually got fed at around 9pm. The food was pretty average, but under the circumstances, anything would have been welcome.

All in all, this was one of the worst restaurant experiences I have ever had. It made Fawlty Towers look like a Michelin Five Star.

Fortunately, in keeping with all customers, we have the option to avoid such dismal service by eating elsewhere in future, which given the quality of other establishments in the area, we most certainly will.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Gewitty,

Thank you for your recent review of your experience with us.
I apologise for your visit on the night in question, I can assure you that it would be far from our usual high standard of service and timings.
Can I ask that you might send me your details by email as I would like to contact you regarding your visit. My email address is pmernagh@dunbrodyhouse.com.
Thank you once again for your feedback, I would hope to be in touch with you in the near future.

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    138
    100
    71
    46
See reviews for
107
381
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Centre
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed for one night in Dunbrody and have to disagree with some of the negative comments on here. We received a very warm welcome on arrival and an upgrade to one of the garden suites. There is a very friendly atmosphere in the hotel and really felt a personal touch. The garden and surrounds are so scenic with lovely walks. We had dinner in the main restaurant, and although it is pricey, it was an experience and the presentation and taste were first class. Overall - although the stay was expensive - it was an experience that I won't forget and is definitely worth the visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was lucky enough to win a voucher for 2 b+b and 1 dinner here. I hope the owners realise what an asset the staff are to this hotel, from Jenny at check in to Margaret when checking out and everyone we met in between, everyone was so pleasent, helpful and professional. The food was really fab , shared beef joint for two which was faultless. Pancakes for breakfast were the best have eaten.
I was surprised that there was no coffee making facilities in the room, the iron which I got from reception was a travel size. There are two sitting rooms which are full of character in terms of decor but apart from 1 newspaper there was nothing else to read etc. The surface of the driveway up to the hotel is unbelievably bad while many of the guests have 4 X 4s they need to consider those of us who dont !.
Overall found the hotel really relaxing in a beautiful setting with fabulous staff and great food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munford, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dunbrody Country House on the seventh night of our honeymoon trip to Ireland. Although a bit out of the way from Waterford, the location was beautiful and wonderfully peaceful. It was very nice to be able to sleep with the windows open and a cool breeze flowing through the spacious room. We were late arriving, but still warmly welcomed. Dinner that night was very nice. The manager conversed with us like we were simply part of the family, and the servers were friendly and attentive. We never felt rushed, even though we were the last to leave. Breakfast was a buffet of meats, cheeses, and pastries, as well as a variety of hot items on the menu. Check out was quick and easy. Everything was great. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waylon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The ambience and surroundings are fantastic and the front of house very good, however, the wines are ludicrously overpriced and appeared to be standard supermarket fare. With regard to the food, all I can say is that the portion sizes on our visit were comical. My main consisted of 2 lamb chops the size of a £2 coin and a piece of black pudding in pastry! Normally under such circumstances I would seek solace in the wine, but on this occasion the French sauvignon was doing such a good job removing the enamel from our teeth all we could do was ask for the bill and make a hasty exit. On a serious note though, my wife's lobster main arrived at the table completely uncooked, not good, not good at all.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Dunbrody Country House Hotel, is a great place for a visit and the food is exceptional.
The rooms are what you expect from these old houses. The TV didn't work which was ironic for a premises owned by a TV personality chef. I was sorted out quickly, as was the cracked cup.
The ambience is what you would expect from these style of houses, and there were extensive grounds to wander and explore in. They had an excellent Longueville Craft cider, and great staff.
The 5 course meal was excellent and a visual as well as a palate pleasing meal. There was a wonderful selection of breads and some lovely cheffy touches and very attentive staff.
The morning breakfast was a treat, and it was unfortunate that a dark hair turned up with a glorious smoked trout. I was dealt with immediately and with care and concern. The price of one breakfast was deducted from the breakfast, with me asking for it.
We had a wonderful visit and would heartily recommend this House to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night in end of April, we received a brilliant welcome when we arrived. We were upgraded when we checked in . The room was spacious and comfortable. There was no kettle or dvd player in room but when we contacted reception there was no problem and was sorted straight away. The food was lovely but very rich.We ate in the bar because we prefered the menu. There is a ferry in Arthurstown which runs every ten mins and is a real saving to travellers heading to Waterford or Kilkenny region.The J.K.F. heritage centre is close by , but you need a car.There is some lovely scenery nearby but you need transport. All in all the staff couldn't be more helpful . Just a note when you arrive there isn't a conventional reception desk, so you walk up to a desk and press the bell! I thought about champagne breakfast in bed but decided 20 E extra was too much ! Offers to be had on line. Check them out for a luxurious time with lovely staff and food

Room Tip: limited rooms because it is a small hotel and is often booked up for weddings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merylireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
5.1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
661 reviews
19.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
20.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbrody Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Property: Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing