We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We dwelt in the welcoming and friendly solitude...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lakelodge

Living room by stove fire light
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room by stove fire light
Window seat Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Living room by stove fire light
Window seat
Dining area
Stairway to upstairs
Upstairs landing
Master bedroom - ensuite
Second bedroom,  with child's crib
Entrance to Lake Lodge
Play area and parking
Playground,  swing set, climbing frame
Daffodils for Spring time at LakeLodge.ie
Trees to enjoy
Walkway to the Lough Owel
Forest walk
Winter time Lake Lodge
View to Lough Owel
Lake shore walk
Lough Owel,  board walk
Lough Owel,  board walk
Lake side
Sunset over Lakelodge.ie
Lake - decking area,  lets jump right in
Barn - entrance
Barn Sitting Room - open plan
Loft area
Barn Mater Bedroom

One queen sleigh bed, one single bed
Bedroom two barn - two double beds
Master bedroom Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Multyfarnham, County Westmeath

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Nomad3976...
1 review
“We dwelt in the welcoming and friendly solitude of a country Irish paradise!”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lake Lodge's Barn is a modern, super comfortable lodge, from the beds to the couch and chairs. It's so cozy and comfortable you'll want to stay forever! It feels right and fosters a sense of relaxation, escape, and peace. Jacinta is a most gracious and super accommodating hostess. Lake Lodge is shrouded by plush green environs, surrounded with enchanting forest lands and nature paths. Even the cows are there to greet you just inside the start of the private driveway. Further down past the lodge is completely private lake access with eagles soaring over the splendid pasture lands, near the shores of the crystal waters of Lough Owel. Nearby Multyfarnham is a beautiful, quaint, picturesque and idyllic Irish village with a family of residents waiting to embrace you. Also, there's great shopping in nearby Mullingar. From the excellent and friendly Weirs pub to the medieval Franciscan Friary, your second and true home awaits you in Multyfarnham. Additionally Tormeys bar is also very close, just up N4, with a true gentleman proprietor waiting to greet you. Overall a true gem of a property, rental experience and stay. The peaceful escape of pure nature, but plenty of amenities within minutes. Totally worth it! We can't wait to return! Your second and true home awaits you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It was a delight to have you all to stay and we are trilled that you all enjoyed yourselves at Lake Lodge.ie, welcome back anytime.

Kind regards

Jacinta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
1 review
“Lake lodge relaxing retreat”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent a relaxing week at the Lake Lodge enjoying the peace and quiet and long walks with the dogs. The surroundings are scenic and tranquil and the lodge was equipped with everything we needed for our stay. A great base for visiting Athlone and Galway, with the town of Mullingar only five minutes drive away. The owner was very friendly and helpful and the only downside was the poor wifi, but it's to be expected when your down a country lane. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here if you are looking to get away from the stresses of everyday life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2017
Hello Lorraine
Delighted that you enjoyed yourselves, welcome back anytime.
Jacinta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandI...
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again!”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

VERY, VERY disappointing!
So much so that my daughter and family left the premises and booked in to a local hotel for part of their planned stay.
The owner, Jacinta, refunded only a small portion of the rental fee but I will NOT be going back there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_At...
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay...beautiful place”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a family birthday and took both the lodge and the barn for 2 nights. Jacinta was very helpful with information before we arrived. We relaxed, barbecued, went for walks on the private grounds and the beautiful moss carpeted wood and the kids jumped off the private peer (100m from the lodge) and swam in the lake.

Would definitely recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Delighted that you all enjoyed your stay. Sincere thanks for all your lovely comments. Welcome anytime. Take care. Jacinta Lake Lodge.ie"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c0ljac
Hyden, Australia
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Barn was the perfect place for our trip to Ireland. Jacinta, our host was terrific and friendly and we where warmly welcomed. The house is private and clean and warm in the cooler months, very family friendly and we would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Lovely having you all to stay, delighted you all had a great time. Welcome back anytime.

Jacinta
Lakelodge.ie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfdntn201...
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and base for our one month Ireland stay”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The daily walks to Lough Owel and through the woods were amazing. We had all of the comforts of home including our own Irish kitty (Spotty). On the last night before we left for home, we saw a little Pine Marten run across the the deck. That was a treat. Thanks Jacinda for sharing your sweet little house with us on our dream trip to see the places where my ancestors lived all over Ireland and for making sure we had everything we needed. P.S.The Kilbeggen basket was the best. Especially the bread and local dark chocolate,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful acreage for walking each day.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Delighted that you all enjoyed Lakelodge, welcome back anytime.

Jacinta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathhosey...
luton.england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Like Home from Home”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We Stayed here at christmas 2015 it was like home from home we were made feel very welcome the Lodge we very warm and clean everything you need is here. It would be a great place to stay in the summer so much to do. We used it as a base as we have a lot of Family in Ireland so it was great to go out and visit them all and return back to the lodge in the evenings to relax. We give this 10/10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing 10/10
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2016
Delighted to hear from you. I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday in Ireland and Lake Lodge.ie. Welcome back any time. Take care. Jacinta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing