We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constructive feedback”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Constructive feedback”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We enjoyed our weekend break at Dunbrody House and certainly endorse the positive comments as outlined by others but would be a little hesitant to return, which is a shame. The hostess Catherine Dundon is warm, professional and attentive without being intrusive or officious. The food is really excellent both at dinner and breakfast. The service is friendly and mostly helpful. The highlighted short-comings are intended as constructive feedback as we would like to return but would respectfully suggest that a few things need to be addressed before we would spend the best part of 1000 euro for a weekend at Dunbrody again. The arrival procedure where you wander until you find a member of staff is confusing and makes a poor first impression. I rang the reception number but there was no answer and assumed we came in the wrong door.The staff at breakfast are unsupervised and poorly trained. We ate our breakfasts at a 20 minute interval from each other due to a waitress error. I told her that we would prefer to eat together but she had been instructed by the chef to return the first plate (which she had wandered round the restaurant with) and that the next plate would follow. Not really good enough for the legendary relaxed breakfasts. There was no hot water in our suite on the first morning and only one bath towel in the evening. The net curtain at the garden window (room 302) was soiled. I think with better supervision/training of the staff who have been described elsewhere as "ditzy" and a little more attention to detail customers would be more inclined to make a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d6family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunbrodyHouse, Owner at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear D6Family,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted of course that you enjoyed both the dinner food and service but naturally very disappointed that breakfast did not measure up. My apologies for this. I have certainly passed on your comments to the Restaurant Manager who will ensure that new members staff are fully trained and fully understand the importance of breakfast, especially here at Dunbrody where we pride ourselves on our freshly cooked breakfasts which guests always enjoy particularly when served til Noon each day. Your housekeeping points have been rectified already and I hope you will come back to Dunbrody and enjoy all aspects of what we do fully on your return.
Kind Regards
Catherine and all the Dunbrody Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    134
    97
    70
    45
See reviews for
99
368
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Staying in Wexford town recently, we decided to celebrate my significant other’s significant birthday by splashing out on dinner at Dunbrody House Hotel, some 40 minutes drive to the west. The chef and proprietor is one of the new breed of young(ish) chefs making a name for themselves in Irish culinary circles. This was a midweek evening visit, and that may be significant. We arrived and found our way down a darkened corridor to where there was light, it transpired to be the bar, where the person who’d opened the door was handling a phone call. She then lit the fire (a very nice turf fire) and took our drinks orders. She subsequently also acted as maitre d’ and waitress. Since they only had 4 tables for dinner, she seated everyone in a smaller room (again with a turf fire; very nice, very cosy). The menu is not extensive, but provides sufficient variety of choice. The food was beautifully presented in a rather minimalist way - my partner’s scallop starter was really tasty but with just three scallops was finished too soon. The taste of the other dishes was also superb (excellent fillet steak) – in general. However, and a big however is that the boiled potatoes were quite underdone (the kind of situation where after forcing a knife through them, half a potato becomes a projectile with a will of its own). On seeking out the maitre d’/waitress/barman (found doing the accounts in the bar) she immediately apologised and insisted on replacing them and also providing some mashed potatoes (which were acceptable if a little more like potato puree). Errors happen in kitchens, but one would not expect it in a highly rated and expensive (€65 per person for the dinner menu) country house hotel restaurant. I feel Dunbrody House Hotel need to do at least two things to reach the standards to which they aspire (and charge). First, ensure that whoever is in charge in the kitchen does not let out items that are not properly cooked. Two, provide more front of house staff. We only saw one person, who while extremely charming was undertaking every front of house task. With at least one other set of customers dining in the bar area, it meant she was severely stretched. In this kind of establishment I would have expected someone from the kitchen to drop by and enquire were we enjoying our meals. The overall impression of what looks to be a very nice country house hotel was spoil by a basic error in the kitchen and was not enhanced by the notable lack of staff. We won’t be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajpdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I ate in the restaurant here with my wife and for her birthday and had a terrible experience.

When my main course came (venison) it came with spinach on the side. When I put my spinach on my plate I discovered a moving insect on my plate crawling around on my food. I immediately called the nearest member of staff and told her what the problem was. I did so discretely as I hate making a fuss and have never sent a meal back in my life before.

The meal was taken away and brought back less than 2 minutes later. What the restaurant had done was move my venison to a new plate and given it back to me. The side order of vegetables that the insect originally came from was not changed. So I was left with venison that had a bug crawling on it and vegetables that the bug originated from.

I tried to make my peace with it and get on with it and then the restaurant had the cheek to charge me full price for the meal.

Hugely disappointed with the whole experience and for €60+ euro for a 3 course meal this was totally unacceptable

Please note below I have only rated the restuarant on service and value as the other elements aren't relevant to this review.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lassykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunbrody, Owner at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear lassyck,
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your main course with us last Saturday night and having apologised on the night and explained that the insect could have come form the fresh herbs (that are so fresh they come from our own organic herb garden adjacent to the kitchen) or possibly even from the fresh flowers on the table, we immediately replaced your venison with another one.
The reason it came so quickly is because it was from a different order that was due to go to a different table. We prioritised you so you would be able to eat at the same time as your guests and not have to wait. I myself apologised both to you and to the other table whose service was then delayed. We would not dream of re-plating a dish that was sent back, it was shown to the chef and went straight to the bin. Had you asked me on the night I would have been very happy to explain this.
Kind Regards
Catherine Dundon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

What a shame! The hotel is beautiful on the outside but the room was awful--broken lights, soiled carpet and chair covers, windows that couldn't be properly closed. There was no one to help carry luggage up to the top floor. The famed chef wasn't even present as far as we could tell. Yes, very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FSH_203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunbrody, Owner at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear FSH_203
Thank you for your comments. As a 4 star hotel we are not obliged to offer porterage but all of us who look after check-ins offer to carry bags or get someone to carry them. Nor are we required to room all guests individually but again this is all part and parcel of our own service.
With regard to your own booking you had requested a balcony and the only balcony room we had was on the top floor. We are a listed building and have no lift. You elected not to stay in that room but viewed quite a few others before choosing one on the ground floor which had not been due to be occupied and had not been double-checked by House-keeping in advance which would have prevented the issues that subsequently arose with the light-bulb and door fixing.
The "famed chef" you refer to and I were on a week's well-deserved holiday at a friend's wedding and we have every confidence in our staff to maintain the standards expected when we are here. I am sorry if you found this not to be the case and were disappointed.
Kind Regards
Catherine Dundon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

I may be biased on this review as my best friend hired the place exclusively for her wedding. From the first drive into the hotel it is impressive. When we arrived we were greeted by warm and friendly staff. I quickly ran up to check the room out and wasn’t disappointed. All the rooms are individually decorated and I loved ours. The only thing I felt was missing was a duvet as we had blankets and got a bit cold during the night. I think this was due to asking for no feathers as my partner is asthmatic.

The staff were amazingly helpful. Where ever I turned they were offering their assistance. They even accommodated our drinking and sign along in the residence bar till 5am and offered guests staying in neighbouring B&B’s a lift home as they knew it would be difficult to get cabs.

Breakfast the next morning was gorgeous but the staff were a little ditzy and it was difficult to get their attention.

Overall we really enjoyed the experience and the food was amazing. The grounds to the hotel are stunning and wish we had more time to explore them. I would defiantly return for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidy_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunbrody, Owner at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Aidy-Lady,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Dunbrody so much. All of us here at Dunbrody enjoy looking after weddings as this is great partyt house especially when you have the whole place to yourselves! We hope you return again and will look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Wishes
Catherine Dundon & all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had our wedding for 104 guests in Dunbrody House in early September. We are originally from Ireland, but live in London, so we had to organise the wedding mostly from aboard. The entire experience we had in dealing with the Catherine and her team was amazing. From initial meetings, the unforgettable menu tasting, multiple conversations over the phone to the final meetings the week of the wedding. Catherine is an expert at organisation and has impeccable taste. Every request was catered for and she made us so relaxed every time we talked.

The staff are very experienced and professional. The service on the day was truly exceptional. Everything went according to plan and the staff ran the dinner service using military precision. Guests were easily checked in and any special requests were handled efficiently and with charm.

The food in Dunbrody is some of the finest I have ever tasted. Unlike normal venues that give you a collection of wedding menus to choose from, Dunbrody can cook anything you desire. The food on the wedding day was stunning. Restaurant quality food served to each guest on time and perfectly cooked. Including canapés and afters food, all seven courses were delicious. We also had many vegetarians and guests with nut allergies and they were all accommodated effortlessly.

All the guests were commenting on the standard of the food. Even weeks after the wedding we are getting phone calls and letters from guests and they all mention the quality of the food.

We had full use of the 22 bedrooms which included 6 suites. Calling them bedrooms does them a disservice, each room is uniquely styled and massive. The guest lodge is a beautiful addition to the hotel. The grounds of Dunbrody are lovely, from the large gardens and patios with fountains, to the pond and vegetable patches.

We are so glad we choose Dunbrody as our wedding venue, it was perfect!

Room Tip: The suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kb_london_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunbrody, Owner at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear kb_london_27,
Congratulations on your recent wedding here at Dunbrody and thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was a pleasure to look after you and your guests and we are really delighted that you enjoyed the day. Hopefully you both had a wonderful honeymoon and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best Wishes
Catherine Dundon & all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

The chowders which both Ms. Pathogen and I had at Dunbrody House, comprising of eight or so medium-sized pieces of fish and two mussels in a bath of luke warm, unseasoned liquid, weren't worth €10. I told the waitress and she duly reduced the bill to one bowl of chowder and that's fair enough - we had finished our meals for we were very hungry (and left hungry). She was incredulous (as were the other diners present..) to have received a complaint.
Besides the food and the service being friendly a foul smell pervaded both the interior and exterior of the place (I'm a country boy and I know farm from stench) and the tables we were seated at were a nightmare for lanky old pathogen (porn gape or demure damsel).
Now I wouldn't have bothered writing this, taking into account the reduced bill, other than for this reason: Ms Pathogen is a chowder addict and tries it wherever we go. Last October she had the best chowder of her life, ranted to friends about it and recommended the restaurant until it sounded like a mantra: "Dunbrody House, Dunbrody House". She's embarrassed, disappointed and hasn't touched the stuff since (formerly a once-a-day habit..).
Giving a celebrated Wexford establishment such a poor review is something I do
without malicious intent or any sense of self-satisfaction. Maybe we were there on the wrong day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pathogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunbrody, Owner at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear pathogen,
We cannot agree more. That farmers are permitted to spread whatever it is they spread and stink the rest of us out it is totally unacceptable. We had a week of that to endure and regardless of how many candles and fires were lit we could not get away from the smell. Personally I had a headache for a week. The smell seemed to permeate the very walls.
Sorry you didn't enjoy the chowder in the seafood bar, it is usually so well received that I can only assume it was an off-day as your friend's previous experience attested to. Hopefully you will return. Regarding the bar furniture, we do have alternative seating and dining options and we would have been happy to offer them assuming they were available at the time.
Hoping to see you again in more agreeable country air.
Kind Regards
Catherine Dundon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
5.1 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
7.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
19.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
10.2 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbrody Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Property: Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing