We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hits the spot”

Weirs Bar and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: Irish, Steakhouse, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Weirs Bar & Restaurant, Multyfarnham, in County Westmeath is a charming old world, Award winning family run pub that serves some of the best food and drink in Ireland. Our specials for the day will represent fresh seasonal specialities that are available to us at any time. All our food is homemade, using as much local and organic produce as possible. We also have available speciality coffees and a full range of liqueurs. Weirs is famous for its bar and food, served in a relaxed, family friendly atmosphere. Our food is homemade on the premises, from our soups and sauces right through to our delicious desserts. Weirs premises are wheelchair friendly and if you have a special need, we will try our best to cater for you. Only the bar opens at 6pm Monday and Tuesday, Food is available Wednesday to Saturday from 12.30 To 8.30Pm. Sunday we serve lunch from 12.30 To 3.30 And a la carte menu until 8pm Bank Holiday Monday we serve a day menu from 12.30 To 6pm. Our team of skilled and qualified chefs can cater to your every need, whether it is a special party meal or buffet style evening we will select and prepare the style of food you require. We pride ourselves on the quality of our meats, using Irish Aberdeen Angus for our Sirloin Steaks and Irish Hereford for our fillet.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“hits the spot”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

we were getting to know the area for a cycle race that's coming up so after our morning cycle we had lunch here before our long drive home.
we sat out side as it was a wonderful day, and were served with in minutes with the menus from a very nice and friendly chap, as we were talking about this very Quaint Village and surrounding area we saw what we wanted and ordered our drinks and food,
every thing arrived as it should and the food was very tasty and well presented on the plates, cant wait to return as its such a nice place with good old fashioned Irish friendliness

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    53
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Disappointing, given the hype”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was tempted to try Weirs based on good reviews and its being awarded 'best in Ireland'
by McKennas' food guides. Just goes to show, these awards are sometimes just a snapshot in time and may mean nothing.
Service was friendly, we were shown to our table, given menus and told about the soup. Waitress arrived back a few minutes later and we ordered starters, mains and drinks.
Starters arrived quickly, so quickly that I was surprised that I hadn't heard the microwave 'ding'. I had the deep-fried brie; its shell was as hard as concrete and the centre was cold as ice. Served with a limp salad. Edible, as was my companion's fishcake and equally limp salad.
We still hadn't been served the drinks, although we mentioned them again, and again, and again. Eventually when the waitress came back to clear the plates we asked her to please try to find out where they were. She eventually went to the counter and poured them, taking ever so long to them bring them to the table. Apart from the service angle, surely they are in the business of selling drinks and should ensure that ordered drinks are served promptly?
Mains arrived after a reasonable interval; a burger and a cod dish, both accompanied by the same kind of limp salad that had been served with the starters. Burger was dry, uninspiring; the fish was ok, but nothing to write home about. Chipper standard, at best.
The experience was made more annoying by the fact that the same waitress showed people to the table beside us and rattled off a list of specials, at least one of which sounded more appetising than anything on the menu. Made us wonder why she couldn't have offered us that choice.
I wanted a green tea to finish up; we had decided at this stage that we wouldn't risk the dessert and my companion still had some wine in her glass and I didn't want to rush her. This 'best in Ireland' dining experience doesn't have green tea, something that you would expect was a basic offering in a place of this supposed standard. We paid the stiff bill and left, and the decision never to return was mutual.
I know several pub-restaurants that don't have any fancy plaques and that would beat the socks off this very mediocre place. Not worth the 6 km detour off the main road -- keep going, and don't waste your time and your money -- it's expensive to boot!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockyroad2dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

A bit late with the review. I have eaten here a few times. Food is always top standard yet service can be a little below what I would expect. There is no real plan for tables assigned to staff so it feels like staff are serving everybody. No proper system of stations. Yet as I said great menu, wonderful food, local ingredients sourced and a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ire121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food great - service not so”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We've eaten here twice now and the only problem is the service. 3 different waitresses come and go. Order drinks from one and drinks dont come, ask other waitress,drinks come then. Dont understand their system. Anyways rant over - food has been A1 each time. Get the chicken wings!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

First-time visit at 430pm on a weekday Certainly lived up to it's reputation. Service was prompt, polite and friendly, and the food was fantastic. Possibly the best burger I have ever had anywhere in the UK or Ireland.And all at a very reasonable price. Recommended ++++

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weirs Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Mullingar, County Westmeath
 
Multyfarnham, County Westmeath
Mullingar, County Westmeath
 

Been to Weirs Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing