We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Richard Kerins”
Review of Saratoga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Templemore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saratoga Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Templemore B&B and Inns
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Richard Kerins”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Excellent doesn't say enough about this Bed and Breakfast. My girlfriend, our dog and myself stayed here for a weekend recently and it was perfect. The rooms were spotless, the area was beautiful, the "dog friendly" label went above and beyond what I expected and the service from the lady of the house, Valerie, was superb. The breakfast was delicious also with a huge variety available. I cannot recommend this bed and breakfast more highly but be warned, if you do stay here, you will fall in love with Valerie's two dogs, in particular her giant Irish Wolf Hound, Finn.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeamishV, Owner at Saratoga Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2015
Dear Richard,

Sorry a little late but thank you for your kind review of Saratoga Lodge.

Very best wishes,

Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Really nice place for a quiet weekend. Evening dinner was fantastic, home cooked food was top-class. Location had plenty to do and lovely farmland and great views. Valerie did all she could to make us feel welcome and offered lots of advice on local attractions.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzz_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeamishV, Owner at Saratoga Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review
Best wishes Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

(Found thru www.staydoggy.com ) My other half & I have just returned from a lovely weekend @ Saratoga Lodge. Our weekend away was planned as a birthday treat & we were delighted to find this luxury accommodation would also welcome another member of our family and so we were able to bring our pet dog along too. We were all made to feel at home and totally relax in the plush surroundings of this perfect 'old' country house. My wife especially appreciated the daily fresh flowers in our room, the Hugo Room. The dog appreciated being able to freely roam the perfectly manicured garden and going for walks on the local quiet country lanes. I too enjoyed the peace and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle, time to read a book & chill with a glass of the superb wine. Although as another reviewer pointed out, there was only one TV, it wasn't necessary, as there was high speed broadband and moreover, time to read the newspapers. We stayed for two nights, B&B and two beautiful dinners, prepared by Valerie and Steph. Lots of information on hand for ideas of what to do in the area, we made a quick run to Obama-land (Moneygall) & Cloughjordan eco-village on one morning excursion and later to Devils Bit, take the Viewing Point road from Silvermines for fantastic views towards Lough Derg and follow Keeper Mountain drive (as in the leaflets provided), venture further afield to the beautiful Clare Glens if you have the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeamishV, Owner at Saratoga Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2015
Sorry this is a bit late but thank you for your kind review of Saratoga Lodge.

Best wishes,

Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed with Valerie on her beautiful property for a couple of days on our journey through Ireland. She had just returned from a holiday herself when we arrived, but went to some lengths to produce a delicious meal. It was special to be able to pick the fresh raspberries for dessert from her own garden.
The next day Val ensured that she found the freshest fish, creating a memorable meal.
When a jacket was left behind, this was packaged up and posted to us in England - at no additional cost.
We departed as friends and would recommend staying with
Val at Saratoga Lodge to anyone who visits this lovely part of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeamishV, Owner at Saratoga Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2015
Sorry this is a bit late but thank you for your kind review of Saratoga Lodge.

Best wishes,

Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is my third time staying at the Lodge and each one is just as good an experience as the last stay. If you are looking for an oasis of tranquillity with first class country house accommodation and food then this is the place for you. Val Bemish is a superb hostess who has the natural ability to make every guest feel welcome in her beautiful home. Once you visit you will no doubt return.

Room Tip: If you would like a rural retreat with a gracious hostess and superb lodge/country house accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zita48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeamishV, Owner at Saratoga Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2015
Sorry this is a bit late but thank you for your kind review of Saratoga Lodge.

Best Wishes,

Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A unique and hugely enjoyable stay, where all five of us were exceptionally well cared for by owner/hostess Val Beamish whom doubles as more than a good chef. The beds are very comfortable with luxurious fine linen, towels and electrics blankets.
The house furnishing and fittings are all well thought out, which adds to guest comfort. This is an ideal place to stay for people who appreciate the creature’s comforts of a well appointed country house, yet enjoy the great outdoors that Ireland has to offer, from race horses and country sports, to fine gardens and historical sites.
We came for a working winter break; the roaring log fire in the drawing room was a much appreciated welcome to come back to. In addition we enjoyed the little touches like flowers in the rooms, wild birds being fed, the gardens and having a tour of the adjoining stud with this year’s new arrivals in residence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinny325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeamishV, Owner at Saratoga Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2015
Sorry this is a bit late but thank you for your kind review of Saratoga Lodge.

Best Wishes,

Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I arrived here on a cold, blustery winter's evening to be greeted by an oasis of welcome, warmth and beauty. Val is a wonderfully relaxed host who appears to be able to seamlessly produce delicious food. I was on business and new to this part of the country. I found it to be very beautiful and I also had a really enjoyable evening with Val and her mother, Josephine - two very inspirational and gracious women. If you are in this part of the country, for business or pleasure, you are highly unlikely to find anywhere that offers this combination of scenery, food, comfort and company and for such amazing value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeamishV, Owner at Saratoga Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2015
Sorry this is a bit late but thank you for your kind review.

Best Wishes,

Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saratoga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Lodge

Property: Saratoga Lodge
Address: Barnane, Templemore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Templemore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Templemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saratoga Lodge is an Award Winning Country House offering Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Located at the foot of Devil's Bit mountain in the Midlands, it is easily accessible from all areas of Ireland. Forming part of a 150 acre stud farm, guests can be assured of a restful and tranquil setting. Surrounded by mountains, rivers, lakes, woodlands and forests, it is an ideal location for exploring. Bicycle hire is available at the Lodge. Castles, cathedrals, ruins, caves, gardens, cheese makers, pubs with character and plenty of good restaurants along with golfing, horse trekking, horse and carriage rides, cycling, fishing and watersports are all nearby. Dinner is available on request. Pet friendly accommodation with an Irish Wolfhound in residence. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing