We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as usual”
Review of Marsh Mere Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marsh Mere Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Arthurstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This was our second visit to Marshmere and on arrival we were greeted like long lost friends. We were in the area to visit the Tall Ships festival in Waterford and from our previous visit we knew that the front porch of Marshmere would provide a perfect viewpoint over the bay from which to watch the tall ships going to sea. On the morning of the race we were invited to join a private champagne breakfast party being held to celebrate the festival. Warm sunshine, cold champagne, fabulous food and the sight of the ships going to sea under sail made for an unforgettable experience. Cannot speak highly enough of this gem!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qtimcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Marsh Mere Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 55 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

Charming b and b. Clean rooms. Nice location. Short walk from Dunbrody Country House. However, I would not stay here again as paying 120 euros for 1 night felt like a complete rip-off compared with similar b&b's throughout Ireland. Poor value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olivia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Fantastic,home from home,lovely clean rooms,hostess with the mostest,claire,couldnt do enough for us,excellent full irish breakfast,everything locally produced ,glorious views across the bay,totally relaxing weeks holiday actually felt we had a holiday,unlike some previously,carnt wait to return to the wonderous delights of beautiful wexford.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamblingRosie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

A fine guest house, fabulous location overlooking the bay, old fashioned rooms whcih are beautifully decorated. Claire the hostess was sound, very chatty and made us feel welcome. She even gave us a half dozen of her hens eggs going off. I would really recommend this guest house. If I have one criticism the shower in our en suite was a bit dodgy. Overall a lovely stay. We were at a wedding in Dunbrody and the stay in Marsh Mere was top class.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyMcKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We recently visited friends in this beautiful little village and had the pleasure of experiencing Irish hospitality at its best. Clare was so welcoming, giving us details of all restaurants nearby (including the infamous Dunbrody Country House which is walking distance away after a very enjoyable meal). There is also a quaint little pub in the centre of the village which we called to on our way back to Marshmere!. The views from the rooms were fab, the Hook lighthouse is just visible in the distance, the rooms were well decorated and spotless. 'We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast, and the eggs from the hens that roam freely in the garden. It was truly idyllic, we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belle2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed for just one night at Marsh Mere Lodge but it was very nice. It's right on the water with great views in a sleepy but very pretty harbour. The house is very nice with some interesting antiques and the rooms are very comfortable. Clare was very friendly and suggested a great restaurant very near by. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHurwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We were lucky enough to stay for 3 days, enjoying the beautiful view from the veranda as we sipped our morning tea. The food was excellent and the house is gorgeous! There is even a DVD collection for rainy nights!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallTanguero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
0.6 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
684 reviews
6.3 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,182 reviews
3.1 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
5.6 mi away
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
4.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#11 of 12 in Waterford
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsh Mere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsh Mere Lodge

Address: Ballyhack, Arthurstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthurstown
Price Range: $81 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marsh Mere Lodge. Take your ease with Maria, and enjoy afternoon tea while watching the sun set over the idyllic King's Bay. Winter or summer, this delightful view can be enjoyed either from the sunny veranda surrounded by hanging baskets bursting with seasonal blooms or from the cosy gallery sitting room, with its crackling log fires and antique furnishings. Choose from a selection of tastefully designed en-suite bedrooms all offering their own individual character - the romantic Countess Howee room, the tranquil Poor Poet's room, the cosy Passing Glances room or the intimate Peace Maker room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marsh Mere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing